RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


If you could design your own shifters, what would...(22 posts)

If you could design your own shifters, what would...Kristin
Sep 17, 2001 7:04 AM
...they look like? What would you change? The previous thread just got me thinking about it.

If I could have exactely the shifters I wanted, I'd have three levers on the front. Ultegra, but with a separate brake lever and a MUCH shorter reach. I'm sure you guys have some innovative ideas. You should post them. You never know, you could spark a revolution.
re: If you could design your own shifters, what would...Akirasho
Sep 17, 2001 7:10 AM
... a bit of A.I. and a touch of technology enhanced psychokenisis...

"Levers??? We don't need no stinkin' Levers!!!"

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: If you could design your own shifters, what would...Tommy Kankerienan
Sep 17, 2001 7:13 AM
Easy. Elbow and knee shifters - elbows out for up, knees out for down. Made of granola, in case I got hungry, and I always halt in one gear at a time, so I don't need the weight of the shifters just before I stop. Derail on the pedal end too, for obvious reasons.
You play Pedal Steel, don't you? (nm)Andy M-S
Sep 17, 2001 7:23 AM
nm
Hurst T-Handle (nm)tee hee
Sep 17, 2001 7:30 AM
No shiftersMel Erickson
Sep 17, 2001 7:53 AM
A CVT (continuously variable transmission) for the bike. Pick an rpm you're comfortable with and go.
Mavic electronic with Browing transmission.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 8:25 AM
Take 2 really good ideas that were not successful and turn them into a great setup. Push button shifting with gated chainrings and cassette.

Dream on. But at least you could use your choice of brake levers.
re: If you could design your own shifters, what would...Me Dot Org
Sep 17, 2001 8:35 AM
Shorter reach, yes. Cyclometer AND bell activation from buttons built into the brake levers.

Instead of a shifting using the lateral motion of the brake lever, I'd prefer something like the campy shifter, but if you push up it goes to a big gear, push down it goes to a little gear. (Like mototcycle shifting).
re: Like SunTour's wing nuts?nm...dzrider
Sep 17, 2001 12:58 PM
Good question.............Len J
Sep 17, 2001 8:56 AM
I guess I would have something that I could shift by moving my fingers, no matter where they were. Something in the glove that was wireless.

Problem is that the more complexity you build into something, the more likely it would be to need repairs.

Len
re: If you could design your own shifters, what would...Mike P.
Sep 17, 2001 9:12 AM
Put a sensor in the seat that measures grunt factor at the riders a$$.

High grunt factor - shift to lower gear.
Low grunt factor - shift to higher gear.

Of course there would have to be a formula or something to figure all that out. Have to get engineering in on the mechanical aspects too. Could use a Pentium 4 CPU to ensure quick, precise shifting.

Mike
Electronic with sensors in three bar locations.bEUFORD M. RADDISON
Sep 17, 2001 9:20 AM
One on the tops, one accessible from the hoods, and one of course accessible from the drops. You could have a battery generator hook up only upon braking.

Wishful dreaming.
Wow, you guys dream big. Money Making IDEA for GREGGKristin
Sep 17, 2001 10:38 AM
Gregg,

Has Consumer/RBR considered doing work with focus groups yet??? I personally intend to study Industrial Design and believe that the next era, innovation will play a key role.

So why doesn't Consumer Reviews harvest some of the great innovative power that chats idly on these boards all day. Form focus groups to discuss this or that. For instance, form a Campy focus group to have Campy users discuss real time (chat) their experiences with the equipment and suggest improvements. Campy pays you for organizing the group, and kicks back some sort of incentives/goodies to the participants for their help.
Not another free waterbottle I hope. nmMB1
Sep 17, 2001 10:57 AM
curious George the monkeyWoof the dog
Sep 17, 2001 11:07 AM
don't be so silly, Kristin.

Peace

Woof the dog
to some extent, I think this is already in effect for other....gregg
Sep 17, 2001 11:25 AM
...manufacturers and companies. I know that there are several companies that use our message boards as "marketing research". These companies are getting their product feedback and data from our own site. In fact, one of our sales guys told me that a particular company did not want to spend money to advertise on our site because they "already get what they need for free" from us!

As for ConsumerREVIEW making money off of focus groups, it sounds like it might be a good idea, but I'm not sure how we would do it. Personally, I think it would be hard to qualify and administer a system like this.

But it sounds like a cool way to get swag! Which brings up another issue, since the focus group is getting compensated by the company, results may be skewed.

Hmmm....
-gregg
Do you remember the weighted shifters?Kristin
Sep 17, 2001 11:06 AM
A while back a company built an MTB with a weighted shifting system. Something on the wheel. I remember because they tried to sell it thru infomercials. Can't remember the name either. Did anyone have experience with this bike? Did it work? Appearantly, it wasn't the next best step in gearing.
Auto-bike. What a piece. LOL. nmMB1
Sep 17, 2001 11:08 AM
Get yur autobike here, no waiting!MB1
Sep 17, 2001 12:39 PM
http://www.seattletraders.com/autobike.htm
re: If you could design your own shifters, what would...mackgoo
Sep 17, 2001 1:32 PM
I guess it would be some sort of padle shifter like an F1 car, working with a very strong electronic actuator for positive shifts. Oh and it would have to say Campagnolo on it;-)
like the Clint Eastwood movieDog
Sep 17, 2001 1:49 PM
Remember the Clint Eastwood movie where he steals some high tech plane from the Soviet Union? The plane read the pilot's thoughts, and that's how it was controlled (except the twist was he had to think in Russian).

Rig that one up to Mavic's system. "I think, therefore I shift."

Dog
missle launcher buttonWagnerite
Sep 17, 2001 8:33 PM
nm