RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


S.F. Grand Prix- a great day for Canada!(21 posts)

S.F. Grand Prix- a great day for Canada!Largo
Sep 9, 2001 4:46 PM
A great win by Hincapie, but just as impressive, to me anyway, was Michael Berry (Saturn), and Marc Walters (Nav.) getting 2nd and 4th respectivley.
Very nice course. I can't believe how steep those hills are!
re: S.F. Grand Prix- a great day for San Francisco, tooCliff Oates
Sep 9, 2001 5:12 PM
I didn't make it over to Fillmore, but I spent a couple of laps over on Taylor. I was suprised to see some of the pros easing the grade by going back and forth across the width of the road (someone please remind me what the term for that is -- my mind is mush at the moment). Broadway was also a pretty cool place to be as there was a slight hill there and the race passed through the area both in and out bound from the start/finish line.

Unfortunately I managed to have technical difficulties with an entire roll of film, one that should have included photos of the climb up Taylor and a nice shot of Lance coming down Broadway before he retired for the day. I'll post the pics I like on my site in a day or so. Unfortunately, there aren't all that many.

I had the opportunity to chat with Gregg for a while over at the Sycip booth. It was nice to meet him and to be able to put a face along with the nick. Idiot that I am, I failed to take his picture, even though I had 2 cameras hanging on my shoulder.

All in all, it was pretty damn cool. I hope the organizers can pull this off again next year.

Cliff
re: S.F. Grand PrixNiwot
Sep 9, 2001 5:37 PM
Absolutely, it was a great day in S.F. A huge, enthusiastic crowd, good cycling weather, a great course with two brutal climbs, and a great race as well. I thoroughly enjoyed it, as did everyone I talked to, from racers and other hardcore cyclists to the store owners and employees who ran outside to watch every time the race went by. We don't get many chances in the U.S., especially on the west coast, to watch a race this good in person. It was a treat.

USPS did a perfect job setting the race up for Hincapie. Of course, no other team has anyone like LA to close down a break of over 2 minutes, shatter the field, and deliver a totally-rested Hincapie to the lead group with about 50 miles to go. Saturn did a great job, Klasna was in front riding hard for all 125 miles, and Michael Barry had the best race of his life, as the PA announcer said.
"Shoelacing"MrCelloBoy
Sep 9, 2001 8:25 PM
Cliff, I think it's called that because you're zigzagging back and forth like a shoelace on a shoe.
Or "tacking" if you want to get nautical. (nm)RhodyRider
Sep 10, 2001 8:50 AM
re: a local shop owner has put a race page up...Cliff Oates
Sep 10, 2001 4:31 AM
on his web site: http://www.ChainReaction.com/sfgranprix.htm
chainreaction is a great website (nm)Steve Davis
Sep 10, 2001 8:02 AM
"Traversing" is today's mystery wordTig
Sep 10, 2001 8:50 AM
Wow, I don't think I've ever been on a road that steep on a road bike before. This photo of Liege-Bastogne-Liege must be close:
Cyclingnews.com states that Taylor is 18%. (nm)RhodyRider
Sep 10, 2001 8:51 AM
Cyclingnews.com states that Taylor is 18%.Cliff Oates
Sep 10, 2001 9:50 AM
16% actually. Fillmore is 18%. The last 300 yards of Mt. Diablo is 18% and I'm dying by the time I (slowly) reach the top. I can't imagine doing it 10 times at race speeds.
Right-o, I goofed. Steep anyway +/-2% notwithstanding (nm)RhodyRider
Sep 10, 2001 12:30 PM
It was GREAT!Warren128
Sep 9, 2001 6:34 PM
I'm tired. My wife and my cycling buddy came with me. We were there for the start at 9am, then we practically walked all the way around the course. I got opportunities to take photos from different vantage points. We didn't get back to the exhibits until the awards ceremony. I looked for Gregg, but couldn't find him. As it turned out, I decided to leave my film cameras at home, and I just took my digital. I'll post some shots and share the URL with you folks who are interested. It was amazing to see the riders struggling up the Fillmore hill. It was brutal!

What and exciting day. I hope it becomes an annual event in SF.

