RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


When do you guys drink sports drinks?(30 posts)

When do you guys drink sports drinks?Kristin
Sep 10, 2001 12:29 PM
Deh...I know, while doing sports... But seriously. When is the right time in a long ride to begin drinking your souped up carbo drinks? I usually start off drinking the stuff, then switch to water and energy bars. What works for you guys?
Any ride of 1 1/2 hours or more nmMel Erickson
Sep 10, 2001 12:34 PM
Before the start, during and right afterwards.MB1
Sep 10, 2001 12:36 PM
I've found that the right mix makes a notable increase in my comfort. I eat less food and drink more calories. Plus I am sure it aids recovery. I make a point of drinking lots of water after any long ride but the first thing I do after I finish is empty my bottles of any remaining fluid by drinking, it gets me started on re-hydrating right away.
When I'm thirstyBrian C.
Sep 10, 2001 12:43 PM
But I've always wondered if I should be drinking before getting to that point; or, holding off to a certain point during a long a ride.
Is there a "scientific" way to drink while on an 80-miler? Or is it really as simple as drink when you're thirsty?
It is too late then.MB1
Sep 10, 2001 12:51 PM
Your body can only absorb fluids at a fairly fixed rate. You can easily expire fluids (through breathing and sweat) faster than you can absorb them, if you wait till you are thirsty you are already behind the curve.

Drink, drink, drink.
consider temperature of the drink/water tooTig
Sep 10, 2001 2:50 PM
Yep, drink early, drink often.

When we need a sports drink the most is when it's warm or hot outside. Unfortunately, this makes your drink warm up quickly which makes it tougher to drink and the stomach to absorb. Tests have shown that the stomach absorbs water and sports drinks more efficiently when colder. Warmer water isn't absorbed as quick. Your body is already in need and is starting to get behind.

7% glucose is the general limit for fast absorbion of a sports drink. Much more than that will slow absorbion down and can cause stomach cramping. Ever drink a Coke at a rest stop and feel it sit in your stomach like a rock, even when resting?
"When I'm Thirsty" is generally too late...Greg Taylor
Sep 10, 2001 12:53 PM
If its going to be fast, I start before the ride, and try and drink about every 15 minutes. I even set the timer on my heartrate monitor to remind me...how compulsive is that!?
BEFORE you're thirsty!Brooks
Sep 10, 2001 1:01 PM
If you are properly hydrated before starting a ride, there's is not much need to take fluids with you for rides less than one hour in moderate temperatures. Drink well when finished. If your ride is longer, you should be drinking a water bottle (20 oz, if I recall) every hour or so. Do not wait until you are thirsty, it's too late! Without getting into much physiology, your cells need fluids for a variety of functions, not the least of which is as a coolant as energy is being released. By the time you feel thirsty, you are already in a fluid deficit and it is near impossible to make it up while still riding. I try to drink a half bottle each half hour for longer rides. Keeping on a regular drinking (and eating) schedule is a good idea. I like the Accelerade as long as it is cold (I freeze a couple of bottles) and XL1 (better taste). Good luck.
re: When do you guys drink sports drinks?Spiritual Haiku
Sep 10, 2001 12:53 PM
i'll force down a bottle of strong-mixed (per recommendation on the can) gatorade about every 90 minutes on rides over 60 miles. i'll also go through quite a bit more water during that time. of course, i'm learning as i go, but the effects of not drinking sports mix (cramps, etc.) were quite prevalent in my may century at between 70 and 90 miles. on saturday's long ride (125), i went through 3.5 bottles of strong gatorade and around 3.5 full hydration pack bladders of water ('bout 250 ounces); a little off my 90 minute per bottle goal, but it worked out fine. next time i'll drink more gatorade and less water, and mix the gatorade a little weaker.

