RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bicycling should be ashamed (vent)(29 posts)

Bicycling should be ashamed (vent)Elefantino
Sep 22, 2001 6:24 AM
The Nissan ad on the back cover of the October issue of Bicycling has a cyclist falling off a cliff with the caption, "That which does not kill you makes you stronger. Seriously injured, but definitely stronger."
I broke my neck on a road ride this summer. I didn't find it funny. I don't find this ad funny. Cycling injuries should not material for the overpaid advertising world's frustrated David Letterman wannabes.
Remember, next time you do an endo on the road or on the trail, laugh (if you're still conscious)! What the heck, it's only skin and bones!
infernal combustion ads only thing keeping it afloatclub
Sep 22, 2001 7:42 AM
kinda ironic, what? but absolutely true, that rag would have folded long ago without the big-bucks car ads. they've got to be really hurtin' now, what with the recession, and the end of a couple of big bike company advertisers. Maybe if they had folks that know something about bikes on staff, they'd have enough readership to charge more for the ads. their short-sighted budget solution -- fire everybody that's worth reading, then hire some eager kids who will work cheap -- is starting to "pay off." Oh well, it let the publisher make his budget and thus preserve his bonus. Yup, that's the driving force behind the rag, bonuses for the big cheeses when the rag doesn't bleed too much red. Shows, doesn't it?
I understand, but...Rich Clark
Sep 22, 2001 7:59 AM
...most things in life have bad, even horrific, associations for someone, somewhere. I've had four heart attacks over the years, but if I got upset with every comic making Dick Cheyney jokes I'd have to go live in a cave.

Humor is a healing mechanism, but it doesn't work on wounds that are still raw.

I'd just as soon not see car ads in cycling magazines, but at least the ad exhibits (in a twisted way, I concede) some respect for the sport. Plenty of car ads that feature bicylists do so in a totally condescending or derogatory way.

Whether the ad fails in its attempt at humor is, IMO, a separate question from whether it's inappropriate.

RichC
(off topic) What is "IMO"? thanks. (nm)Allen az
Sep 22, 2001 8:57 AM
In my opinion (NM)DCP
Sep 22, 2001 9:06 AM
Some acronymsKerry Irons
Sep 22, 2001 4:25 PM
General terms
NM - no message
FWIW - for what it's worth
IIRC - if I recall correctly
BTW - by the way
LOL - laugh out loud
IOW - in other words
ROTFLMAO - rolling on the floor laughing my a$$ off
IMO - in my opinion
IMHO - in my HUMBLE opinion (never is humble)
OTOH - on the other hand
YMMV - your mileage may vary (along with everything else)
AFAIK - as far as I know
AKA - also known as
DIY - do it yourself
CUL - see you later (poor abbreviation)
ROT - rule of thumb
FUBAR, SNAFU, FUJIMO, BAMF - all contain the F word
AMFYOYO - adios my friend, you're on your own (AKA Dear John letter)
WTF - what the heck
SO - significant other (spouse, companion, favorite bike)
MYOB - mind your own business
TTFN - ta ta for now (bye)
KISS - keep it simple, stupid
KITA - kick in the a$$
PITA - pain in the a$$

Bike Terms
TT - top tube or time trial
TTT - team time trial
BCD - bolt circle diameter
CR - chain ring
HS - head set
STA - seat tube angle
HTA - head tube angle
RR - road race
BB - bottom bracket
TDF - Tour du France
CTC - center to center
ST - seat tube
JRA - just riding along
OOTS - out of the saddle
TDC - top dead center (in the crank revolution)

Fitness terms
HR - heart rate
HRM - heart rate monitor
AT - anaerobic threshold
PR - personal record
LT - lactate threshold
BPM - beats per minute
RHR - resting heart rate
I agree.look271
Sep 24, 2001 12:50 PM
Usually when I do an endo, I wind up laughing at myself. Sometimes we need to "lighten up a bit".
Gotta beg to differjtolleson
Sep 22, 2001 9:58 AM
I had a crash in 1998 on a fast road descent that left me in need of four major surgeries, 30 weeks on crutches, and with a permanent limp. And I can laugh at bike crash humor. I think we all need to lighten up, and save our moral outrage for things that really deserve it. Much humor is rooted in bad luck as well as in things we fear.

This reminds me of letters to the editor complaining when our then-new NHL team adopted the moniker "Colorado AVALANCHE" and people complained because they had lost loved ones in avalanches and so the term should not be used as a lighthearted sports reference. We take ourselves mighty seriously in this world.

You must have really hated Gary Larsen's Far Side comic.

As for the weaknesses in Bicycling magazine, that's another matter.