Warren
It was GREAT!Avanti Guy
Sep 9, 2001 7:48 PM
Cant wait to see the link to your photos, hope you got some good shots of the bikes :)...
We need more races like this in N.A.!Largo
Sep 9, 2001 6:59 PM
Wish i could have been there. S.F. is a beautiful city anyway, and this race really adds to it.
Maybe promoters will take notice as to how well this was received, and put on some other big classic style races.
Hincapie certainly showed impressive form, as Ligget might have said "George has powered away, and i don't think these two will have an answer for that".
re: S.F. Grand Prix- a great day for Canada!Me Dot Org
Sep 9, 2001 8:41 PM
I got up at 5:30 and rode to the start. If you paid $25 (proceeds benefitting San Francisco Bike Coalition) you got to ride the "short loop" - the 5 mile course. We didn't get to go up Fillmore but we did Taylor - I was huffing and puffing at the top. I passed a woman who fell because she was moving too slow - should have done the zig-zag.

Anyway, doing even part of the course gives you an incredible appreciation for the fitness of these athletes. They are demi-gods in my book.

A great day for cycling in North America. On a day where the 49'ers won their season opener in overtime and Barry Bonds hit 3 home runs, San Francisco was still buzzing from the race. The crowds were appreciative. Saturn handed out cowbells so it even sounded European. (It wasn't TOTALLY European - Robin Williams actually did some announcing about the teams from Uranus and the "Stamp Guys"), but I'd say we got a good chance at another one...
re: S.F. Grand Prix- a great day for Canada!pfw2
Sep 9, 2001 9:27 PM
Great day. My friend and I walked most of the course too, our calves were shaking at the end!

Seeing Lance come by at the bottom of Filmore after closing the gap and blowing the field apart was awesome.

I recorded the race too. Watching the last two laps right now, exciting stuff. Martin Wyatt (ABC sports director, sat between John Eustace and Jessica Grieco)reminded me of the color commentator from "Best in Show". Apart from that I'd give the coverage an A- , relatively little fluff for a network show. If they'd fixed the communication problems and given us a mute feature for the non-cycling commentators I'd give them an A+.
re: S.F. Grand Prix- a great day for Canada!Me Dot Org
Sep 10, 2001 7:49 AM
They had a big screen TV set up just south of the Start/Finish line on the Embarcardero. You could see the race, see the riders come by going south on Embarcadero, and walk back to the other side to see them coming north towards the Start/Finish. Somehow they managed to give us the KGO Feed without Martin Wyatt - just the commentary from the cycling guys at the Start/Finish - so it was kind of the best of both worlds.
re: S.F. Grand Prix-esbike
Sep 10, 2001 8:52 AM
My girlfriend and I had a blast. We started out on Fillmore where the crowds were huge and really into it. I was proud of SF for having great cycling fans. I was surprised how hard it was even for the pros to do that hill. George Hincapie, the eventual winner, said today in the paper that he hadn't seen a hill that steep before and never wanted to ride up Fillmore again! It is so steep the sidewalks are stairs.
We then migrated all over the course and cheered like crazy when Lance went by. We knew something was funny when he was leading a bridge group to close the gap on the leaders with over half the race to go. It seemed too early for him to make such a move for himself. And although we were disappointed when he had to drop out, our respect for him grew when we realized he had worked hard to help his teammate George get into the leaders group and eventually win.
some "unofficial" RoadbikeREVIEW pics...gregg
Sep 10, 2001 10:45 AM
...courtesy of our e-comm queen, Marissa, who recently bought a Juliana and now has the fever for a road bike!

The pics are here:

http://www.keemookeemaa.com/gp/gp.htm


My personal fav is the one of the homeless person. Shows a "true" side of San Francisco. And yes, that's me, the guy who looks like he shouldn't be eating any more pretzels!!

-gregg (25 lbs. over my old racing weight and counting!)
some "unofficial" RoadbikeREVIEW pics...ccsachs
Sep 16, 2001 11:38 AM
http://www.keemookeemaa.com/gp/P9090009.jpg

Nice shot. This is John and myself trying to fix the horn after we cooked it trying to get back in the race. We had stopped on Fillmore to do a bike exchange with Mike Creed of Prime Alliance and he then decided to quit. Thus we had to put the bike back on the car and we were very far off the back. Do to the numerous turns on the course, the horn was used a lot in our effort to warn the course marshals that we were coming around the corner at speed.
Saturn graciously pulled a horn from one of their display cars during the event but we never had to use it do to the race horn cooling off and working again.
Chris Clinton
Promechanics.com
My guess- traversing or switchback(ing) (nm)js5280
Sep 10, 2001 11:28 AM