RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How was your ride this weekend? How steep was your climb?(95 posts)

How was your ride this weekend? How steep was your climb?MB1
Sep 17, 2001 5:33 AM
Miss M and I escaped to Western Maryland, Pennsylvania and West Virginia this weekend. Man, I have ridden in the Rockies, Sierras, the Cascades and plenty of other hilly places but I believe this weekend took the KOM prize for ruggedness. Climb after climb after climb. Each one steeper than the last. I had ATB gears on my bike and it was a good thing, 30X28 just got the job done.

Nice weather though you could tell winter is coming. A few trees had started to turn colors and there was frost on the cars Saturday morning.

Once we've recovered I am sure we will start to think about our next adventure. Anyone have a suggestion of some good climbing within a days drive of DC?
re: painful and steep enuff for <4mph on ascents.Akirasho
Sep 17, 2001 5:43 AM
Great day, great century, great route, but gawd, the hills and wind sucked the life outta my legs round mile 75 (never take a 'bent on a hilly century if your goal is a sub six hour ride).

We abide.

Remain In Light.
What ride was that?MB1
Sep 17, 2001 5:49 AM
We were with a small group ride, didn't see any 'bents. We finished in about 10 1/2 hours. One rider was just in front of us, everyone else behind.
Wright WrideAkirasho
Sep 17, 2001 6:06 AM
... in SW Ohio...

What I noticed most was how county engineers of days gone by seemed unable to design an incline without having a significant snap near the apex... kinda demoralizing... yet, I completed every climb thankuverymuch!

They may not have been long ascents, but the area is riddled with small river valleys of which we crossed several before finding sanctuary on the semi plateaus... 'bout 12 miles from the finish...

We abide.

Remain In Light.
What kind of 'bent?MB1
Sep 17, 2001 7:33 AM
Long or short wheelbase? Do you have a hard time keeping your front wheel down on steep stuff?

We were having problems with front wheel lifting on the steepest sections this weekend. We were all over the front end of the bikes trying to keep the front wheel weighted.
What kind of 'bent?Akirasho
Sep 17, 2001 7:57 AM
SWB Vision R50 set up with an Ultegra double (coulda' used an extra bail out or two).

No problems keeping the front end weighted... even at that slow a speed and with it's roadbike like geometry, it was stable (or at least as stable as it's wobbly pilot) on the ascents.

In answering your other question, there was no specific training regimin for said hills... I've simply logged more miles on the 'bent this season than the uprights... and have enough leg strength to climb. A triple would have helped a bit, but ultimately, it came down to my ability to keep turning it over (saw a few triple equipped 'bents being assisted over the top by a pedestri... I mean pilot).

I could imagine that LWB's might have had a time of it on some climbs because of what you've mentioned... never thought of it.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
What kind of 'bent?peloton
Sep 17, 2001 6:21 PM
Akirasho- Nice bike!

I'm usually not all that interested in 'bents. Not that I have any problem with them, just hasn't been my thing. That is one cool looking bike though. It even makes me want to try it out. I bet that thing motors of the flats. Thanks for sharing.
re: painful and steep enuff for <4mph on ascents.jagiger
Sep 17, 2001 6:39 AM
Congrats!! Sounds tough enough. What type of traing did you do? Would you do more hill training?
I rode about 8 miles last week ...Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2001 5:49 AM
... my riding record for the last month goes something like:

100 miles
148 miles
150 miles
240 miles
8 miles.

Last week combined recovery, job searching, a bad cold, and the tragedy, to pretty much disrupt my normal riding. I hope this week is disrupted by GETTING the new job, but at an ideal commuting distance.

I did get in 5.1 miles of honest MTBing, on an honest mountain, with some climbs that had me grunting in granny-gear.
We were fairly near Keyser.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 5:52 AM
Followed the Savage river and crossed the Potomac a couple of times. You could say the terrain impressed me.
Once I map out the logging roads ...Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2001 6:31 AM
... I'll show you a hill that will get your heart pumping.

