RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Attention Gregg: Please remove a thread below...(10 posts)

Attention Gregg: Please remove a thread below...SimpleGreen
Sep 11, 2001 6:09 PM
Out of respect for those who lost their lives today, I encourage you to remove the post below titled

"you SOW what you REAP."

As much as I believe in freedom of speech, at this time it would be the right thing to do in consideration to victims and their families. Academic talk about such topics should occur in sometime far in the future.

Thanks,
SimpleGreen
re: Attention Gregg: Please remove a thread below...SimpleGreen
Sep 11, 2001 6:10 PM
Sorry the title of the thread is

" we REAP what we SOW "

My apologies.

SG
It's disgusting...but freedom of speech is freedom of speechcory
Sep 11, 2001 7:01 PM
I agree it's disgusting, and this certainly isn't the place for it--but you can't believe in freedom of SOME speech for SOME people SOME of the time.
I'm just saying let's wait a few days...SimpleGreen
Sep 12, 2001 7:45 AM
this is just respect for those who died. Freedom of speech is something I defend rigorously, but you don't argue political beliefs in the face of those who are suffering at the moment of their injury.

I'm not disgusted at the statements to the point that I want Freedom of speech eliminated for some. There is just a time and place for these theoretical discussions.

I would think that out of good judgement, we should avoid making harsh statements when the wounds are so fresh. No matter how trivial or minor, it still should wait for a day when clearer head prevail.

This is just my opinion.

SG
it's one of our most important freedoms..it NEEDS to be defendedharlett
Sep 11, 2001 8:00 PM
re: Attention Gregg: Please remove a thread below...casati_rider
Sep 12, 2001 6:02 AM
I think peace meant for "you reap what you sow" to be directed to those who are responsible for this cowardly act. Kind of like what goes around comes around. Some way those responsible will pay for what they've done. I do agree that we should be there for the victims and their families.
Why do you let idiotic comments bother you?k
Sep 12, 2001 7:12 AM
Obviously, this comment is intended to create a reaction from the over-sensitive. Just ignore it.
Perspectivegrzy
Sep 12, 2001 7:59 AM
Freedom of speech doesn't give you the right to yell "Fire" in a crowded movie theater.

To say that the thousands of innocent civilians and rescue personel some how deserved to die is unbelieveably calous, spiteful, and irresponsible.

If this board is truly moderated then the offensive thread should be removed - it's the responsible thing to do. Let people spread their hate and bile in some other forum where decency isn't a value.

It makes me sick thinking that I may know some of the people that died, but I don't know who they are yet. At a time like this hummanity is all we have.
This is probably one of the tougher aspects of my job...gregg
Sep 12, 2001 8:44 AM
...as Manager of this Site, I realize that I have tremendous power and responsibility. By power, I mean, I can decide what posts stay, and what gets deleted. By responsibility, I mean, I have a personal responsibility to the community to provide a fair, safe, and healthy environment for people to interact and commune.

The big question is, of course, "Where do you draw the line?" I always try to avoid a "heavy-hand" in the message boards when it comes to deleting posts. Of course, things such as racial threats or slurs are not tolerated. But where do I draw the line between providing a "free-speech" forum vs. allowing people to post "flame bait" or other inflamatory statements.

I always prefer to leave it up to the community, and more often than not, the community seems to "right" itself. This may seem like a cop-out, but it is not. In general, I would rather err on the side of too much free speech than not enough. People ask me, "Why is this stuff here? This is a cycling site?" But in the forums, RoadbikeREVIEW is much more than a "cycling site". WE are a online community of cyclists, and it seems only natural to me that an event as catastrophic and all-consuming as what happened yesterday get discussed on the boards. Also, as in any community, there will be certain individuals with dissenting opinions and ideas, and they will be unpopular, to say the least.

I will leave the post in question up. I know that some of you may not like my decision, but it is my hope that even if you don't like my decision, you will understand why I made it.

Sincerely,
-gregg
Thanks GreggSimpleGreen
Sep 12, 2001 12:34 PM
I appreciate your careful consideration!

...now back to cycling talk as usual

SG