as you've likely surmised, i'm a sweathog. :-)
re: When do you guys drink sports drinks?ColnagoFE
Sep 10, 2001 12:57 PM
For rides of less than 2 hours I just use water. Anything over that I take one bottle of water and one cytomax. Drink the water first and then start hitting the cytomax...usually with a gel after a couple hours or a clif bar. For racing it's all cytomax (mixed a bit thin) and a gel or two.
Sorry, I replied before readingMel Erickson
Sep 10, 2001 1:00 PM
I usually start drinking water first and then alternate a sports drink with water. I usually drink water for the first third of the ride and alternate after that.
Any ride over 1-hr...MrCelloBoy
Sep 10, 2001 1:04 PM
I drink water only on sub 1-hr. rides.
Over an hour I'll bring a 20oz. bottle filled with Gatorade along with my full CamelBak 100 oz. of water.
If it's HOT, I'll add 1/4-1/2 tsp. of salt to the Gatorade.
Drink it early, Kristinlook271
Sep 10, 2001 2:02 PM
"They" have found that if you drink sport drinks early in your ride, you'll last much longer. If you wait, your body has already been losing glycogen stores, electrolytes, etc. You'll be in a game of "catch-up". I usually start 15 min or so into the ride and keep going 'till I'm done. Any ride over 1 hr and I drink the stuff.
Cool...thats what I've been doingKristin
Sep 10, 2001 3:00 PM
I haven't been using a powder. AllSport (don't use it anymore) only comes in a bottle, so I've been filling 30 & 20 ouch bottles and drinking them first. Then stopping 30-40 miles into the ride to fill up with water.

I'm getting into gels now. I've eaten Power Bars at mile 45 before, but in the back of my mind, I knew it will take 4 hours to turn into energy. Therefore, at mile 45 of 70, it functions more as recovery food than anything else, no?
Before,during & after..........Len J
Sep 10, 2001 3:06 PM
I drink Gatorade. On all Rides.

A 72 ounce camelback lasts me between 20 & 35 miles depending on temp. If I don't have to pee at the rest stops, I'm not drinking enough.

BTW, I buy Gatorade mix in the large cans, (51 oz fo about $9.00 ) which makes about 6 gallons of Gatorade. I make it in old 64 Oz gatorade bottles. 2 scoops & I'm done. Cheap & easy.

Len
wow 72 ozs in 35 miles. I'm def. not drinking enough! (nm)Kristin
Sep 10, 2001 3:16 PM
Geesh! And I thought I drank alot!look271
Sep 10, 2001 3:56 PM
Usually 1 28-32oz bottle/hr for me, depending on temp and humidity and how hard I'm riding.
water hawgs unite!Tig
Sep 10, 2001 6:07 PM
Cool, I'm not the only water hawg! I use up my 80 oz camelbak by about 40 miles during 90+ heat and mega-humidity of Houston. I drop in a bunch of ice and fill with cold water to keep it cool the whole time. I haven't had any problems with lack of air circulation on my back like some people have mentioned. I also carry a polar bottle to supplement it and wash the salt from my eyes.
Like gels? Try this:look271
Sep 10, 2001 3:39 PM
http://www.hammergel.com Cheap and isn't too sweet. All complex carbs. Try the raspberry or the applecinnemon(sp?). Expresso if you need a caffeine fix! I never used to like gels until I tried hammergel. And you're right about the Powerbars (I hate them, anyway!)
Hydration or nutrition?badabill
Sep 10, 2001 2:10 PM
I was once told by a coach(not mine I'm not that fast) that if you dont have to stop to pee you are not hydrated enough:-) I drink at least 1 bottle of fluid per hr. 1 bottle of water to 1 bottle of cytomax. If im riding over 100mi I start to worry about nutrition. Power bars, figs, cookies and good old PB&J all work for me. Cytomax mixed with pedialite also works. Extran has become popular, mucho carbs. Your body can burn 600-1000 calories per hr, at that rate you need to find a way to replenish for long endurence rides.
Sports drinks are too sweet for me.Allen az
Sep 10, 2001 3:08 PM
I fill up 1 bottle with water, and the other with about 2/3 water and 1/3 Powerade. I usually drink the water first. But I rarely eat anything if I'm doing 45 miles or less.
Me, too, for most formulae, which is why I use ...Humma Hah
Sep 10, 2001 3:25 PM
... that nutty-sounding concoction, Gookinade ERG. Considered by many to taste like reconstituted sweat, it has just enough glucose to encourage absorbtion, without having a cloyingly sweet taste like Gatorade.

