RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Look pedals(9 posts)

Look pedalsI Love Shimano
Sep 13, 2001 11:28 PM
I've read so many rave reviews about Look pedals. I read that they are easy to get into and out of, but why are they so popular? They're heavier than Shimano or Campy pedals and much more expensive than Shimano's Ultegra/105 pedals. I know Looks look very cool, but that does not justify their cost, AND it looks like they don't have as much ground clearance as Shimano pedals when cornering.

I have never used Looks, but am considering purchasing a pair and need to know if they will give me any more advantages, that's why I am asking this question.
re: Look pedalsAkirasho
Sep 14, 2001 4:05 AM
LOOK pedals have been around for a while and they work. They're not perfect, but many folks have been using them for years... and have no reason to change.

Also, LOOK pedals come in several flavors... not all are expensive (relatively speaking).

Cornering clearances are generally a concern to Crit style racers... most mortals will never lay a bike over that far.

Weight is relative (relatively speaking) and may not be a concern for everyone.

LOOK replacement cleats are readily available. Most shoes accept LOOK drilling.

One downside... the cleats don't wear well if walked on (a bit of a trick in and of itself) but then, you should be riding anyway.

I use both SPD MTB (on road and MTB) and LOOK systems... I like them both.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: Look pedalsdzrider
Sep 14, 2001 4:58 AM
I'm a long time user of Look pedals. I like the large pedal surface which distributes pressure over more of the foot so I don't get hot spots. Except for a few spins on friends' bikes I have little basis for comparison, but I did find that Speedplays put a lot of pressure on one spot. As an older rider who doesn't race, I'm willing to pay a little more for lighter components but will never give up comfort to save weight.
re: Look pedalsBrian_R
Sep 14, 2001 6:23 AM
I too read the reviews of Look pedals and decided on them for my first road bike. I have SPD's on my mountain bike and have been plenty happy with those.
After 2 weeks (approx 150 miles) I am very pleased with the Look pedals.
As another reply pointed out walking is very tricky with the Look cleats. I went with Look Carbon bottom shoes as well. I am also very pleased with those.
Check out www.supergo.com. They have a good deal on those shoes.
re: Look pedalsDINOSAUR
Sep 14, 2001 7:31 AM
I would suspect that Looks are so popular as they were the first clipless pedals. I tried SPD's and didn't feel comfortable with them. I don't think appearance has anything to do with it, when you're riding your bike who can tell what pedals you are using? They are always coming out with new models, look around for closeouts on last years models if you want to save money. I prefer Looks because they have a wide platform and are easy to engage and disengage.
re: Look pedalsjaybird
Sep 14, 2001 7:50 AM
if you are in the market for a new pair check out totalcycling.com they have the 396's on sale for $80ish! FYI that is below cost for U.S. dealers!!! The one counter point is that who knows when you will get them, given the recent attacks...
squeak!harper
Sep 14, 2001 8:01 AM
I had a pair of 396's. I liked the easy of entry/exit and the wide platform. However, no matter what I did, I could not get the left pedal/cleat to stop sqeaking. I tightened, I lubed, I used soap, I used a new cleat, etc. I finally gave up and switched to speedplays. Now, no more squeak, squeak on every pedal stroke.

Bottom line: they are good pedals, but not perfect.
check out sdeals.com and probikekit.comspookyload
Sep 14, 2001 8:51 AM
These places sell the entire range of pedals. I think the 396's were $59 for a while. They are also selling the new carbon pedal for about half of what they are in the states.
New Looks for $35 . . .DCW
Sep 14, 2001 9:43 AM
I had been using Look Carbon 356s for about five years (and 15 -20,000 miles) until I replaced them recently with Look 206s from Sierra Trading Post:

http://www.sierratradingpost.com/prod_list_display.asp?dept%5Fid=L2%7E390&dept%5Fname%5Fp=Specialty+Sports+Gear+and+Apparel&mscssid=T9XEDBVTW5SR2GG90G0KN0SFN9G8777F

The 206s are lighter and a bit smaller, but I have found no discernible difference in performance, comfort, etc. My old 356s still work fine, so they'll go on another bike. I like Looks for the same reasons posted by others -- they work predictably and easily, they're comfortable, they have float and non-float cleats to choose, and they aren't that expensive if you look around for a deal.

By the way, to greatly extend the life of the cleats and to make walking safer, buy Kool Kovers to put on them when you are off your bike.