RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Steel Frame selection issues(10 posts)

Steel Frame selection issuesdan31
Sep 18, 2001 8:05 AM
Like most people I am having trouble selecting a frame.

Group I
1.Colnago Master X light
2.Seven axiom steel

Group II
1. Steelman SR
2. IF Deluxe

OK it's more than trouble getting these frames to try. My delema in the first group is For a master x light I can get a custom seven. I have heard that the Colnago custom tubes give a nice ride. Second group who can tell. I have heard that IF is getting a little to large for good customer service and the finish is prone to chipping. Gropu will be Campy chorus with tubular setup (Vittoria special pave).I guess I am looking for any insight. I know this is very subjective, but hey, even anecdotal input helps. Good and bad experiences welcomed. Thanks
re: Steel Frame selection issuesAD14
Sep 18, 2001 8:13 AM
The master does not ride like an 853 or foco and its expensive and heavy. Indestructible though it may be, the newer and thinner steels are great riding and stiff enough for 99% of us. I just retired a master and ride foco. It is better.
re: Steel Frame selection issuesEames
Sep 18, 2001 8:14 AM
I was considering a IF awhile back but choose the Steelman SR. It comes down to a question of geometry in my mind. Most people will say the choice should be based on FIT, FIT, FIT. SRs hand longer TT than most models. If that is your cup of tea go for it.
re: Steel Frame selection issuesDoubleK
Sep 18, 2001 9:01 AM
I can't comment on the other three, but I love my Colnago. I have an older steel model, the Crystal, which is Columbus EL (a mega tubed Cyclex tubeset). I absolutely love the ride. Yes, it is heavy but I have another lightweight steed for the hills. If you aren't going alpine with this bike, and you are attracted to classic lines, then I would get the Colnago as long as it fits. It is a wonderful bike.

Good luck!
Trollman heard good things about Voodoo Radacyclopathic
Sep 18, 2001 10:37 AM
did I actually say it?

I never thought I'd miss him LOL
Trollman heard good things about Voodoo RadaGregJ
Sep 18, 2001 4:51 PM
I don't miss him. NLAA
Check out Carl StrongMe Dot Org
Sep 18, 2001 10:23 PM
He will build you a custom Foco Steel Frame starting at $1,000. I just got mine (with a $250 Carve Carbon Seat Stay Option) and it is great.

They don't have any reviews on Roadbikereview, but check out how much they like his frames at Mountain Bike Review:

http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Frameset/product_21300.shtml

http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Frameset/product_21299.shtml

Carl's site:

http://www.strongframes.com/
re: Steel Frame selection issuesmapman
Sep 19, 2001 3:20 AM
A while back I had the same problem choosing. Crash and financial difficulties forced me to put off my decision. In group 2 I looked at IF but opted against it. Test rode an IF at the LBS and wasn't impressed. Not bad but not special and for the $ I was looking for special. In group 1 I looked at Seven Axiom. I got a thread that said for Ti go Seven but for steel go Serotta. I am currently on an older Serotta Colorado 2 and, when the time comes and if I go with steel, I'll be on another Serotta.
So many choices...Nessism
Sep 19, 2001 6:35 AM
It would be hard to decide since there are so many nice steel frame builders out there: Anvil, Landshark, Ritchey, Ibis, Waterford, ect.. My $0.02 is that any TIG welded frameset that costs more $1100 is a poor value - that pretty much cuts down your list although I'm not sure about the Steelman. I would also try to find a local builder in your area and ask about a full custom.
re: Steel Frame selection issueszero1
Sep 19, 2001 6:54 AM
i just purchased a colnago mxl with campy chorus about a month ago and i could not be happier with the bike...it rides really great...it weighs 19 1/2 lbs and rides like it is a lot lighter...good luck, gary...ride safe