RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


it's not just road rage anymore!(12 posts)

it's not just road rage anymore!rollo tommassi
Sep 9, 2001 9:06 AM
Imagine my surprise to read this today - apparently the ocean isn't even big enough for people to share.
http://www.villagevoice.com/issues/0136/baard.php
Scofflaw kayakersGregJ
Sep 9, 2001 10:57 AM
Kayakers are well known for their lawless attitudes on the waterways, running stop signs and lights etc. thereby inciting the latent rage inherent in the motorized set. A few of them have ruined it for the rest.

Seriously, this sounds eerily close to what we experience as cyclists. Thanks for the link.
Scofflaw kayakers LOLTig
Sep 9, 2001 2:01 PM
Thanks for the laugh, I needed it. This is a personal rant that I have experienced as well. I'm an avid kayak fisherman (talk about a growing sport around here!) here in Galveston Bay and have had to deal with these jerks on PWC's. They love to go around harassing people wade fishing, boats of all kinds, and even swimmers. They have F'ed me around even when surfing on a quiet beach. It's no wonder they keep getting banned from more and more public waterways. This is one group where the majority are the perpetrators and not just a minority within, which is generally the rule. They are digging their own grave thanks to the irresponsibility of their actions.
I wondered how widespread this was...rollo tommassi
Sep 9, 2001 4:32 PM
sorry to hear that you've experienced this, PLUS you have to deal with the same S** riding your bike? You get the Thick Skin award for sure!!

Is there no outdoor activity safe from jerks? *sigh*

Chalk this up in the End of Civilisation rant column...
human powered vehiclesTig
Sep 10, 2001 5:12 AM
I guess I love anything that is muscle powered! Funny how similar the trends are against bikes and kayaks/canoes. I'll chalk it up to ignorance and disrespect, secondary to the social trend of "gotta get there fast and who cares about anyone else".
jerks are everywhereDog
Sep 10, 2001 6:17 AM
There is no accounting for why jerks seem to appear in every aspect of life. From mountain bikers flying down trails at breakneck speed on their 45 pound motorcycles, less the motors, to drivers pushing their way into a line of cars in the last 10 feet of a long merge, there just seems to be no justice. It's so frustrating because we have little or no power even to get their attention, much less reform them.

Yesterday on a ride 2 pickups buzzed close to us, laid on their horns for about 5 seconds, and then flipped us off. Oh, how I yearned for a 50 caliber gun mounted on my handlebars. Nonetheless, I ignored it, but my riding buddy practically sprinted after them and yelled at the top of his lungs. I said to him, "What's the point? They're morons."

Archie Bunker, in an All in the Family episode, suggested a means of preventing sky-jacking. He said, "Pass out a pistol to everyone while getting on board a plane. No one would dare try anything." In a warped way, it makes sense. If everyone knew that everyone else was armed, for example the kayakers, the power disparity would be leveled. You buzz someone, you stand the risk of being blown away, much the way you risked getting shot for cheating at cards in the old west.

So, it's not exactly a "turn the other cheek" philosphy, and certainly not wise in reality. It's just a sentiment that seems almost prevalent, if not mandated, in today's society. What are we to do? Do we need a cop around every corner to police the jerks? It's just so frustrating.

Anyone see the movie "Falling Down" with Micheal Douglas? That pretty much depicts the extreme frustration.

Dog
jerks are everywhereLen J
Sep 10, 2001 6:53 AM
Ultimatly, all you ever have control over is how you react. (i.e. your own behaviors) Any other feeling of control is only an illusion.

I have been trying to live my life by taking the "High Ground" in the hope that some people will emulate that behavior. (i.e. influence a small group by my behavior). It sure beats adding to the "morons" group, plus I end up feeling better about me.

How is the behavior you point out any different than some of the behavior on this forum? Most of the more mature posters on this forum "take the high ground" and stay out of the s##t. (Remember the Pig)

Len
root cause is anonymityDog
Sep 10, 2001 7:08 AM
I believe that the root cause of much of life's "jerkness" is relative anonymity. When people don't know each other, much less know their families, co-workers, etc., it becomes easy to be a jerk (much like on the internet).

I encounter this daily with lawyers here in California. There are so many lawyers, judges, and clients, that lawyers seem to feel anonymous, making them practically unaccountable for their actions. They know that is is highly unlikely that they will ever encounter the same people again.

I practiced for a while in Cape Girardeau, Missouri, a town of about 35,000 people. I knew every single lawyer in the county. Both of the judges in the county came from my law firm, and one was even my room mate in law school, and I was in his wedding. There, you wouldn't dare be a jerk, as you'd be ostricized and enounter a very hard time getting anything done, much less get any breaks in court. Word gets around quickly. That pretty much keeps everything in check. Heck, I even drove differently there, as I would not want to risk angering someone who could well be on my next jury, or be a potential client. Familiarity is good.

From wave-runners to rude people on the highways, I think it's the same thing. People who would not consider butting in front of you in line at the grocery store will act like absolute jerks in a vehicle or the internet. What is there to do?

I agree, take the high road. It may well be pragmatic, if not philosphical decision. What else can you do, save for going off the deep end, making yourself and all around you miserable, attempting to stop someone or change their behavior by force? Remember the guy following the lady into her driveway? You can't win sometimes.

Dog
Agreed.......Len J
Sep 10, 2001 9:10 AM
on the Anoniminity angle. Hadn't thought of it that way.

I grew up in Philadelphia, a mtro area of 7 to 9 million people. I have since moved to Easton Md, the entire county is 35,000 people. Everyone knows everyone and because of that I think people are much friendlier. Like you said, the cost of rudeness is high in a small community. It becomes self-policeing.

In terms of not being able to win sometimes, I think it comes down to your definition of winning. For me, any day that I'm proud of my actions, is a day I've won.

Thanks for th insight.

Len
Nothing pointing a gun at them won't fix.Spinarooni
Sep 10, 2001 10:54 AM
Then when they fall off there ski in fear you can pop a bunch of holes in their craft and hopefully disable it.
jetskis, spawn of hell..dotkaye
Sep 10, 2001 10:46 AM
occasionally I go fishing in the local reservoir (Chatfield, for the front rangers), park my canoe safely inside the no-wake zone, and quietly fish. I've had these guys circle my canoe (in the no-wake zone) at high speed, generating large erratic waves which could easily swamp a canoe. Unfortunately for them I've paddled a lot of whitewater and can cope. I've also had them buzz me, while I'm 'just paddling along'. So I dare not take my kid paddling with me on this lake..
Jetskis should be limited to a few sacrificial lakes, and kept off all other waterways.
Go here for more info,
http://www.acanet.org/crwrpr1.htm

Sorry, off topic I guess, but this does rather touch a nerve..
jetskis don't kill people, people kill peopleDog
Sep 10, 2001 4:02 PM
I think it's really the same thing. Somehow jetskis and waverunners attact the thrill seeking, irresponsible, typically younger sort. But, I don't think they are inherently bad. But, we are straying from cycling here...

Dog