RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What defines a "real" biker vs. a imposter?(29 posts)

What defines a "real" biker vs. a imposter?Indiana Rider
Sep 6, 2001 10:48 AM
I am always intrigued by the "real biker" would or would not do this or ride that... I am just curious as to what a real biker is by everyone else's standards. I am 38, have been riding for about 5 years... 2 years I rode and raced in a local off road series... now that I ride only on the road, I just completed my first century. I see anyone who enjoys being on a bike and rides as often as time, family and work permits, as a real biker.
Not so much "real" vs. "imposter" as...RhodyRider
Sep 6, 2001 11:00 AM
...levels of snobbery, in my opinion. I think your comment about riding as often as time/family/work permits is spot-on and is good enough to use as a definition. Where this gets gray is when people start calling others "fred" because that person doesn't have the latest high-zoot trinkets or a full-on race bike or shaved legs or what have you. The snobs will always look down their collective noses at the guy on the old bike with tube socks & tennis shoes on, but that doesn't make them "real" and him an "imposter." Just makes them snobs. My US$0.02 worth.
no, I think that's too restrictiveET
Sep 6, 2001 12:52 PM
Riding as often as time/family/work permits? I take my cycling seriously, want to improve, am willing to work hard at it, tackle the hills many others avoid, want that workout, enjoy that leisurely and scenic ride. But honestly, I don't want to be riding every spare minute. Dare I say it, but I don't love cycling *that* much. I have other interests too. Am I an imposter?

But take the guy with the super-expensive bike who sits there all day admiring it and showing it off to others and rarely rides, well, in my view he is at least in part an imposter, even though he occasionally rides. But let him be. What's the big deal? It's not exactly the crime of the century.
Anyone who has the desire to call themselves one is a real bikerspookyload
Sep 6, 2001 9:53 PM
Lets face it, calling yourself a biker isn't going to put you in the highest echelon's of society, so if you like bikes and want to call yourself a real biker have at it. One person might think single speed MTB isn't real biking, but a die hard single speed rider would differ. Anyone who trains 200 miles a week and drives half-way across the country to race might consider himself/herself the "real" biker, but if training and racing is what it takes to be a "real biker" then just check the UCI rankings to find the real bikers not Joe Schmoe USCF racer who tries to be snobbish. Read the newest Mountain Bike magazine, and they even ask the same question. The pro's seem to think anyone who wants to consider themself a real biker is contributing somehow to the proliferation of the sport, and are all "real" bikers. You want to be one...have at it.
Once the training wheels come off you are a real biker. nmMB1
Sep 6, 2001 11:08 AM
The Little Biker would beg to differ... nmSpinchick
Sep 6, 2001 11:11 AM
Most sorry, my mistake. nmMB1
Sep 6, 2001 11:17 AM
"biker"dug
Sep 6, 2001 11:16 AM
First of all - its "rider" not 'biker'
bikers have harleys
"biker"Indiana Rider
Sep 6, 2001 12:14 PM
I am truly sorry if offended you. I stand corrected, rider.
"biker"dug
Sep 6, 2001 1:24 PM
you didn't offend me in the least, but if your going to post the question of whos a real 'biker' at least ask it in the correct vernacular.
"rider" maybe uses a riding mower. nmcycleguy
Sep 6, 2001 6:58 PM
No such thing as an imposter...jjay
Sep 6, 2001 11:17 AM
...either you ride bikes or you don't. Who cares how fast you are or what kind of bike you ride. If you like to ride your a "real biker".
Even Pee Wee was a "real rider"!Tig
Sep 6, 2001 12:00 PM
If ya ride, you're real. From kids w/training wheels, immigrant guys who wash dishes in Mexican restaurants and commute going against traffic, MTB downhill crazies and cross country riders, weekend cruisers, BMX and freestyle riders, elite road and track racers, rocket scientists on recumbants, and so many more not mentioned, including Trolls... you name it, we are all riders.

If you have fun and/or get someplace, you're doing it right. What else really matters? OK, one other thing does matter... stay safe and alive out there.
If you ride you're real.mk_42
Sep 6, 2001 12:08 PM
I would venture to say that if you do ride you're a real biker. I think if you have a bike and don't ride you are not a biker. The nicer and more expensive the bike you don't ride is, the more you are an imposter.

_42
Not "what," who. I do. Jes kiddin. nmbill
Sep 6, 2001 12:13 PM
nm
the imposters are easy to spotDog
Sep 6, 2001 12:25 PM
...They have a Klein hanging in their New York apartment and never ride it.

