RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


looking for sports bra with built in HRM(47 posts)

looking for sports bra with built in HRMgail
Sep 20, 2001 11:04 AM
Seems like this would be the best way to wear a HRM. Any of you wear one? How do you like the fit? What functions do you use most on your HRM?
I use a HRM but haven't really found it necessarySpinchick
Sep 20, 2001 11:13 AM
to wear a special sports bra. The strap seems to stay in place just fine, even while running. I mostly just use the basic heartrate function - especially if I'm doing interval work.

Now let's just see how long before it takes some of these guys to comment on sports bras. You know it's gonna happen with this crew.
LOL! First one of us cavemen to post a cup size poll wins!RhodyRider
Sep 20, 2001 11:29 AM
I'M KIDDING I'M KIDDING I'M KIDDING I'M KIDDING! Thanks for not taking this inane post seriously.
36 minutes. What restraint.Spinchick
Sep 20, 2001 11:34 AM
I'm kidding too.
Actually only 16 min, but who's counting? *S* (nm)RhodyRider
Sep 20, 2001 12:00 PM
Apparently, we were. :-o nmSpinchick
Sep 20, 2001 12:32 PM
I think I'll invent one...Lone Gunman
Sep 20, 2001 1:16 PM
and I'll call it the "Booby Trap"!!
pathfindernancy
Sep 20, 2001 11:31 AM
I use a sports bra from pathfinder fitness that has a pocket for the chest strap. It's comfortable and supportive. It is nice to be able to just wear a sports bra on hot days and have the chest strap out of sight and secure. I use the polar m52 and use the high-low audible zone alarms and of course the calories burned feature(nice to know I'm working off that ice cream from the night before) Here is pathfinders wed site.
http://www.pathfinderfitness.com/sportsbra.html
In the Interest's of Inter-gender Harmony....Jon
Sep 20, 2001 11:39 AM
....delete...delete...delete...(LOL) We can't help it. It's all in the antediluvian brain chemistry!
don't you mean PRIMEVAL chemistry!...*S*harlett
Sep 20, 2001 1:36 PM
I, too, am ALWAYS on the lookout for sports bras . . . oh, youbill
Sep 20, 2001 11:40 AM
meant for YOU.
I believe that Polar actually makes one. Yep, I just picked up a Performance catalog, and there it is, $35 (without the monitor, of course), which means that you'd have to buy the Polar monitor separately.
I use a HRM. I think that it's helpful. I'm not terribly sophisticated with it, and the HRM I use, although part of the wonderful toy that is the Specialized P-Brain, is not sophisticated in its HRM functions.
I think that the basic models probably work pretty well. By basic, I mean that it permits you to set a high and low rate for the zone you want to be in, with an analog readout for when you are in that zone. While you certainly can judge for yourself without these functions whether you're in the zone you want, I think that denoting the zone on your monitor is both motivational and disciplining. Total time in the zone is not bad, either.
If you're doing intervals, which is what they're best for, I think, average HR is not terribly meaningful. Total time above and below zone, which I don't have, is of some interest, I would think. I don't have mine set to provide audible signals, which I would think would be annoying.
The best thing about a HRM, for which you really don't need sophisticated functions, is that it gets you thinking about training zones. Once you work with them a little, you can start to tell where you are without looking, and I question whether the zones are as clearly delineated as the books tend to make you think, but the numbers help you to stay motivated and focused.
re: looking for sports bra with built in HRMcioccman
Sep 20, 2001 11:43 AM
I think you ladies need to do some modeling before making that purchase. Post some pics!
velogirl
Sep 20, 2001 11:54 AM
I've been thinking about one too. A couple of friends use the polar heart bra and like them. The polar seems a little short though. I just went to that pathfinder site and those looked much longer. It does seem like a good idea to have the two combined. I LIKE the calorie burning idea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if only it would burn them FOR you.
Ever see the episode of The Simpsons ...Brian C.
Sep 20, 2001 12:03 PM
when Homer tried on the sports bra?
Doh!
Ever see the episode of The Simpsons ...Delia
Sep 20, 2001 12:47 PM
Yep. That was a good one ! Gotta love the Simpsons..
How about the Mansiere, or the Bro? (nm)Len J
Sep 20, 2001 12:55 PM
The Bro! That was a great one. I miss Kramer. (nm)Brian C.
Sep 20, 2001 2:23 PM
OK, here's a REAL answer to your question!APG
Sep 20, 2001 12:09 PM
I normally wear a HRM, but the batteries died...

