RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Another question for Ksyrium Owners(8 posts)

Another question for Ksyrium OwnersRB
Oct 2, 2001 8:46 AM
Have you weighed your wheels? The Mavic website has the clincher and tubulars being the same weight which doesnt seem right. Most websites and mags say they are 700g/900g for both the tubular or clincher. I am looking at the clincher and saw a review in the Reviews section that said the clinchers are close to 200g more. Then I saw one catalogue that had the clincher wheels at 775g/980g. Just wondering if anyone who has them has actually weighed the clincher wheels. BTW - I have read the reviews but if you have any opinions on these wheels versus a more standard wheelset like a Record/Open Pro I would appreciate that too. Ksyriums weren't a consideration until I saw the overseas pricing and they were brought back into my decision. Buying them overseas puts them a little closer to a standard wheelset but is the extra money worth it?
weightsDog
Oct 2, 2001 8:54 AM
I weighed my Shimano compatible clincher sets. The rears weighed 905 & 908 grams, fronts 734 & 725 grams. Have not weighed my Campy compatible rear.

Mine were made early 2000. Someone said they beefed them up a bit sometime after that.

I love the wheels. That's why I've bought 2 1/2 sets of them. They have been perfectly reliable for me, even surviving a hard blow that blew out a tire/tube and dented the rim - but stayed true and allowed me to finish a double. They seem laterally stiff and sufficiently aero. Absolutely trouble free. In 10's of thousands of miles, never needed truing.

Doug
Had a little problem with mineCRM
Oct 2, 2001 9:22 AM
I bought mine from strikeitfit.com (Ireland) early this year and the transaction was flawless and the price was terrific. After about 4 or 5 rides with them, though, the rear went out of true. I trued it up but it went wobbly again on the next ride. This happened something like 6 rides in a row before I finally gave in and took it to a dealer. The dealer recommended sending it in for a warranty repair. This was the height of my riding season in August so we sent it to Mavic via 2-day mail on their promise that they'd express it back to me within 2 1/2 weeks. I didn't get it back until 9 weeks later. They fixed it and it only cost the expense of the 2-day mailing, but it was very disappointing to lose my prized new wheels for two months in the peak riding season.

Just thought I'd let you know about my experience. Most of what I've heard from other K owners is that they've never had a problem. They are the best-looking wheels out there, IMHO. I figure if they're good enough for Lance, they're good enough for me. Good luck with your decision.
I'm surprised they warrantied itMiniMe
Oct 2, 2001 9:24 AM
Some have said that the stuff they sell is "grey market" and warranty issues can be tricky if something goes wrong.
There were no problems with the warrantyCRM
Oct 2, 2001 9:50 AM
My LBS handled the warranty and there were no questions asked. I don't think the wheels are "gray market" although I have to admit I have no idea (no idea whether they're "gray market" and no idea what exactly "gray market" is). I was under the understanding that the price difference for buying overseas is attributable to the fact that the shop selling it is not acquiring the wheels from the North American distributor which sets the prices for all Mavic stuff in the United States. And the currency deviation, too.

All I know is that I got them delivered to my door for about $250 less than anyone has them listed for over here and Mavic never requested a receipt or anything and simply made the warranty repair.
Had the same problem.look271
Oct 2, 2001 2:44 PM
Bought mine @ totalcycling.com and at the beginning of this year the rear went out of true 2x in a month! Took it to my lbs, he trued it, second time added locktite to the threads. Have been bullet-proof since.I really like these wheelss. Much better than the Rolf's I had previously.
re: Another question for Ksyrium Ownersmorey
Oct 2, 2001 9:36 AM
I have clinchers, and I do not know the weight difference. But, I can tell you that these wheels have held up to my weight (200 lbs), rough conditions, and have stayed true for over 6 months. I thought these wheels would not hold up, they have proved me wrong. They also look good!
Thanks for all the great responses (nm)RB
Oct 2, 2001 10:29 AM