I've hiked this circuit once, but need to ride it the opposite direction. We own a 25-acre square of mountainside behind our cabin, on the side of a pretty fair bump. The cabin is at 1800 ft, the peak is at 3200 ft, and the hike between those points is about a mile and a quarter. From our cabin to our back property line is a mere quarter-mile hike, but about 340 feet of rocky climbing. I consider it too steep to ride up, although there might be a pro trials rider or two who could.

But the alternate way to the top is to take about 6 miles of logging roads, along the mountain then diagonally up, hit the trail at the ridge road, and come down the trail.

I don't think your Bianchi would survive. The Gunnar Dog might, but I know I'm not up to doing this climb singlespeed. Even on the road, there are plenty of grades in the 15% range with segments that may pitch to 25%, on baseball-sized rocks.
good, not steepDog
Sep 17, 2001 6:09 AM
Did 202 miles from Fresno, across the valley, up to Pacheco Pass, and back. Only about 1500 feet climbing.

Legs are fine; neck a little sore.

Doug
You would fit right in with the nutcases I ride with.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 7:30 AM
202 miles with a bad get-away stick. Good thing Miss M didn't meet you first. ;-)
Got in a good 40 miler on Sundaylook271
Sep 17, 2001 6:24 AM
Revisited a new climb for me. 1.5 miles at 6-8%. Not horrific, but a good climb, non-the-less. Northern York county,PA has lots of sparsely travelled, decently paved roads that cross over, around, between, and alone the Appalacian mountains. Beautiful country.
40 miles on a MTB on SaturdayMel Erickson
Sep 17, 2001 6:39 AM
Did the Chequamegon Fat Tire 40 on Saturday. Me and 2500 of my closest friends. Weather was perfect, 55 at the start and cloudy. Broke into a little sunshine about half way through and got up to 65 later in the day. The ride was great, mud, fire roads, logging and ski trails, loose rock and one crazy climb to the top of fire tower hill. With that many people and the loose rock and sand it made the climb a walk but it felt good to get off the bike and use some different muscles. Completed it in about 3:45 (winner did it in 2:10). I came out of it knowing what I need to do next, get a new bike! The old SuperV is just worn out. All in all a GREAT ride.
Flat...Kristin
Sep 17, 2001 6:52 AM
I like flat. I've decided. I'm good on it. I can move forward delicately...turning the crank over and over again. Listening only to the sound of my breathing and the air as it rushes past. Hands rested on drops, head low...scanning the horizon. It was beautiful. I like long, flat, quiet roads. Just me and the bike and the road. A rider ahead. One or two behind. But that moment I occupy in space and time, is just for me. Here, there are no terrorists, no reporters, no pain, no heartache, no fear... just me and the bike and the road. And I'm at peace for a short while.

I've made commitment to ride long, flat, quiet roads more often. It's good for my soul.
Troubled Kristinscottfree
Sep 17, 2001 7:08 AM
You seems to have been troubled lately. Not just about the events of last week, but going through some kind of a rough patch involving cycling. Since you've drawn us all (happily)into your tale over the past few months, want to share what the troubling stuff was?
I'm all right. Just searching for my place in the worldKristin
Sep 17, 2001 10:22 AM
Finding balance in my life with regard to work and cycling has been difficult. The internal pressure I feel to proove myself on the bike and to the world. The injuries I've experienced. Knowing I made a poor bike purchase and was probably taken atvantage of by an LBS. Riding more than I might otherwise have choosen because I'll feel like a wus if I don't. I fear I'm burning out. So many other things happened this summer as well. Both my co-workers were laid off. I can't purchase a heart rate monitor and rollers because I sunk my remaining cash into an art gallery. I entered two photos. I'm also trying to return to school so I can change careers.

My life is out of balance right now, but I believe that steadiness will come again. One bright prosect is just on the horizon. An internationally known artist saw my images in the gallery and wants to meet me. He inquired about licensing on one peice. I'd be honored just to shake his hand. What a compliment. Who knows, this could be the start of something good.

Thank you for asking. I hadn't realized any of my inner turmoil was coming through, but I appreciate that you asked. Thanks for listening too. If anyone is curious, the image is posted on Webshots: http://community.webshots.com/album/212737
Like the frog. nmMB1
Sep 17, 2001 10:36 AM
Wow Kristin, I'm impressed. Great photography! nmSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 10:54 AM
Great Photos..........Len J
Sep 17, 2001 12:32 PM
Better to be searching and know it, than to be out of place & not know it!

