RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


too tall for 59cm bike?(16 posts)

too tall for 59cm bike?badgerbike
Sep 27, 2001 12:41 PM
Okay, I found a really good deal on a Lemond bike. It is a 59cm frame and I am 6'4" w/a 35" inseam. Is it possible to make this bike work for me. It's such a great deal that I hate to pass it up but I have had one dealer tell me that it would work and one tell me no. Any help?????????
I'd have to say yes...Cima Coppi
Sep 27, 2001 12:47 PM
I am 6'1" with a 34.25" inseam, and I ride a 59cm frame. I fits me perfectly for both seat-tube and top-tube length. For someone your size, you'd be much better on a 62cm or 63cm c-c frame with a longish top tube. Check out these sites for more fit information:

http://www.coloradocyclist.com/bikefit
http://www.wrenchscience.com/WS1/main.asp (try their measurment calculator)

Main key: A poor frame fit will make you miserable during rides. Go for fit, not a great deal.

Good luck

CC
One giant to another...Elefantino
Sep 27, 2001 2:03 PM
I'm 6-5 with a 35-inch inseam (long torso) and I own a 62cm Trek, which is measured from center to top. It's actually a 60, if you measure from center to center, and it has a 59cm top tube. If I recall correctly, LeMond's 59cm bikes have a the same size top tube as my larger Trek. So it really depends on how it feels to you.
I agree with the idea that fit is important, but comfort is most important. The usually go hand-in-hand, but not always. If your biomechanics are such that you do better on a smaller bike — my brother-in-law, who used to race in college, is 5-11 and rode a 54!! — then it's meant to be. But you'll need a long ride to tell you that.
Good luck.
might be OKDaveG
Sep 27, 2001 2:57 PM
badger, I'm 6'3" and have a 35" inseam also and ride a 59 center-center Marin which fits me great. The Lemond's have a longish top tube so that might overcome some of your height. Before we go further, how are you measuring inseam? If you meant pants inseam, then this bike will not fit. If you meant the standard bike measurement from the floor to your crotch when standing barefoot with feet 6" apart, then you should be in the ballpark. Why not have them set you up on the 59 and see how it works for you. If possible, drag along a cycling friend and get their opinion. If you have any doubts, back out of it. Its not a great deal if the fit is poor.
your bike is too smallRed Barn
Sep 28, 2001 7:42 AM
deal with it
was there a point in here?DaveG
Sep 28, 2001 4:14 PM
Red,
Not sure what your point is exactly since you didn't elaborate. However, my 59c-c bike has a c-t measurement which is only 2 millimeters less than the size bike you indicate in a later post as a perfect fit for you, and you and I are within an inch height of one another. Obviously there are lots of varied opinions on fit. By the Lemond method (.65*inseam) my bike is larger than required; by the Grant Peterson method I'm sure its too small. Having owned bikes from 58c-c to 63.5c-t, I've gravitated to my current size as about ideal for me.
Probably too tall for 59cm bikeRod
Sep 27, 2001 6:43 PM
I'm 6' 1.5", have a 34" inseam and ride a 59 measured c-c. Try a 61 or 61 size bike set up for you before you buy the 59. It's only a great deal if it fits you, and you're comfortable on it.
re: too tall for 59cm bike?Spox
Sep 27, 2001 10:42 PM
It depends how long top tube is; if it is typical italian geometry (575 mm or litlle shorter) it is too small (I am just a same size as you are) if it is a little longer one and you take it for example with 130 or 135 stem, it's good and steering is not too slow...depends also how flexible your back is > ie can you handle low and long position.
5'11" with 35" inseam, 61 cm frameMick
Sep 28, 2001 4:43 AM
I'm 5'11" with a 35" inseam - long legs, short torso - and ride a 61cm Giant European proportioned frame - short top tube - which fits me very well.

Treks and LeMonds tend to have longer top tubes than the European brands, a 60cm Trek fits me pretty well also.

I'm sure you've been told that you can always raise the seatpost and add a longer stem to get the reach you'll need. You have a longer torso than I do and I think I'd feel uncomfortably cramped on anything less than 60cm.
re: too tall for 59cm bike?DAC
Sep 28, 2001 5:00 AM
I'm 6'2", and ride 62 and 63 cm frames, which fit my long legs nicely. Unless you have very short legs for your size, I think it's too small for you.
NO!!!jaybird
Sep 28, 2001 5:13 AM
I am 6'3" with a 35" inseam and I just picked up a 57cm Lemond that fits like a glove with a 120mm stem. Pay close attention to the top tube length, it should be about 58.5 - 59. my other rides are a 59cm Litespeed and a 60cm Trek.

Make sure you ride it, if it doesnt fit, no matter the "deal" you get on it, you got ripped off.

Ride on...
Jay
Yours is too smallRed Barn
Sep 28, 2001 7:40 AM
No way a 57cm frame will fit someone 6'3". I think you have just convinced yourself it works.
if he thinks it fits fine then...JohnG
Sep 28, 2001 12:49 PM
more power to him....

However, it would be bordering on criminal behaviour to suggest a 57cm frame for someone his size.

YMMV JohnG
6'4" guy says DON'T TOUCH THAT TINY THING!cory
Sep 28, 2001 7:33 AM
I'm warning you, you'll be miserable every day. I'm 6'4, too, and I've let myself be talked into a couple of too-small frames (funny how what's in stock is always just what you need). My Allez is a 62, and it has nearly 7 inches of seatpost showing, a geeky mountain bike stem, and it's still not quite right.
Bikes bigger than 62 are really hard to find new, let alone used, but I sure wouldn't go any smaller than that. The two most comfortable frames I have are a 15-year-old Trek in 25-inch and my 64cm Atlantis.
no freaking wayRed Barn
Sep 28, 2001 7:39 AM
I'm 6'2 and ride a 61-62 (C-T) frame. Even if you are Frodo and really strangely proportioned you'll never make a bike that small work.
If you can ride with your bars 10-12 cm below your saddle...yesHighgear
Sep 28, 2001 5:40 PM
nm. I'm 6'2" with a 36" inseam and ride with a 83.5cm saddle hight and 9cm bar drop. At the moment I'm considering a 61 c to c frame. It will be close. If that Lemond has a quill type stem it would be a plus for you. You could get a Salsa stem with a rise, maybe a 130 or 140mm.