At the very minimum, get a HRM with a timer function... that way you don't have to wear the HRM AND a watch and look like a total geek.

Check out the Polar Heartrate Monitor website. They make sports bras specifically for HRM. Also check out the latest Road Runner's catalog. I noticed a few HRM compatible sports bras in there.

I can't tell you what they're like b/c I've never worn one...a HRM specific sports bras, that is!;)

Good Luck!

APG
Another real answer...Spinchick
Sep 20, 2001 12:21 PM
The Polar sports bras have some limitations. I will share it with you Gail if you want to email me. I will not discuss it on this board though.
oh, come on now; you think we can't be mature?Dog
Sep 20, 2001 12:25 PM
of course we can't
Something about testosterone I guess...nmSpinchick
Sep 20, 2001 12:28 PM
just mention "bra", and a man goes stupidDog
Sep 20, 2001 12:34 PM
I'll admit to it
I promise not to mention it again. nmSpinchick
Sep 20, 2001 12:36 PM
Polarjtolleson
Sep 20, 2001 12:49 PM
I've used the Polar bra with a sleeve for the HRM chest strap, but wasn't impressed. Especially if you are -- ahem -- remotely large breasted, the sleeve (which is the bottom strap of the bra, BTW) pulls away diagonally from your chest, so it can lose contact with the skin intermittently (especially while running). Also, by design it pushes the strap right up under your breasts, and I usually wear it an inch or two lower than that.

IMHO, not worth the $$$ and no better than just wearing the monitor strap directly under the bra.

PS -- love the exchange here! After reading lots of "where does willie go when you ride?" "Should I wear a jock while riding?" "How to deal with abraded testicles?" threads, its time we gals got one!!

: )
LOL on the PS. I needed that.(nm)Len J
Sep 20, 2001 12:52 PM
Thank you jtolleson! For having the gutsSpinchick
Sep 20, 2001 12:56 PM
to say what I wanted to say about the Polar HRM bra. (That was my concern about its limitations, Gail.) Gotta be a B cup or smaller, otherwise it really doesn't work well.

I agree that the HRM bras tend to be a waste of money. It's all marketing IMHO.

I am so sorry I missed the "where does willie go" thread. Where does willie go??? Oh never mind...
My pleasure!jtolleson
Sep 20, 2001 1:05 PM
As for Willie ... don't get the guys started ...

: )
Anywhere it wants to. nmMB1
Sep 20, 2001 1:07 PM
In your dreams. (nm)Len J
Sep 20, 2001 1:20 PM
LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!Spinchick
Sep 20, 2001 1:21 PM
That's it - I am outta here for a while....
WillieDog
Sep 20, 2001 1:20 PM
Put it this way; Willie's size depends upon blood fill; blood goes to muscles while riding; you figure it out.
(Sports Bra Review)Kristin
Sep 20, 2001 1:41 PM
The board has been testing the limit of all things cycling related these days. Are we getting bored? :-)

So, since I find myself in good company with my buxom board(bored)friends... What sports bra's have you chica's found that you like?? Care to share. I have discovered (though any word including "covered" may be a poor choice) that 90% of SB's on the market are designed for -- well, not me. I got lucky a few years ago and found some nice fitting ones at Walmart for $5.00.

