RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Favorite organized ride this year (POLL?)(20 posts)

Favorite organized ride this year (POLL?)mr_spin
Sep 28, 2001 7:57 AM
As the season starts to wind down a bit, I was thinking about the year so far. I've done quite a few organized rides this year, so I've got a lot to choose from. Anyone done any worth mentioning?

Favorite: Solvang Century
Always a fun ride on fairly good roads. This year, because of one muddy section, everyone looked like they had done Paris-Roubaix. Best part: the Police stop traffic and wave you through all lights and stop signs! Worst part: the leg from Lompoc to Vandenberg, into a furious head/crosswind. If you don't get into a paceline here, your day could be over!

Honorable Mention: Strawberry Fields Forever
This is my sixth year for this ride out of Soquel (this year out of Aptos) just south of Santa Cruz. This is such a great area to ride in, and this year especially, I felt so strong I swear I could have done it twice. This year there was even a mountain top finish!

Honorable Mention: Cruisin' the Conejo
I mention this ride out of Thousand Oaks (just northwest of Los Angeles) because I was amazed I completed it and rode so well. Riding through the Santa Monica mountains the fog was so thick and wet it was like riding in rain, and at some points visibility was only 20 feet. Got lost at one point and tacked on 8 more miles and 700 more feet of climbing! 108 miles, 7500 feet, six hours!
Sonoma County boy..MrCelloBoy
Sep 28, 2001 8:28 AM
Gotta say that my fave's would be these "local" rides which will make up my Triple Crown in '02:

1.) Davis Double. The best dang "first" D.C. for anybody. Not too hilly, great support, thousands of riders of every ability level.

2.) Terrible Two. What's to say? Beautiful and wonderful roads. Your butt won't hurt from sitting too long, that's for sure.

3.) Knoxville Double. It's close, and that's about all I know at this point. I'll know more on Sunday.
Terrible Two wonderful roads?!?!?!?!Zignzag
Sep 28, 2001 9:19 AM
You sicko. The roads in the Terrible Two are some of the steepest, roughest, and most potholed roads I've ever ridden. Excellent event though, as is the Wine Country Century. Hats off to you and the other Santa Rosa Cycling Club volunteers.

I'm not convinced that Davis is a good first double century. The two years I've done it it was 100 and 102 F. A first timer I was riding with last year had to be hauled off to the hospital with severe dehydration. I think Solvang is a better first double - much cooler and more scenic (and no longer a Hugh Murphy production).
What I meant was...MrCelloBoy
Sep 28, 2001 10:46 AM
the roads take you through beautiful scenery. And there are some really smooth sections. Don't get stuck dwelling on the Rancheria climb (7/10 mi. at 19%), Ft. Ross ascent and the descent into Cazadero, and the roads ARE pretty nice!
What I meant was...grzy
Sep 28, 2001 11:52 AM
Hey, they're just a bunch of logging trails that happened to get paved. There isn't one single descent where you can let it rip except for some places off the top of Skaggs Springs. The Club even paints warnings on the pavement letting you know that it suddenly ends through the turn. Don't forget the dirt road coming back from the Geysers. You can't even begin to campare the TT roads to something like the DR. There is a lot of nice road on the TT - just not the parts with pitch. Tons of people flat and wreck also, but that does depend upon the rider, the roads just help make it all possible ;-)

No doubt about it the TT is one hell of a ride in so many ways - most everything else looks like a tea party. Great support! Had a total blast while punishing myself. There's a fine line between the pleasure and the pain. (Banshees)
re: Favorite organized ride this year (POLL?)Cliff Oates
Sep 28, 2001 9:28 AM
My favorite would probably be the Sierra Century up in Auburn, CA. 8000' of climbing was enough to get my attention, but to my relief, the last 20 miles were mostly downhill. The food and support was outstanding.

Honorable mentions would go to the Wine Country and the Chico Wildflower for outstanding venues, food and support.
There were some really disorganized rides I enjoyed a lotMB1
Sep 28, 2001 9:42 AM
but to pick between them? Pretty hard. This year I have enjoyed almost every ride I have done.
Bookends: New Years day-first century of the year (I am fairly sure it was above 10 deg F at the start). This morning-Commuting. Also every ride in between
re: Favorite organized ride this year (POLL?)Dog
Sep 28, 2001 9:49 AM
I agree about Solvang; not a real challenging ride, but lots of fun with all the people there. Lots and lots of bikes. I do that one purely for the fun of it, riding with friends who don't normally do many centuries.

Terrible Two, on the other hand, is extremely challenging. Plus, it seems like you are in several different countries with all the varied terrain. Something for everyone. Great volunteers, too. Very difficult ride - many extremes. Despite the difficulty, I loved it.

The first half of the Central Coast Double is fun and interesting, but the last half is boring and sort of a death march home into the headwinds. Always fun to ride on Highway 1 next to the Pacific, though.

