RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Roadbikereview is ruined. Number of items very small.(8 posts)

Roadbikereview is ruined. Number of items very small.George
Sep 23, 2001 7:08 PM
I think Roadbikereview is ruined. This was the best used bike site around and now it is worthless. There used to be hundreds of items posted daily. Now there is barely a dozen. Anyone know of another good used bike site?

Please change the site back.
eBaybianchi boy
Sep 24, 2001 4:04 AM
Try eBay. Your ads will get lots of exposure there, and you can set a minimum or reserve price. I would not be surprised if eBay has seen a big increase in bike-related ads since RBR changed its ad format. If you're gonna pay for an ad, at least use something that works.
Keep in mindKristin
Sep 24, 2001 6:30 AM
most of those "hundreds" of classifieds posted daily, were repeat posts from the day before. I'm not saying the number hasn't dwindled. Just that some of the dwindling is the disappearance of repeat posts.
Reviews ruinediveyite
Sep 24, 2001 7:03 AM
Its not (just) the ads, its the review section that has been rendered almost useless. The value of any user review site is proportional to the number of reviews. Is there no way to port over the reviews from the old site to the new one?
Reviews ruinedDreamPlaus
Sep 24, 2001 7:42 AM
I find the site pretty difficult and am on the verge of abandonning for these and other reason's. No "Latest Reviews" no "Daily Market" registration process has yet to work for me and others. At least MTBR is not totally broken yet. I doubt if I will ever be able to buy using Marketplace again.
I was under the impression that this was an upgrade, not a...Kristin
Sep 24, 2001 11:55 AM
...site migration. The difference being that an upgrade will not cause any data to be lost. You just install a new GUI interface over the old and it changes the way the current data "looks." A migration is where you physically move some or all of the data from one hard drive to another. (Okay, websites are a bit more complex because of hypertext linking.) However, I can still see reviews that were posted before the change. Are you sure that reviews have been lost? Gregg? Can you expound on this?
re: Roadbikereview is ruined. Number of items very small.johnjohn
Sep 25, 2001 7:28 AM
Every third time I go to the marketplace, look at the close-up of a frame or bike, and then hit the Back button on my earthlink browser, the whole site goes belly up. Not fun.
Back button causes site to crash.johnjohn
Sep 25, 2001 7:31 AM
Every third time I go to the marketplace, look at the close-up of a frame or bike, and then hit the Back button on my earthlink browser, the whole site goes belly up. Not fun.