In the long run, you will look back on the pain of your search as a minor bump along your path to fullfillment. A very wise person told me once that:

Without awareness there is no pain,
without pain there is no growth, and
without growth there is no life.

Sounds like you have to courage to confront your pain, Congratulations.

Best of luck
Len
Do what you love, love what you do.Brooks
Sep 17, 2001 12:56 PM
It sounds like you need to find the joy again; in cycling, in art/photography, in other aspects of your life. Find those flat quiet roads and think about why you like to ride; the fresh air, the variety of smells, the rhythm of your heartbeat and breathing as you put in effort, the freedom of movement, the low hum of the chain as it glides through the gears. Nobody is grading you and everyone on this board supports you. Know that there is a greater community around the country and the world that shares your joy in cycling. The same can be said for aspects in your life. Do what you love, love what you do, and share with others that joy.

Go in peace.
Brooks
I like it! (nm)Len J
Sep 17, 2001 12:57 PM
Great pictures!Debby
Sep 17, 2001 4:37 PM
Kristin,

Sounds like you have a lot going on right now. You don't have to prove yourself on the bike - ride for
you! Just ride for fun and the joy will return. Good luck!
I like that "moving forward delicately"..MB1
Sep 17, 2001 7:40 AM
I'm just the opposite I really had problems on the flats, love climbing. Tandem riding has improved my technique on the flats. I still like hills though your description of riding on the flats is pretty appealing. You got some poetry sneaking out there.

Do you sometimes feel that you are sitting still and the world is moving towards and around you and you are just pedaling in place?
Flat...harlett
Sep 17, 2001 10:01 AM
Kristin. I know that place your talking about.. exercise giving me a comforting body/mind connection that takes me away from daily stressors. I consider it one of the rewards for taking up bicycling. you sound like you've found a good place to be for the moment. I hope you soon get back that same sense of connectedness all through your day..

let me go off in a different direction for a minute. ever since rene descartes conceptualized his distinctions between the mind and body we have been building partitions between them. starting with the mind (spirit) being the concern of religion.and the body (physical) being the concern of physicians. only in the past few decades have we come to the idea of them being inseparable in physical/mental health issues.
one of the reasons we should encourage girls, especially adolescent girls who studies have shown experience depression twice the rate of adolescent boys, to get into things like bicycling is the physiological well being it brings. bicycling offers girls improved body image, self-esteem, competency, increased energy and improved sleep and eating patterns as well as feelings of self-mastery and self-efficacy. all these factors together to one degree or another contributes to enhanced mental and physical health. BUY A YOUNG GIRL A BIKE!!!!!!
Yes but did you have a nice ride.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 10:11 AM
It is interesting to see a well-written statement of what riding can do for you. Putting that aside; did you have a good riding experience this weekend?
re: How was your ride this weekend? How steep was your climb?Lone Gunman
Sep 17, 2001 6:58 AM
101 miles of Amish country in Eastern Ohio, rolling hills and a fabulous lunch of hot pasta and meatballs, Italian bread and baked goods on a supported Club century. Yum.
Don't you love good food on a ride?MB1
Sep 17, 2001 7:45 AM
At the 150 mile point on the Los Angeles Wheelmen Double Century a bunch of wonderful ladies make homemade hot soup for the riders. I have spent way too much time in that rest stop just because the food is so good. I usually feel great the last 50 of that ride!

The spread at the end of the Central Coast Double is amazing, I'm getting hungry just thinking about it.
Do the Amish always live in good cycling country?Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2001 9:20 AM
I think this is quite likely, nice, undeveloped farmland being good cycling country. That ride MB1 treated me to in St. Mary's County, MD, was Amish country. Horses, and buggies, and old farmers in wide hats riding cruisers.

