RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Talk me out of Spinergys(26 posts)

Talk me out of SpinergysElefantino
Sep 27, 2001 10:47 AM
Sitting around, mending my broken neck, waiting to get back on my newly repaired and painted bike, I'm starting to get the urge to buy a set of Spinergy Xaeros because the price is plummeting. (They can be had for around $350-$375 now).
I currently have Rolf Vectors on my Trek but am thinking (because I have too much time to think) that Spinergys would make my ride even more supple than it already is. A buddy of mine bought their Spox from Supergo earlier this year and swears by them. I have also, though, heard a lot of carping about their customer service and the general quality of their wheels.
When I'm not whining, I ride between 125-150 miles a week with a good A-B group of over-40s who can occasionally remember what it was like to be young and hit 30 on the flats. Most of the time, though, we put in our miles at a 20-22 average (which we were doing when I hit the branch in the road and broke the neck) and talk a lot.
Talk some sense into me. If possible.
re: Talk me out of Spinergysraboboy
Sep 27, 2001 11:11 AM
Dude, don't buy Spinergys, you'll break your neck!

Oh wait, nevermind. ;)
just read the reviewsDog
Sep 27, 2001 11:50 AM
Just read reviews if you want to be talked out of them. Not the exact wheels, but other Spinergy products: http://www.roadbikereview.com/Wheelsets/Spinergy,+Inc.+Spox+R1/PRD_28327_2490crx.aspx

Doug
OK....k
Sep 27, 2001 11:59 AM
Make sure you can take them to a shop that will send them in for warranty work when needed. Problems with free-hubs but otherwise great performers. I would keep your Rolfs as a back up since it took me 4 weeks to resolve.
OK....Smo
Sep 27, 2001 12:26 PM
Spinergy wheels are not reviewed very well. Why would you even consider them? Maybe the broken neck has also ruined your mind.
Classy commentmickey-mac
Sep 27, 2001 12:30 PM
That's about the most insensitive thing I've seen anyone write around here. I'm not offended easily, but you've hit the mark.
At least he has one, you insensitive fool.BobJackson
Sep 27, 2001 2:16 PM
All further messages from that jerk should be blocked.
Apologies, E. He's obviously got some ax to grind with someone or something. Good luck with your recovery.
Asininegrzy
Sep 27, 2001 3:49 PM
How does broken neck affect a mind? You saying that paralyzed people are brain damaged?

Geez - I sure hope it doesn't happen to you or someone you love.

Why can't answer the question?
Asininebillm
Sep 28, 2001 11:18 AM
grzy is Smo !!!!
re: Talk me out of Spinergyspmf1
Sep 27, 2001 12:35 PM
I bought a pair of the Spox before they were R1 and R2 (just Spox) and really liked them. My wife took them frrom me and refused to give them back. They had a great ride. My only objection was the chunky hub and thick spokes -- not very aero. The Xaero wheels solve this problem. My only worry is that when you break a spoke its like getting hit with a weed whacker (I hear). I'd say for $350, go for it. You'll probably like them. If your Rolf Vectors have held up for you, then I bet these will too.
Oh, and ...pmf1
Sep 27, 2001 12:37 PM
Hope the neck heals soon. You're lucky not to be hurt worse.
re: Talk me out of Spinergysjohnjohn
Sep 27, 2001 1:37 PM
Hi, four months ago I got Spinergy Xaeros (on e-Bay) with the Campy free hub adaptor for my cassette. Brought them to my LBS for installation and they completely forgot to lubricate the free hub! Unbelievable, I mean no lube on the bearings at all and still, they managed to survive a 100 mile ride. Heard mild grinding on my return home and immediately brought them back to same shop. Major apologies abounded and all was cured. I am now rolling along smoothly, comfortably, and happily. Better still, my bike lost at least a half pound with this purchase and is faster too. (Or so it seems, but you've got to be careful about the psychological element). Hey, for the price you're talking about, why the heck not. These are Spoxs without a lot of the hassles.
If you want 'em I got 'emspox
Sep 27, 2001 2:22 PM
I know this is not a forum for solicitations, but if I can give a fellow poster a good deal then why not. I have three sets two that were never mounted and one that was mounted, but never on the road. They all have Shimano freehub bodies. Two sets have yellow spokes and one set has black. They come with bags, skewers, wrenches, etc. Email me if you are interested. $360 shipped to any US destination. $350 for the open set! wgiglio@netscape.net
Where does one start?grzy
Sep 27, 2001 3:46 PM
Design of the month?
Poor quality?
Non-existent customer service?
Required obscure tools?
High moment of inertia?
Always able to get them for less next week?
High drag from fat spokes?
Lack of stiffness and general rigidity?
Kooky color combos?
Ability to sever off body parts?
Creaking noises?
Needing to true them right out of the box?

