RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Where to ride in NC?(7 posts)

Where to ride in NC?bdacaret
Sep 19, 2001 6:36 PM
HI, just moved from California to Statesville, NC. Anyone know any good local loops, mountain rides?

thanks!

B
re: Where to ride in NC?markc826
Sep 19, 2001 6:43 PM
Plenty of climbing in NC! I'm in Shelby which is closer to the mountains than where you are. You can get on I-40 west to Asheville and ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Of course there are also great organized rides like Assault on Mt. Mitchell, Blood, Sweat, and Gears, Bridge to Bridge, etc. I believe you will enjoy cycling in NC.
re: Where to ride in NC?Ray Still
Sep 20, 2001 11:45 AM
Hello:

I'm just down the street from you in Mooresville, NC I ride usually 6 days a week There is a 40mile ride about 10 minutes from you oswald amity to tripplet to mazzeppa to 801

also Brushy Mt road awesome 35 mile mountain road.

I also moved here from CA 9 years ago Orange county (Costa Mesa)
If you want Email me at Toby18@mindspring .com and I can give you a bunch of routes a little different here no 3ft wide bike lanes oh well lol.

Best of luck
Ray Still
re: Where to ride in NC?Lone Gunman
Sep 19, 2001 6:53 PM
Cycle North Carolina, a week long state tour starts in 3 weeks. Full blown website and links. 700-900 riders. Well organized, one day options available. You live in a beautiful state, great riding. Starts 10/06 in Mt. Airy and goes to Elizabeth City.
re: Where to ride in NC?DEANguy
Sep 20, 2001 4:39 AM
Welcome to NC. I believe Statesville has a bicycle club-I did a ride up there a couple of years ago and recall that there was local club involved. Also, besides the mountains, just west of Winston-Salem and near Yadkinville is an area known as the Brushy Mountains(an ancient mountain chain, now just very hilly). There is some great riding in that area-check with local shop for routes. Winston-Salem and Greensboro have a strong club base and good shops. Lots of Info there. Sorry I can't be of more details, but my area is Raleigh-Durham. I am originally from W-S, and have participated in several rides up there and most of my info. is based on recollection. Hope it is enough to get you started. Happy Riding.
re: Where to ride in NC?pkompath
Sep 20, 2001 9:16 AM
Great rides in WNC. Statesville is only 2 hours west of Asheville. For road, try the parkway ( not a lot of traffic...beautiful during Oct. when leaves change). There are 3-4 LBS here in Asheville that would help you. As for mountain biking, the Great smokies has plenty of trails. The Bent Creek Recreational area and the Mills River area offer numerous trails (check out mtbreview.com's page for trail reviews/rides). Further west is the Nantahala Outdoor area's famous Tsali trails. Search for their website. The rides are plenty in WNC, it just a matter of how far you want to drive to get to them.
re: Where to ride in NC?Ligon
Sep 20, 2001 12:49 PM
If your looking for mountian biking and are willing to drive an hour or two, Tsali, Tsali Tsali!!!!!!!!!!!