Did you see any old farmers in wide hats riding cruisers? I liked the Amish before I saw that, but like them even more, now! Not to mention, they seem to attract old bike dealers.
One of these days I am going to stop in the LovevilleMB1
Sep 17, 2001 9:27 AM
bike shop. Should be interesting.
Is that anywhere near Intercourse? nmSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 10:48 AM
Well, it's nowhere near Normal! nmMB1
Sep 17, 2001 10:51 AM
Normal is way over-rated anyway...nmSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 10:55 AM
Normal is way over-rated anyway...nm4bykn
Sep 17, 2001 11:40 AM
Now you've gone too far...Normal(IL) is my home and I love it. Just don't come here looking for hills.
No hills? I'm there. My recent 30 miler with 5 miles ofSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 1:05 PM
at least a 10% grade has me sworn off of them. Not to mention my knees just can't take it. Am I getting old?
Old? Who is old, young lady?MB1
Sep 17, 2001 1:11 PM
Once we start discussing the weld quality and country of origin of our titanium walkers and which type of Depends is best-then we are old.

BTW I like "Weekend" Depends best.
Yeah well too many more of those blasted hillsSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 1:20 PM
and I'm gonna need one of those titanium walkers. No denying the fact that I (and I say this proudly) am a lightweight, wuss, wimp, (insert any other term here) on hills. Having spent the summer riding in central NJ, how was I to know?
Do the Amish always live in good cycling country?Lone Gunman
Sep 17, 2001 10:48 AM
Passed a few horse and buggys, lots of Amish kids waving at us, several on scooters. Watch out for the buggy ruts on the roads, put you down quickly.
re: How was your ride this weekend? How steep was your climb?Scott B
Sep 17, 2001 7:19 AM
Saturday was the Potomac Pedaler's century out near Berryville, VA. About 65 miles west of DC. Plenty of hills, including a nasty climb out from the Shanendoah River. You can probably get the route map from Potomac Pedalers at www.bikepptc.org.
Great.....DINOSAUR
Sep 17, 2001 7:43 AM
I went for a three hour ride Saturday. Lots of hills, I can't get away from them. I only put in three days last week. Great ride, saw lots of American flags being flown. One overpass had small flags attached to the wire mesh screening. Drivers seemed more courteous than usual. Perfect riding conditions. Sunday was a no-ride family day and time to catch up on much needed yardwork.
Yes, flags everywhere. We were in the way back woodsMB1
Sep 17, 2001 7:58 AM
of rural America. Every little town and enclave had flags displayed everywhere. On Sunday the churches looked packed. We passed by an Amish church, I had never seen so many buggies.

People did seem to be a little kinder to cyclists for the most part.
flags everywhereDog
Sep 17, 2001 8:05 AM
Yup, I bet 500 cars passed me with flags flapping in the wind, usually attached to antennae(s?). I could hear the noise of the flag a 1/2 mile away.

One Ford Explorer had a full sized flag draped down the back.

I wore my DeFeet U.S. flag socks. Looking for a jersey, too.

Everyone did seem a little nicer, more tolerant.

Doug
flags....DINOSAUR
Sep 17, 2001 9:23 AM
I also noticed the great number of flags that were improperly displayed. There are rules and regulations regarding the displaying of the American flag. Even in our church they had a large American flagged draped from the Pastor's podium touching the floor. I had to dig around the internet and find the National Flag code code regarding displaying the flag and forward it to our church. I've never thought about it, but I have a U.S. flag regulation background due to my military and law enforcement background. I've yanked a lot of flags up and down flagpoles. It irks me when I see it not being displayed properly.
Time for a ride, I'm getting grumpy...
I usually get grumpy, too ...Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2001 9:38 AM
... You're talking to a guy who once chewed out a National Guard Armory for leaving their flag flying after dark, no lights. I get annoyed with McDonalds' for leaving theirs flying in the rain.

But this week, seeing rescue workers flying flags from bent flagpoles in rain and debris, it somehow looked even more proud and determined than ever, more like its role in war.
flag regsDog
Sep 17, 2001 9:47 AM
Maybe there are exemptions from regs in times of war, when patriotism is overflowing. Still looking for that flag jersey.

Somehow, unless it appears disrespectful, it doesn't seem to bother me these days.

