RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bicycleguide(12 posts)

Bicycleguidemackgoo
Sep 6, 2001 10:51 PM
Anyone remember this old rag that became bicyclist and then sadly folded. I was just remembering what a great mag. it was. Has anyone found a replcement?
re: BicycleguideAkirasho
Sep 7, 2001 12:14 AM
...yep and nope...

There are a lot of good road bike mags on the market now, but most are Euro/Race centric (Cycle Sport, Cycling Plus)... 'Bout the closest domestic rag is VeloNews (which is great for what it is).

Sad thing was... I'd just subscribed (after years of newsstand purchases) a few months before they folded... got a three year run (along with "MTB")... which was covered by a subscription to "BIKE" magazine... kinda like ordering a Lexus and getting a Kia.

I'm glad I saved every issue from the past (circa '95). I've even seen copies of "Winning" offered now at a premium... also a good overall race rag (I've got a few of those tucked away too).

I currently subscribe to "Bicycling", "Mountain Bike", "Cycle Sport", "Cycling Plus", "VeloNews", "Inside Triathlete", and "Triathlete" magazines... I still miss "Bicycle Guide/Bicyclist" magazine.

It's still kinda kewl to get out an old issue and read a review on the new Shimano 8 speed drivetrain... or the inexpensive $3000 titanium bike.

Now, talk about a rag that showed potential... how 'bout "Road Bike Action"?

Be the bike.
re: Bicycleguidemackgoo
Sep 7, 2001 12:37 AM
Do you have the issue of bicycleguide where they did a road test, or at least a riding impression of the Bianchi Ti Megatube? Should have been in 96 some time.
re: BicycleguideAkirasho
Sep 7, 2001 4:04 AM
...I've got mags from that era... Were you looking for the info??? If so, I'll try to dig it up.

Be the bike.
re: Bicycleguidemackgoo
Sep 7, 2001 11:19 AM
Yes I was. If you could find the test on the Ti Bianchi that would be most appreciated.
re: megatube testbattaglin bob
Sep 7, 2001 8:21 PM
got it. never throw anything away. will try to scan and post soon. loved the old bg. winning and roadbike action were also great. can't stand bicycling.
re: megatube testmackgoo
Sep 7, 2001 10:39 PM
Could you please E mail me a copy? mack.goo@verizon.net
re: megatube testmackgoo
Sep 8, 2001 10:53 PM
Just want to thank you for the E mail. Although your E mail doesn't seem to be the same as your "handle" I assume it was you. If not thanks to whom ever sent the article.
it was OKJack S
Sep 7, 2001 4:26 AM
I was just looking at some old issues... OK for a general bike mag, and better than anything out today (not counting the ones that focus on racing). perhaps it is true that absence makes the heart grow fonder?
Great ReadJon Billheimer
Sep 7, 2001 6:53 AM
I loved Bicycle Guide, its format, readability, concise yet in depth info. The Euro mags are good
but not as quick a read. Velo News I suppose is the next best thing, but is not quite as feature oriented,
focussing more on racing news--which is its purpose.
re: Bicycleguidemickey-mac
Sep 7, 2001 8:38 PM
I always enjoyed BG. One good issue I remember was the "Steel Shootout" review where they did a fairly detailed comparison of about five or six steel frames. That must have been '93 or '94.
re: BicycleguideRich5312
Sep 9, 2001 1:24 PM
Patrick Brady, one of the former writers at Bicycle Guide/Bicyclist, runs a web site for roadies at http://www.asphaltmag.com/

Rich Marinangeli