RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Newbee needs advice(11 posts)

Newbee needs adviceJKH
Oct 1, 2001 12:28 PM
I just bought a Schwinn Fastback, frame size is large. After adjusting the saddle angle and seatpost height to get the most pedaling efficiency, the saddle is now only an inch higher than the head stem. I feel comfortable when riding it after the adjustments. But I keep thinking that the frame is too big for me because of the seat height. Is the frame size too big for me? Should I get a medium size? I am 5'8" with 29" inseam (shortie). Attached is a manufacturer picture. I have edited it so it looks like the setup of my bike.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/bike(9).jpg

Any comments are appreciated.
re: Newbee needs advicecioccman
Oct 1, 2001 12:32 PM
If you've got a 29 inch inseam, your close to ideal seat tube length will be 50cm. Depending upon how long your trunk and arms are, your close to ideal top tube length will be around 52cm. If your rig is significantly different from that, you're likely on the wrong size and little fit modifications that you can make with the stem and some things will be insignificant. Most important is the top tube length fit in my opinion.
re: Newbee needs advicejkh
Oct 1, 2001 12:36 PM
Thanks.
Since this bike has a sloping top tube, where should I measure it from?
re: Newbee needs advice, addendumcioccman
Oct 1, 2001 12:35 PM
Well, I didn't look at the picture. I was going to add that the top tube length be measured center to top, however, since this is a sloping tt bike, disregard all info about the seat tube. It's insignificant. The only way to measure fit on that is the top tube, center to center. Anything too far different than a 52cm, unless you're really strangely built, will be off the mark.
re: Newbee needs advice, addendumjkh
Oct 1, 2001 12:39 PM
Thanks again. It really helps.
How about the seat height in relation to the head stem? Is it just a personal preference?
re: Newbee needs advice, addendumcioccman
Oct 1, 2001 12:43 PM
That is much more personal preference. The higher the seat in relation to the handlebar, the more *aggressive* we typically say. I'd say, if your seat is 2 or so inches above the handlebar, that's ok. Mine is probably about that creating somewhere around a 5 inch slope to the drops. This means nothing if that top tube is not in the 52cm ballpark. Perhaps 1 cm either way MAX! (As I said, depending upon your build). That is the most critical part of the puzzle.
re: Newbee needs advice, addendumjkh
Oct 1, 2001 12:48 PM
Thanks once again.
re: Newbee needs adviceDozer
Oct 1, 2001 1:27 PM
I have the same exact bike/size. I am 5'11, 34 inch inseam. You do the math. Although my seat is really jacked up (like a mtb) and i feel that it (the frame) may be a little small. Still, I would think that you might want to try a M. It's a great bike for $, especially if you just got one of the closeout deals.
re: Newbee needs advicejkh
Oct 1, 2001 2:38 PM
Thanks for your advice. I will try a M later this afternoon.
By the way, do you have a picture of yours so that I could take a look at your setup?
I'm a similar size. I'd try the Medium frame size instead. -NMTig
Oct 1, 2001 3:24 PM
re: Newbee needs adviceGregJ
Oct 1, 2001 3:45 PM
Keep in mind that when comparing compact frames, the top tube is measured as a "virtual top tube." That is measure the top tube as if it were horizontal, from the center of the head tube at the top tube to the center of the seat post. Setting up handlebar height is largely a matter of preferance. I have a drop of 3.75 inches to the top of my handlbars but I am tall with very long arms. I can still use the drops very comfortably even with quite a bit of bend in my elbows. You should be able to get yourself comfortable in the drops, and on the brake levers with a bit of bend in the arms. Don't cut the steerer tube until you are sure you have the right handlbar height.(Assuming threadless.) Don't forget that you can ride the bike with spacers on TOP of the stem as well as under it until you know where to set the bar height. I know some smaller riders that have only a 2 inch drop to the bars and they really can't use the drops for long because they can't reach them. Experiment a bit.