Doug
flag regsscottfree
Sep 17, 2001 11:14 AM
See if you can track down an old Subaru/Montgomery team jersey, with the US flag. They were popular here in the South for awhile to deter harrassment. The -- I will NOT use the word redneck -- 'bike-tolerance-challenged' among us were loath to fling beer bottles at Old Glory.
flag regsDINOSAUR
Sep 17, 2001 12:45 PM
No problem with being patriotic. Folks should just be aware before they start displaying our American flag there are rules and guidelines for proper display. It's not a piece of decoration, it's a symbol of our country and it should not be taken lightly.... God Bless America....
Humah, can u post a link to thatKristin
Sep 17, 2001 10:58 AM
If you have it handy. So many people have no idea about the regulations. I don't remember all of it myself, but I was a flag guard in elementary school. It used to be taught in schools, but I'm wondering if they stopped doing that. I also realized that I (and half of my company) don't know all the words to America the Beautiful. Too bad.
http://www.petersonflags.com/flaginfo.htmDog
Sep 17, 2001 12:20 PM
http://www.petersonflags.com/flaginfo.htm
http://www.ushistory.org/betsy/flagetiq.htmlDog
Sep 17, 2001 12:25 PM
http://www.ushistory.org/betsy/flagetiq.html
Thats the one allright. Nice information. nmMB1
Sep 17, 2001 12:25 PM
Here is another one....DINOSAUR
Sep 17, 2001 12:32 PM
http://www.steve4u.com/flagcode.htm

Note 176. D not to be used as clothing apparel... how about a national team jersey?
forgot how strict they areDog
Sep 17, 2001 12:43 PM
I'd completely forgotten about how strict the rules are. I remember not touching the ground, not out in bad weather or all night.

Strictly speaking, a lot of the clothing is not really a flag. It's red, white, and blue, in patterns with stars and stripes. I don't know if that counts. It's not like they took a flag and make something out of it, nor actually display a flag on the clothing. Not sure where they draw the line. Certainly it must be acceptable to wear the colors.

I guess I saw lots of violations in the last few days. At the same time, it's still good to see some long lost patriotism.

Dog
Or my CAP uniform ...Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2001 1:36 PM
... or most police uniforms.

Folks promoting anti-flag-burning laws seem unaware that burning is the correct and respectful way to decommission a flag.

The thing about flag regs is this: you cannot legislate respect for this particular flag. The thing that gives this one meaning is the freedoms that it stands for, and the fact that we respect it voluntarily.
you all think this jersey would be a violation?Dog
Sep 17, 2001 1:41 PM
I want this jersey, but not if it's disrespectful or against regulations. Any thoughts?
you all think this jersey would be a violation?dcrider
Sep 17, 2001 1:55 PM
i think its great, not disrespectful at all. there are plenty of tshirts with the flag on it and many uniformed services, police, and workmen wear the flag on their sleeves. in fact, where can you get one?
velowearDog
Sep 17, 2001 2:06 PM
at http://www.velowear.com

Their web store is "under construction," so I had to order one by email.

Dog
you all think this jersey would be a violation?DINOSAUR
Sep 17, 2001 4:22 PM
this is not a violation...cool, who has it?
http://www.velowear.comDog
Sep 17, 2001 6:18 PM
http://www.velowear.com/shop/tops.asp?ProdTypeList=Tops&inexid=834PHD2Q5Z
Link? What link?Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2001 1:31 PM
When I was in elementary school, in charge of taking the flag down and putting it up, the flag only had 48 stars!

Actually, I pointed out to them that they really were supposed to fly the correct 50-star flag. But I studied all the regs on a big poster I had in my bedroom. I was the one who knew how to raise the flag briskly, then lower slowly to half-staff, etc, and how to fold it.