Gatorade wins all the taste contests done by soft-drink researchers. They sell lots of flavors. It is obvious that they consider it a trendy soft drink.
Old Euro drink trick...Lone Gunman
Sep 10, 2001 4:02 PM
Everyone has heard of this, I like to take a 12oz cherry coke and put it in a 20/22oz bottle and dilute with water. You get the carbo and caffeine in one shot plus a little fiz, if you like fiz. I usually start out drinking the sport drink of the day or my euro juice and switch to water midway on rides over 60 miles. I believe that the drink won't help your riding if you drink it too late.
The last lap turbocharge ...Humma Hah
Sep 10, 2001 4:20 PM
... that's done in the states, too. I read an interview with a cyclocrosser who uses "de-fizzed" Coke for the last lap of races.

I tried it on my 140-miler last year. It does work and it does give an alternative to continuing to down Gu on very long rides. I must say, though, that it took several days to get the fizz out of those bottles -- never can find a flat bottle of Coke when you want one.
by "guys" I take it you mean...ET at home
Sep 10, 2001 6:23 PM
you don't want Spinchick's opinion? :-)

At the beginning of your ride, the sport drink stuff may taste too heavy and sweet. You should anyway have both carbs and hydrated reserves in you from what you downed before the ride. So if you have water with you, I would start with that, assuming you're not waiting so long that the lack of carbs/sodium/electrolytes hurts you. Another alternative is to use for one of your bottles a mix of sport drink with water (possibly by adding ice that melts in it). That way you get the proper amount of sport drink concentration you need. Use the more watered down drink first since you don't need the heavy stuff right away, then use the heavier concentration later.
My new "energy drink".STEELYeyed
Sep 10, 2001 7:26 PM
12 oz. Mountain Dew mixed with 12oz. water and 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda,mix with Pedialite instead of water when riding in hot weather,it seems to work as well as sports drinks and I don't get that acid stomach feeling,take along a couple Peanut crunch Cliff bars and you are Bonk Proof!
Glucose and energy spikes and divespeloton
Sep 10, 2001 7:29 PM
Your brain functions off of glucose. Your normal range for glucose in the bloodstream is within 70-120 mg/dl. If the glucose goes above this range or below it triggers certain reactions within your body. Too high and it creates an insulin spike to move the excess glucose to your muscles and liver. Too little glucose, and your performance starts to suffer (below about 50, and see BONK). Without glucose your brain can't survive, so it tells the body that this is stupid and shuts down activity that may take glucose away from the brain. The idea of Gatorade is to maintain a normal level of blood glucose so that the brain and body can function optimally. Gatorage was formulated at a percentage of 6% glucose. It was meant to be consumed at a rate of 8oz per every 20 minutes. This dose is meant to keep a steady level of blood glucose for the brain so that the body can maintain performance. A lot of studies were done to identify this percentage to work best for the average person. What this means is that Gatorade can help to maintain the blood glucose levels at sustainable levels during exertion when used in reccomended doses. Too much and it can cause an insulin reaction that can cause a dive in performance after. Too little, and blood glucose can get too low too sustain athletic performance. Gatorade is more of a tool to maintain performance than it is too hydrate. Any additional hydration needs above the 8oz per 20 minutes are best served by water. GU and other products of the like are designed to help regulate blood glucose in the same fashion. IE- GU is reccomended per one packet per half hour. Same reasons. Again, just for regulation of blood glucose- the main fuel for the body and brain.

As a side note, other drinks of Gatorade's genre such as Powerade and the like do not contain glucose. Most of these contain fructose or other sugars as Gatorade patented glucose in thier recipe. This may contribute to other steps in metabolisation of the sugars as they are not in the form the body readily uses- glucose.

Think of Gatorade not as something you should chug to increase performance, but as a tool that can maintain blood glucose when used in certain doses. Water is still perhaps the best for hydration. Experiment in training to see what works best for you.
PS- rides below 90 minutespeloton
Sep 10, 2001 7:41 PM
If your rides are below 90 minutes, your body has enough stores within to maintain adequate energy without drinks such as Gatorade. The only advantage that I could see in using Gatorade in rides less than 90 minutes is that the drink could conserve stores of glycogen within the liver for use on a longer day.
pelotoncurious
Sep 10, 2001 11:00 PM
where did you learn all that mumbo jumbo?
pelotonpeloton
Sep 11, 2001 7:32 AM
Books, education, and coaching experience