Winners:
Marika
Hind (though pricey)

The definate losers:
Champion
InSport
Polar (its a sham to sell a $3.00 peice of fabric for $35)
Actually, Champion's aren't badSpinchick
Sep 20, 2001 1:50 PM
but you have to get the right one. The "slip on over your head racer back" style is definetely a waste. I don't know what it's called, but they make one that clasps in the back (not racer back style) that absolutely eliminates bounce. And it doesn't even have an underwire (which I hate). In fact, when I tried the first one, I ordered 3 more just to make sure I had enough to last the rest of the year. Got them at Title Nine Sports (Title9sports.com). Also T9S has one called the Frog bra (sorry Dog, had to say it) that is actually a little TOO supportive if you can imagine that.
Ditto. Also check out Title IXjtolleson
Sep 20, 2001 5:33 PM
I'd say the EXACT same thing about Champion. The clasp in the back is the best sportsbra on the market, but find it on sale ($32! Yikes!). I've also worn the Frog Bra from Title IX. Very synthetic over the head squash-monster. Mostly good for running, but handles sweat very well.

Boy, I bet the guys are learning a lot! Or are they saying "TMI! Too Much Information!!!!!!!"
Naw...they like it when we talk about this stuff!Kristin
Sep 21, 2001 5:47 AM
Though they may pretend not to. I will check out the Champion. I've never even tried a clasp back or zipper front. Since they don't "look" like they'll do the job, I just leave em on the rack.
I'd say they're thinking NEI. nmSpinchick
Sep 21, 2001 10:36 AM
Actually we are thinking NFL. nmMB1
Sep 21, 2001 11:53 AM
shebeest and primal wearharlett
Sep 20, 2001 2:03 PM
shebeest areosport and primal wear zen sport. shebeest makes a number of different ones. marika racer back long is good for a long one
should we save (womens shorts review) for another day?harlett
Sep 20, 2001 2:14 PM
to keep something for the stronger/smarter sex to have a thread of their own again??*S*
I was going to ignore this thread . . .Rod
Sep 20, 2001 3:54 PM
but you're right. We guys have had numerous threads pertaining to our various saddle-related issues with pressure points, chafing, and where to store everything in our bike shorts, so this thread makes sense.

BTW, my wife just uses her HRM strap cuz she thinks the sports bras with the built in ones are overpriced. So she uses the same sports bras she wears to the gym or wears bike shimmels with the built in bras.
I thought you were from MarsStarliner
Sep 20, 2001 5:53 PM
Sorry, but I just got in from today's Giants game. Nice to see you are a woman instead of the man I thought you were.
jtollenson........GIRLS RULE!!!!!!!!...*S*harlett
Sep 20, 2001 1:34 PM
some of my friends like the polar but like jtolleson and spinchick say they aren't for all of us..*G*. I use the acumen body basix sports bra with a enclosed pocket for the strap. as far as fit and support goes I like them to have cotton for comfort, reduced stretch and greater support. then a breathable material like lycra to help evaporate sweat. the acumen has coolmax material under the breasts and arms to wick moisture outward. a wide Y-back panel also helps with support. also make sure the bra has good horizontal stretch so it doesn't interfere with breathing. I don't use a hrm often. when I do it's for aerobic and/or anaerobic zone training so a monitor that easily sets zones and has audible zone alarms is what I need. I use the acumen basix plus ES.
If you ride a tandem...Handy Helper
Sep 20, 2001 1:38 PM
Maybe you could get some one to hold it in place/readjust it for you?
You are tooooo kind...jtolleson
Sep 20, 2001 5:34 PM
really.
re: looking for sports bra with built in HRMSnapdragen
Sep 20, 2001 7:17 PM
Speaking of Title 9 - have y'all seen this monster? I scares me.......
Ouch... and... Yuck... Good thing they're not all that ugly. nmSpinchick
Sep 21, 2001 3:57 AM
Yuck?!?Moser
Sep 23, 2001 12:42 AM
I hope you're referring to the bra and not the... never mind.