The internet did not come into being for about a decade after that.
Good MemoryKristin
Sep 17, 2001 1:41 PM
I must confess that I had forgotten many of the rules. I used to know them all because all the flag guards at school went to a special class about it. Those links were good. I was especially thrilled to find a page where they post the presidents order for flying the flag at half-staff. Now I know that President Bush ordered flags to fly at half mast until Saturday 9/22.
First Century!Roxy
Sep 17, 2001 7:48 AM
And about the best I've ever felt on my bike. Better, even, than after some of our 45 mile training rides...go figure!
Phil and I did the Big Sur Ride in CA. It was supposed to be 170 miles over two days, but changed due to Tuesday's tragedy.
Unbelievable cliffs and climbs and fog! It was wonderful-
I actually felt better in the last 30 miles than during 65-70.
Can't wait for the next one in two weeks! Lighthouse in San Luis Obispo!
Big Sur is tough. That is pretty amazing for a first.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 7:59 AM
Way to go!
Not much climbing. Went along the Potomac, wanted to seebill
Sep 17, 2001 8:29 AM
the monuments, etc. Took a ride down to the old home of General G. Washington. About half of the metro area had the same idea, but it was cool. Flags on bikes, flags on people, etc. As I threaded through the crowds, courtesy was much in evidence. People not jovial, but not grim either. Reassuring to see the symbols -- the Washington Monument, the Jefferson, the Lincoln, the Capitol, other landmarks. From where I could see the Pentagon, no damage evident, which was as it should be. The weirdest was National Airport. There is much natural beauty right there, but it's usually too noisy to appreciate. On Saturday, though, under the cloudless sky, the silence was striking. A couple of cyclists tooled around the airport roads. Very strange. I heard that it may never reopen.
We like to do that ride when the weather is bad.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 8:39 AM
Otherwise the Mount Vernon trail is way too busy. We commute on it every day between the 14th Street Bridge and Key Bridge. It is always crowded in good weather.

Did you see the letter to the editor in the Post this morning thanking WABA for the trail. Seems lots of people used it to exit the Pentagon and National Airport on Tuesday.
Good climbing within a day's drive can be found...DT
Sep 17, 2001 8:40 AM
...near Asheville, NC. My wife and I lived in NC for three years (unfortunately the Air Force has moved me to the middle of Nowhere, Mississippi, but it's for pilot training so it's ok) and we went to Franklin, NC, a few times for mini-vacations. There's great whitewater rafting there, and some awesome road riding. The Blue Ridge Parkway ends in Cherokee, NC, just up the road from Bryson City, and it's smooth roads, no litter, great drivers (the few you see) and climbs that go from 2,000 to 5,800, then back down! Unfortunately, my wife and I didn't buy our tandem until we got to Mississippi, but we're planning on taking it back there next summer. Happy riding!
6 miles shorter than usualMe Dot Org
Sep 17, 2001 8:43 AM
The Golden Gate Bridge is closed to bicycle and pedestrian traffic. You are shuttled across by standby tow truck drivers.

Bridge is about 1.5 miles long. Figure 2 round trips.
Wow, closed to bicycles?MB1
Sep 17, 2001 8:48 AM
Here in the District there are a lot of places blocked to cars but bikes and peds get through fine. The police are nice to us.

This weekend one of our rides went down to a dam above the Potomac. It was closed and guarded. Amazing what is going on. Wonder when/if things will calm down?
Did my first century...Horace
Sep 17, 2001 8:43 AM
this weekend. I work downtown NYC, and it was good to get myself away from the TV and all the bad news for a couple of hours. I was going to back out, but my wife pushed me out the door Sun. morning. She made the right move. Started out chilly (40 degrees) but warmed up to over 70 later in the day. Hardly any flats, a few medium climbs, and the rest rolling hills (with some serious rolls). I also felt stronger the last 20 vs. the first 20, and completed my ride a litter over 6 hours (ride time). Only downer was when I asked a fellow rider at a rest stop (not in the middle of his ride) to use his frame pumpt to "top off" my tire after a previous flat. His reply was "no, I'm about to head back out and don't have the time". I let it go and didn't reply since I probably wasn't worth my effort (we all know it doesn't take more than 30 seconds to top off). All in all, at least I was able to clear my head for a few hours and actually do something which (for me) was a personal accomplishment.
Did my first century...Akirasho
Sep 17, 2001 9:16 AM
Good Job Horace!

We abide.