Dog
Just Like Seinfield! lol (nm)UncleMoe
Sep 6, 2001 12:36 PM
This issue really frosts me!MikeC
Sep 6, 2001 12:27 PM
It's my suspicion that those who like to say that others are not real cyclists are pathetic, single-minded losers who need to get a life. They're the kind of myopic asocial pinheads whose self-esteem is so fragile that they can only define themselves in terms of something else, and can only make a mark in their tiny, vacuous universes by trying to keep others out.
I'm a husband, father, son, brother, entrepreneur, and cyclist. On any given day, I'm likely to be more one than the others. I'm a cyclist because I ride bikes and it's important to me.
If someone rides bikes and wants to call themself a cyclist, then he or she is one. If you need to differentiate yourself from the rest, say that you're a racer, (or a Cat 1 racer, if racer isn't special enough). Or say that you're an ultra rider. Or that you have no one else in your life. Or that you can quote item numbers from the Colorado Cyclist catalog.
Just don't step on MY toes, or those of any other fellow human being. OK?
You was serious about that?Dog
Sep 6, 2001 12:37 PM
I didn't think this was a serious thread. I hope you got what I was talking about.

Sort of a stupid question, really (sorry). How can anyone define a "real" anything where there is no objective criteria whatsoever, other than the obvious, which would make the "real" question pretty meaningless.

Dog
You was serious about that?MikeC
Sep 6, 2001 12:45 PM
Actually, I just decided to have a little fun. How'd ya like that "fellow human being" bit at the end?
almost had me thereDog
Sep 6, 2001 12:52 PM
Nice touch. Gee whiz, I almost thought for a minute there that we were taking all this internet/bike stuff/wasting-time seriously. I was worried that others might, too.

Dog
Bravo DougMJ
Sep 7, 2001 5:04 AM
couldn't have been put better by Wittgenstein himself!!
Real bikers ride Harleys, imposters don't. (nm)Bruno
Sep 6, 2001 1:37 PM
I don't know about thatMike
Sep 6, 2001 8:06 PM
I've seen some pretty dorky looking professional-types on Harleys in the past 10 years: the yuppie bikers who grubby guys with beards and 35 year old leather jackets sneer at. I guess one big difference between cyclists and bikers is that cyclists actually have to pedal while bikers let the motor do the work. Just about anyone with a hog and enough gas money can make it to the top of the mountain. This probably makes it a lot easier to be a "poser" in the motorcycle crowd.
Owning a bike but...Dutchy
Sep 6, 2001 5:55 PM
there are always exceptions.
A friend bought a very nice roadbike a Giant with Ultegra (not important to the story but you wanted to know). We both looked forward to him getting his first serious bike.
He had an old Biopace roadbike before this. We organised a ride together. I rode the 15km/9ml to our meeting point, he drove. He took the bike out of the boot and it had a flat, he didn't have a pump or a tube to fix it. And I only had 1 spare for myself. So we walked to a bike store and bought a tube and i fixed the flat for him. So were ready to ride. Well he didn't eat breakfast and felt like an early lunch, so we rode 2kms to a pasta place and had lunch. During lunch he said he felt like a gelati (icecream) so we rode another 2kms to the cities main eating strip. After the gelati he said he felt tired and wanted to go home. He put the bike in the car and I rode home. I was gone for 3 hrs and rode a total of about 35kms/22ml on a perfectly clear sunny day. Needless to say we don't ride together anymore even though we are still friends. He likes to ride to coffee shops and pasta places I like to ride were there are only empty paddocks and miles of rolling hills.

Does this make him a poser, I don't know but it's pretty close to being one.

CHEERS.
re: What defines a "real" biker vs. a imposter?bsenez
Sep 6, 2001 10:08 PM
I consider a cyclist someone who loves everything human powered with two wheels from a 16lb colnago to a 60lb brooklyn downhill bike. When I am out riding though i look for a helmet. If somebody is wearing a helmet they are serious enough about bikes to understand safety risks, etc. I don't really consider people who ride huffy's because they are to poor to afford a car riders, because if they did get a car they bike would immediately stop being used. I'm not saying that people on huffy's can't be real riders though :)
re: What defines a "real" biker vs. a imposter?zero1
Sep 7, 2001 4:19 AM
you must live in macon, ga...you would not believe the so called pro bikers and runners here that would not give u the time of day....that's why i enjoy going out by myself so i do not have to listen to all the ego's...looks like to me if u just enjoy biking you are a "real biker"
Real Biker = Roadbikereview PosterGW Rider
Sep 7, 2001 5:10 AM
If you post here, then you are a Real Biker (otherwise known as a bike rider).

just kidding.

Just Ride.

Keep the shiny side up and the dirty side down.
Biker? No good. No good.9WorCP
Sep 7, 2001 7:42 AM
That's what my mom calls me. I am a "cyclist."