RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


which wheels(11 posts)

which wheelsset to buy
Sep 14, 2001 3:54 PM
Getting ready to order my bike...which wheel set would one get...
Spinergy SR-3(stock on bike)
Mavic Krysium(add $350)
Cane Creek Ti(add $250)
Campy Electron (add 200)

This is going a Ti Bike with Campy Record 10. I need a wheel that can stand up to real shitty roads. Any comments would be a help or suggestions for any other wheel set I may not have listed. Thanks
re: which wheelsElefantino
Sep 14, 2001 4:24 PM
Personally, I wouldn't waste the extra money for expensive wheels on really lousy roads. I hate truing wheels. And I've heard mixed reviews (first-hand, from riding buddies) about Spinergys, both their durability and service. If I was starting from scratch, on bad roads, I'd order Mavic Cosmic Elites. Light and absolutely bulletproof. A LOT cheaper than the others, too.
I'm riding Rolf Vector Comps now, but I have good roads.
FWIW.
Ksyriums have held up . . .DCW
Sep 14, 2001 4:30 PM
for me without fail or need of truing for about 3500 miles now. My roads are generally good, but these wheels have taken some big hits without a problem. I weigh 175. I find them very comfortable and at least imagine a big difference from my former Open Pro/Chorus wheels. I bought my K's from Total Cycling, with the Campy hub and cassette for a delivered price of about $540.
Ditto that.look271
Sep 14, 2001 5:07 PM
I have about 4k on my Ksyriums and since purchasing them, have had to true them only 1x (due to some loose spokes from Mavic). Roads around here are generally shitty and I seem to have a knack for finding every pothole in the road. I weigh 185. Buy the K's.
re: which wheelsnerody
Sep 14, 2001 5:09 PM
I have ridden Ksyriums this spring and summer in New England and I weigh 200+ and have hit some bads roads this year and they have not missed a beat. (I must admit I think they are a bit overkill since I don't race and I am by no means a good rider!)
I'm overruled. The Ks have it.Elefantino
Sep 14, 2001 6:28 PM
ANOTHER IDEAFASRNU
Sep 14, 2001 11:08 PM
Check out bike.com article comparing K's to Nucleons,Palermos,Shimano,Mavic CXP-33/Chris King Hubs 28 hole. and the price rang $499-$1800 on durability,performance,weight and over all winner.

WHY NOT HAVE A CUSTOM BUILT SET OF WHEELS FOR YOU TO TRAIN RACE RIDE WHATEVER YOU WANT TO DO ON THE ROADS YOU RIDE ON i BOUHGT MY CUSTOM SET WITH MAVIC CXP-33 32 HOLE AND HUGI HUBS COMPATIBLE WITH CAMPY AND LIGHTER THAN KINGS FROM JOE YOUNG AT YOUNGWHEELS.COM. 210 LBS
BIG GUY ON A 62CM AXIOM TI SEVEN
Opinions on Ks and Spinergyk
Sep 15, 2001 4:30 AM
I have the Xaeros and they did not need truing in over 5k miles, however, the free-hub is suspect and warranty work took almost a month to replace after myLBS guy hounded them. I thought they were great performers though, aero, stiff, smooth and light enough. I have replaced them with Ksyriums and have held up over the last month and I ride rough roads and weigh 185. Another option would be record hubs with CXP33 or open pro for easy servicibility. Look at UK shops and get them for under $500.

Sounds like a nice rig you're building.
K's...keith m
Sep 16, 2001 7:51 AM
I got mine (campy hubs)on the left coast ten days after ordering from probikeit.com for $423. They arrived in perfect condition, perfectly true, with all warranty cards. Very nice design. These are great after all the problems I had with the SR-3's. I really like the way they respond to sprinting and climbing. Also like no messing with rim tape anymore.
K's...Starliner
Sep 16, 2001 8:37 PM
How did you get them for $423? You sure it's not 423 pounds? The site currently lists them for $509 after money conversion - still a good value.
K's.../I think that....TC
Sep 17, 2001 6:03 AM
they realized that they were so low and getting gobbled up that they could afford to raise their prices and be a little more competitive with the other retailers. I got mine for $423 US dollars as well.

TC