Remain In Light.
world's worst start to a centurycory
Sep 17, 2001 8:52 AM
Planned to ride the Fall Sierra Century in Mammoth Lakes, near Yosemite. Got off early in a paceline with a couple of people I'd just met, good guys and a little faster than I was, so I was looking and feeling great at 12 miles when I ran through a patch of thorns and had two, count 'em, two flats. Swapped in both my spare tubes, but I missed a thorn and had another flat (rear, of course) a mile down the road. Got that out, but when I got impatient and used a lever to get the tight tire on the rim, I caught a fold of the tube and pinched a hole in it--first time I've ever done that in 30 years of riding. Patched that, and while I was sitting by the road patching I patched another tube so I'd have a spare. First rest stop was at 15 miles, and rolling up to that I hit another thorn (this is with Armadillos, by the way, usually flat-proof). At 15 miles I'd had five flats, used both my spare tubes and four of my five patches, and then I broke my pump. I borrowed a patch, rode slowly back to the start and went to Schat's Bakery for breakfast...
Sounds like it was Humma's fault.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 8:55 AM
He started that f-word discussion and look what happened. I hope you enjoyed breakfast at least.
It is. Why should I deny it?Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2001 9:28 AM
I'm sorry (sniff). :-(
you get the "Real Cyclist" trophyDog
Sep 17, 2001 10:18 AM
That's about the worst ride I've ever heard of, short of crashing. What a pain.

I'd say you earned the "Real Cyclist" trophy for the ride.

Not much of an endorsement of Armadillos. Maybe some Slime tubes are in order for that route.

Doug
Good Climbing -- you asked for it, you got it!Greg Taylor
Sep 17, 2001 9:09 AM
You're certainly familiar with Mount Weather, aren't you?

http://bikewashington.org/routes/bluerdg/index.htm
Good ride, done it many times. nmMB1
Sep 17, 2001 9:24 AM
It would be pretty neat to start from home.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 10:21 AM
We live right behind Georgetown. Probably turn it into 200K or more. It would be nice to do it out and back in 1 day. Do you think Humma would like it?
How to get from G-town to Marshall? Looks like fun (although Ibill
Sep 18, 2001 1:02 PM
doubt that I could do the whole deal -- 140 miles at least, wouldn't it be? my wife wouldn't stand for it.)
An interesting location ...Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2001 9:31 AM
A study of old topo maps shows an ordinary mountain, but a few decades back, a square chunk showed up in the maps where part of it was taken away. That was a secret Presidential nuke bunker.

A friend of mine, who fancied himself a spy, was very interested in the site, and was planning to sneak up there to investigate, when that mountain made the news. An airliner inbound to Dulles began their descent too early and hit it. Terrible tragedy. There is scarry history on that hill.
Nothing so spectacular...Jon
Sep 17, 2001 9:55 AM
as the epic rides some of you posted. God, you guys are my heroes! Did two wonderful group rides
this weekend in splendid, warm sunshine. 110 km on Saturday with a rousing townline sprint;
75km hammerfest on Sunday with the Masters--40+ kph into a headwind. Got dropped, formed up
an intermediate group, echeloned, kept things respectable. I needed the hammer session to restore
a semblance of mental health.

BTW, can't find ANY U.S. flags or ev en pins in Edmonton. We're all sold out. To you guys in the
East, I grew up in Amish country in LaGrange County, Indiana. They're wonderful people. If more
people were like them this world would be a kind, giving, sharing place in which to live.

Kristin, your prose is lovely. Use the bike to process life's vicissitudes.
Know what you mean about those hills in Western MD.Spinchick
Sep 17, 2001 10:27 AM
I spent the first two days last week being entirely too intimidated to even get on my bike! Finally did a SLOW ride halfway around Deep Creek Lake. There is a VERY STEEP HILL on the western side of the lake (behind the ski slope). Didn't have to unclip but watched my speed waver at 3 mph. Somehow managed to keep my heart from exploding out of my chest.

Also rode the Allegheny Highlands rail trail from Confluence to Ohiopyle, PA and back. Not a very long ride (had Hubby and LB with me) but very beautiful.