Let's all lighten up.
re: Gotta beg to differElefantino
Sep 22, 2001 2:24 PM
Perhaps you're right in that I am too close to the matter to be objective, just as those who lost loved ones in last week's events would probably find little humor in World Trade Center jokes, none of which I would ever recite even if I'd heard any. (This is unlike the Challenger disaster, when there were sick jokes aplenty.)
But when an ad uses the term "kill you" with a rider falling off a cliff, is that ever going to be "funny"? There are many ways to get the point across without resorting to sick humor.
I agree: We shouldn't take ourselves too seriously (I was a fan of the Avs when I lived in the Rockies, and thus no argument there, but I might have a quarrel about Washington's NFL team), but we also shouldn't be asinine with our attempts at being clever.
As for Bicycling, it is a magazine in search of a soul — one that has changed formats twice in the span of a little over a year. Is it a magazine for cyclists? Manufacturers? The people who keep running ads for the "Rhodes Car" (catchy bicycle motto: Drives Like a Car!)?
But I guess that's another thread altogether.
It's a famous quotationRich Clark
Sep 22, 2001 2:39 PM
"What does not kill me, makes me stronger." Goethe, early 19th century.

Doing a play on a famous quotation is pretty common in advertising.

RichC
I thought I said that! nmNietzsche
Sep 22, 2001 2:52 PM
nm
Even Philosophers Plaigarize (nm)Rich Clark
Sep 23, 2001 7:58 AM
All Western philosophy is a footnote to PlatoDog
Sep 23, 2001 6:02 PM
...but I can't remember who said that.

Dog
All Western philosophy is a footnote to Platoharlett
Sep 24, 2001 12:00 AM
alfred whitehead....regarding nietzsche--no room or need for an "ubermensch" in platoville.
It's a famous quotationharlett
Sep 22, 2001 2:52 PM
friedrich nietzche in his book "twilight of the idols"
Yeah and didn't he end up killing himself? nmSpinchick
Sep 23, 2001 5:25 AM
Of course, there's a variation for cyclists...MikeC
Sep 22, 2001 3:23 PM
"That which does not kill us makes us stranger!"
Gotta beg to differharlett
Sep 22, 2001 2:25 PM
a quote from "The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy"
"`You know,' said Arthur, `it's at times like this, when I'm trapped in a Vogon airlock with a man from Betelgeuse, and about to die from asphyxiation in deep space that I really wish I'd listened to what my mother told me when I was young.'
`Why, what did she tell you?'
"laugh a lot and you'll live longer"
Laughterzzz
Sep 23, 2001 11:01 AM
"Laughter and tears are both responses to frustration and exhaustion . . . . I myself prefer to laugh, since there is less cleaning up to do afterward."
Kurt Vonnegut
oh... and gary larson on the wheelharlett
Sep 22, 2001 2:28 PM
I'm offended!Zog
Sep 22, 2001 3:15 PM
I was once strapped to a stone wheel and rolled down a hill. It didn't turn out as well as you might think. This sick cartoon only stirs up painful memories that continue to scar my psyche.
thank you for your efforts in developing the bikeharlett
Sep 22, 2001 3:19 PM
those first bikes were rough!!!!!!
To sum up, I have come to the conclusion...Elefantino
Sep 22, 2001 5:55 PM
...that 10 weeks (today) off the bike has made me exceedingly cranky.
That said, Bicycling still sucks for running the ad. Or maybe just sucks in general.
Lighten up FrancisDog
Sep 22, 2001 7:13 PM
Far too many things in this world to be upset about. I'm sure it wasn't personal.

People should get upset about the important things (like last week), not magazines. Think about New Yorkers, and ask yourself if you are still upset.

Big smiles.

Doug
For the record...Elefantino
Sep 22, 2001 8:28 PM
My Bicycling subscription runs through September, 2005 (that's what happens when your daughter sells magazine subscriptions as a school fund-raiser!). And no, I didn't cancel it.
Not only am I cranky, I'm cheap, too.
Cheers for the night. I promise to have a positive mental attitude tomorrow.
canceled my long agoDog
Sep 23, 2001 6:42 AM
I canceled mine several years ago. Didn't think it was offensive, just worthless.

Doug
Re: canceled my long agoElefantino
Sep 23, 2001 8:19 AM
Well, then, have you thought about starting it up again? Only a few more subscriptions and my daughter wins an 'N Sync waffle maker or some such.
Our lines are open. Operators are standing by.
So get well soon, alreadyRich Clark
Sep 22, 2001 7:19 PM
Yes, we lost sight of the big picture there for a minute. Hell, one day off the bike makes me cranky. When I broke my elbow and wrist last year and lost 5 weeks I was (I'm told) impossible to live with. At least it was the middle of winter at the time.

Here's to your speedy recovery. Well, I guess it's too late for that. Well, just remember: that which does not kill you makes you stronger.

RichC (ducking and running)
Disagreemr_spin
Sep 24, 2001 8:10 AM
Sorry about your accident. But I think your reaction is a little strong.

Bicycling didn't put that ad in just to offend you. In fact, I'd bet there can't be more than a handful of people who were offended.

I can't imagine what you are going through, but I do know that if everything you see from now on is going to be colored by your accident, I think you are set for a life of misery. That's a harsh thing to say, but it's true. You wouldn't have even noticed the ad before, and now it has you all worked up.

I've never crashed my road bike, but I've taken plenty of hard, nasty spills and endos on my mountain bike. Almost every time I get right up and laugh. Especially if I have an audience. What else can I do?