Doug
Ride for the Roses(nm)Dave Hickey
Sep 28, 2001 10:06 AM
Tour of the Unknown Coastgrzy
Sep 28, 2001 10:08 AM
Out of Eureka and billed as California's toughest centruy. Totally senic, zilch for cars and some amazing streches including Avenue of the Giants, the Wall, and the Endless Hills. Completely back end loaded so be warned. Awesome support and a great town to visit. final descent dumps you right at the finish - no slog home.

As far as "epic" goes that would be the Terrible Two with Climb to Kaiser a close runner up. Tough rides but great support and no problems with "crowding." No shortage in the brutality dept.
Hotter'n Hell Hundred (nm)Chen2
Sep 28, 2001 10:15 AM
and for some not in CaliforniaBirddog
Sep 28, 2001 10:21 AM
I'd have to say....
1) Triple bypass in Colo. 120 miles, 10,000 feet of climbing, 3 major and two minor passes 11,500, 11,990, and 10,500 feet. Mostly open roads and about 35 miles of bike trail, good support and great scenery despite the rain and the fact that they ran out of food and the caterers were quit priggish.

2) Enchanted Circle Century in Northern NM. 5,000 feet of climbing with elevations between 6,900 and 9,800 feet. Beautiful, varied terrain from high desert near Taos to alpine passes in the mtns. Great weather and good mostly open roads.

3) Hotter'n Hell Century down in Wichita Falls Texas. This is a classic but not for the scenery. The weather is almost always hot and windy (although this year not quite so hot). There is just something about putting yourself to the test with 9 to 10 thousand other bike nuts. Great support mostly good roads.

4) Ride for the Roses. Getting to the start was the hardest part. Good ride though, and friendly people. Austin is a good party town and watching the Crits on Sat nite was great. Saw Lance w/ some Posties out on the course where he was just pulling up along side anybody and making small talk and giving pointers. Although not part of the ride, for our group, eating piles of barbeque out at the Salt Lick was arguably the best feed of the year.
My three, FWIWElefantino
Sep 28, 2001 11:04 AM
Favorite: Ride for the Roses
Great rolling Texas countryside, wonderfully sagged (even if the pros did get lost — honest!). My first year for this one, but it was a perfect day — not too hot, not much wind. One long (about 2 mile) steady uphill climb at mile 50 had many, many people walking. Despite having only a 23 in back and having recuperated from pneumonia three weeks earlier, I nailed that sucker.

Co-favorite: Celebrity ride
The day before RFTR, Peloton Project Class 1 members (about 125 of us) got to ride with Lance, Mari Holden, Ron Kiefel ... and Robin Williams. I rode next to Williams for much of the first lap (it was three laps of an 8-mile loop) and I have never laughed so much on my bike in my life. Was sucking Lance's wheel for .6 miles (of course my Flight Deck measured it) of the second lap, thinking all the while that if I screwed up the headline would read "Crazed Floridian ruins Armstrong's Tour de France chances!" The third lap was a gasser because Williams, Lance and Kiefel took off like bats out of hell and left most of the rest of us sucking wind. Robin Williams can ride.

Honorable mention: Historic Savannah Century
Didn't ride it this Labor Day because of the broken neck, but it's a fun ride. Four-tenths of a mile into the ride you have to cross the Talmadge Bridge, three-plus miles long and steep. Then it's rolling terrain through South Carolina, back into Georgia, and back into Savannah. A fun, fun ride.
Postal Service USPRO Kickoff --Greg Taylor
Sep 28, 2001 11:21 AM
This one was short, but a lot of fun. U.S. Postal Service kicked off the USPRO Criterium/Tour de France effort with a ride from the U.S. Capitol to U.S. Postal Service headquarters. If you showed up at the Capitol, you got to ride with guys like George Hincapie, Levi Leipheimer, Cedric Vasseur, and others. It was really pretty cool...
Maybe This Picture Will Work...Greg Taylor
Sep 28, 2001 12:04 PM
they sure look excited to be there1-day license
Sep 28, 2001 12:12 PM
looks more like they rode and everyone followed vs. anyone riding WITH them
Well...Greg Taylor
Sep 28, 2001 1:08 PM
...they were actually pretty cool about it. It was raining, and most of them had just showed up in town.
re: Favorite organized ride this year (POLL?)Trux
Sep 28, 2001 6:49 PM
I rode two this past season and the Triple By-Pass was by far the best! One day, one hundred-twenty miles over three Colorado Mountain passes, and more than 10,000 feet of elevation gain! Great scenery, great organization, great jeersey, great food and great participants.
90 + degree in Feburary...Wagnerite
Sep 28, 2001 9:04 PM
tour de palmsprings was pretty fun. I don't really take in the scenery when im riding, so i like the boring scenery in Palmsprings, keeps me focused.
woodstock vs ramapobear
Sep 29, 2001 4:03 PM
the Woodstock ride was very well run,, I am riding the ramapo tomorrow will let you guys know,,,