RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Photo Caption Contest on RoadbikeREVIEW??(36 posts)

Photo Caption Contest on RoadbikeREVIEW??gregg
Sep 28, 2001 8:53 AM
Hey Guys,

Given Tigs post and all, do you guys think it would be good to have a photo caption contest on RoadbikeREVIEW?? We run one on MtbREVIEW and it seems pretty popular, but my only concern on running one for Roadbike would be that sometimes these kinds of contests draw....uh..."inappropriate" comments and things sometimes have the tendency to get out of hand.

Of course, we would set some guidelines and with you alls help, we would keep it clean.

What do you think?

Thanks for the input.
-gregg

p.s. we would give the photo submitter a RoadbikeREVIEW t-shirt and the caption winner would get a t-shirt, cycling cap, and socks (sorry, still no jerseys).
sorry MB1, no waterbottles (nm)gregg
Sep 28, 2001 8:53 AM
Oh well, it would probably still be popular without them. nmMB1
Sep 28, 2001 8:55 AM
Gregg-- You're a Southerner!scottfree
Sep 28, 2001 8:57 AM
"With you all's help."

And you're from further South than Kentucky too, because we would say it "With your all's help."
In Texas it's "ya'll" (1 syllable!) -NMTig
Sep 28, 2001 9:17 AM
In rural Missouri it's "yu'ins" nmDog
Sep 28, 2001 11:43 AM
In Philly and South Jersey it's "Yous" nmSpinchick
Sep 28, 2001 12:03 PM
In Pittsburgh it's "Yunz" nmLone Gunman
Sep 28, 2001 12:44 PM
In North Jersey it's "Yuz Guys" (really, "you guys" but that'sbill
Sep 28, 2001 2:03 PM
not as fun).
and in Northern Virginia, you still hear "y'all" . . . more twobill
Sep 28, 2001 2:06 PM
syllables than the deeper South "yawl"
I do North Jersey AND Northern Virginia
"yuz'all"
Spinchick, where you from?Tig
Sep 29, 2001 5:25 AM
My wife is from South Jersey. Pennsville area. Just wondering...

She says "water" like wo-der (the "wo" sounds almost like "wool")!
Living in south central Jersey right now...Spinchick
Sep 29, 2001 12:49 PM
about 9 miles due east of Princeton. Can't say I have much of an accent though. I've moved around alot most of my life. I do pick up a nice southern drawl after a few glasses of wine.
Kentucky???PaulCL
Sep 28, 2001 10:35 AM
Where you from, son??? I live in Northern Ky across the great divide from Cincinnati.
Kentucky???scottfree
Sep 28, 2001 10:41 AM
Ah, the Mighty Ohio. I know you think it's your all's river, but actually we call ourselves the River City here in Louisville so I guess it's our all's.
Louisville???Tylerman
Sep 28, 2001 11:54 AM
I miss the Maker's Mark most of all...
Gregg-- You're a Southerner!Tylerman
Sep 28, 2001 11:51 AM
And we call our Hillbillies "Sons of the Soil"
Good idea (nm)muncher
Sep 28, 2001 8:58 AM
nm
Hey gregg, what happened to the rbr and mtbr stickers?Delia
Sep 28, 2001 9:01 AM
Hey gregg, what happened to the rbr and mtbr stickers that you guys were sending out?

I had signed up to get one of each but never got one. Sorry if this is TOO unrelated for this post.

Delia
sorry, I must have missed it, please send again to ...gregg
Sep 28, 2001 10:40 AM
...stickers@roadbikereview.com

Thanks,
-gregg
Thanks Gregg. Just sent the message.Delia
Sep 28, 2001 12:45 PM
Thanks Gregg. Just sent the message.
Inappropriate comments from this upstanding group, NEVER! ;-) nmjs5280
Sep 28, 2001 9:05 AM
Just don't let M.I.T. choose the pictures. . . (nm)js5280
Sep 28, 2001 9:06 AM
I like it! (nm)Kristin
Sep 28, 2001 9:06 AM
Gregg, I think it's a great idea!!! (nm)Cima Coppi
Sep 28, 2001 9:09 AM
Oh, sure, like I don't spend enough time here already. nmbill
Sep 28, 2001 9:18 AM
nm
Go for launch! -NMTig
Sep 28, 2001 9:18 AM
re: Photo Caption Contest on RoadbikeREVIEW??Cliff Oates
Sep 28, 2001 9:36 AM
That's definitely a stylish cap you guys have there, Gregg. I'll be wearing the socks though.

I vote yes to the photo caption contest.

Regards,
Geekboy
re: Photo Caption Contest on RoadbikeREVIEW??jaybird
Sep 28, 2001 10:24 AM
Hey is that Alfred E. Newman???
re: Photo Caption Contest on RoadbikeREVIEW??Cliff Oates
Sep 28, 2001 11:13 AM
I'm his long lost twin...
David Letterman's dad?nm
Sep 28, 2001 11:45 AM
nm
Inappropriate comments? Out of hand? where? when? who? nmSpinchick
Sep 28, 2001 10:13 AM
Another vote yes! (nm)Elefantino
Sep 28, 2001 10:20 AM
yes please! (nm)Roxy
Sep 28, 2001 10:29 AM
Yes! But no Engineers! (Just kidding) nmLen J
Sep 28, 2001 10:35 AM
Ya, you betcha! nmMel Erickson
Sep 28, 2001 11:03 AM
Don't you people ever work! (nm)The Boss
Sep 28, 2001 11:45 AM
Don't you people ever work!