I've been a little unmotivated since Saturday. Unfortunately had to attend a memorial service for a friend's husband who was one of the heroes on the flight that crashed in Somerset county. Don't panic - I'm not going to spout any political views, just feel the need to make mention of one man's bravery. Enough said, now I hope to get out of this funk enough to ride this week.
Sorry we missed you.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 10:33 AM
I think you would have enjoyed Fridays ride except we started by going up to Mt. Davis the highest point in PA. It was all downhill from there.

We also did the whole length of the Allegheny Highlands trail. At the very end we crossed over an entire valley on the old viaduct converted to a rails to trails route. Amazing.

Ride your bike, you'll feel better. Take the lil biker out too.
I'm pretty bummed about not getting to go onSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 10:40 AM
Friday's ride. I spend the entire week before looking forward to it. Even if I had decided to go, I couldn't get through on the phones. Had major trouble just getting in touch with family in the DC area.

Anyway, Hubby is definetely interested in doing the Highlands trail again. LB will be big enough for one of those tag-alongs next year. Either that or a pull-behind cart. Then maybe we can stuff a tent and a couple of sleeping bags in there with her and do the whole trail. What a beautiful ride!
We saw several families on the trail.MB1
Sep 17, 2001 10:48 AM
Surprised us since it was a weekday. Kids in trailers, the whole bit. They seemed to be having fun.

I really want to do Pittsburg to DC someday. The Highlands trail is supposed to connect all the way to Cumberland where you can get on the C&O towpath and ride right to DC. About 300 miles what do you think 2 or 3 days?
Uh, only without kids. nmSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 10:50 AM
Maybe you just need a pack llama or 2. nmMB1
Sep 17, 2001 11:04 AM
I know they can keep an 18 mph pace for 5 minutes. nmSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 11:08 AM
Point of InterestLone Gunman
Sep 17, 2001 11:04 AM
If in the Ohiopyle area, take the tour of Frank Lloyd Wright's "Falling Water" Home. It was the vacation/summer home of the Kaufmann family, a major department store in Pittsburgh. Built on top of a waterfall that runs through the house.
I've been there a few times as a kid...Spinchick
Sep 17, 2001 11:09 AM
Having grown up on a farm two miles from the Yough lake. Very cool place.
Very short; very steepRich Clark
Sep 17, 2001 2:25 PM
Since I had another angioplasty on Thursday, the ride was very short, on a gurney. The climb back always seems very steep. Worse, now, since I can't ride in this beautiful autumnal weather, at least not until the catheter insertion site (in the femoral artery, right groin) gets done bleeding.

The good news is that I was already able to go back to work today. The bad news is that I had to drive. The good news is that the nice weather looks like it may hold all week. The bad news is I'm not supposed to lift more than 10 pounds until Thursday. The good news is that I think I may be able to beat that by a day.

The best news is that I avoided bypass surgery once again. Now *that* would be some serious off-the-bike time.

RichC
The good news is that you're alive and you've gotSpinchick
Sep 17, 2001 3:36 PM
(how many?) riding friends pulling for you here. Get well quick Rich!
The good news is that you're alive and you've gotRich Clark
Sep 18, 2001 5:59 AM
Thanks. It's no big deal, this was my tenth(!) trip through the cardiac cath lab, all told. If a balloon job every couple of years keeps me from having bypass surgery, I say hand it over and I'll blow it up myself.

So I rode to work today anyway. Real slow, never let my heart rate get over 115. Avg speed 12.9 over 13 miles. Felt fine. Felt wonderful, in fact. My wife, bless her, will kill me when she gets home and sees my car there and my bike gone. But there's no blood on the chamois, and you know, lycra and padding works decently as a pressure bandage.

RichC
DittoKristin
Sep 17, 2001 8:02 PM
Gald to hear you're all right, though I'm sorry to hear about the surgery. Get well soon!

God Bless and many tailwinds to you,
Kristin
re: How was your ride this weekend? How steep was your climb?mackgoo
Sep 17, 2001 3:43 PM
Boy, my weekend was nothing like yours. I could only fit in a quick 15 miles saturday and sunday. Had to start cleaning out the cellar saturday and yard work on Sunday. I have some regular routes with a couple of fairly short may be a quarter mile but steep hills. I atacked them probably 39-17, it felt good. Did it all in the drops. I'm really enjoying just riding in the drops lately.