OK, so not every one of these criticisms apply to every model - but they all apply to them as a group. Which ones you going to accept? Just remember, today's awesome-you-can't-live-without-it-design will be replaced by tommorow's awesome-you-can't-live-without-it-design. Sooner of later they'll leave a bad taste in your mouth.
HearsayJon
Sep 27, 2001 5:07 PM
I haven't ridden on Spinergy's, but for what it's worth the owner of my local LBS, who I respect greatly,
won't carry Spinergy's any more because of consistently poor build quality and poor customer
service. I've also heard similar comments from one of the other really well established road bike
shops here in Edmonton. So let the buyer beware.
Ability to sever off body parts?Chris Zeller
Sep 28, 2001 8:39 AM
What's this about? Has this happenned? Never stuck anything in my conventional spokes either but would imagine it would hurt too.
Ability to sever off body parts?grzy
Sep 28, 2001 8:47 AM
Pro racer a few years back nearly had his knee cap taken off - it was in Velo News.
re: Talk me out of SpinergysDutchy
Sep 27, 2001 6:17 PM
I haven't ridden on them but recently a group of guys that were racing went passed me (heading the other way) and I noticed a lot of them had Spinergy wheels I also noticed a LOT of creaking and fan noise as they went passed. It didn't sound very elegant. CHEERS.
Grzy - HUH?Blue 'Goose
Sep 28, 2001 5:29 AM
In your message above: "Ability to sever off body parts"?

Sounds like there's a story there I'd like to hear (or not).

Sever body parts!
Grzy - HUH?grzy
Sep 28, 2001 8:35 AM
One of the pro riders of TdF caliber (I'm sorry I don't recall his name) went down with a set of Spinergys during a race in Urup (the older style with the flat four spoke design) - anyway the thing sliced into his knee pretty good and almost took off his knee cap (or something like that). Spinergy got some really bad press out of it and tried to play it down. they stopped making this design. This is an actual documented event that was reported in the bicycle racing press. I'm just too lazy to search for it right now.
Grzy - HUH?Live Steam
Sep 28, 2001 3:20 PM


Do you mean these? They are the Rev-X and they still make them.
Pretty heavy for the price (inertia too) but look cool IMHOChris Zeller
Sep 28, 2001 8:45 AM
Also not sure how yopu true them. I hemmed and hawed about a veriety of unconventional wheel (Rolf etc.) designs before going with regular old vanilla mavic OP and Dura Ace hubs. Not sorry. Seriously the best bang for your buck. Velomax (Ascent or Orion) are nice if you MUST spend more money.
re: Talk me out of SpinergysLionel
Sep 28, 2001 9:47 AM
I had a pair for 1 month : Great ride, felt fast, looked cool, extremely confortable.

BUT : out of true out of the box, had to be trued twice in 300 miles. The hub came loose after 1 month.

I returned them for a full refund. I ride Ks now that are great quality but I miss the confort of the Spinergy. Too bad they cannot get their act together and deliver a quality product.
Smokey the bitchWoof the dog
Sep 28, 2001 11:50 AM
stay away from this company, i heard its "dying"

Durace hubs, velocity aerohead rims dt rev al nipples 28 2x both wheels Wsmith driveside w/ brass nipples and you are all set: bulletproof and lighter than Ksyriums even with rim tape. Cost 380, but you gotta shop online for hubs - you shouldn't spend more than 150 bucks on both. 60 for build, 100 for rims, rest is spokes and nipples (yum).

Sincerely

Woof the dog.
easy enoughfuzzybunnies
Sep 28, 2001 5:16 PM
I personally have managed to break the rev x's in roughly 20-25 miles, took me 2 years to get it warrentied. Finally took me getting a job as a shop employee to get it done(not the reason I got the job). One of our customers just had the rim on his spox2 collapse. The rim actually pulled out from the bottem at one of the spokes. Spinergy claimed they had a rim all set to replace the old one and would get it right back to us. That was 3 weeks ago and it takes 1 day for ups ground from the shop where I work to spinergy. I've tried to call them but none of the numbers in the interbike cataloug or on the net will work. -Russ
Thanks to (almost) all . . .Elefantino
Sep 28, 2001 8:12 PM
. . . for your input.
I think I'll stick with my Rolfies for now. Too many "negative waves" about Spinergy coming out of this discussion.
Now, when Krysiums get to be that cheap, I won't hesitate.