RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Next Tag sucks, classifieds are ruined!!!(11 posts)

Next Tag sucks, classifieds are ruined!!!trike
Sep 5, 2001 8:09 AM
This used to be a cool place. Not anymore.
How long did you expect to get something for nothing?Alex-in-Evanston
Sep 5, 2001 8:35 AM
Three lines in the Evanston Review classifieds costs $24 for a 3 week run. Evanston has 72,500 people, 2 of whom might be in the market for an expensive 58cm road bike.

Classifieds here cost $3 and touch thousands of people who like high end bikes.

I think it's still a no-brainer.

Alex
Nextag is soon buying out the message board and it will costBill in Palo Alto
Sep 5, 2001 8:47 AM
$.14 per posting. It takes 5 minutes to log in if the server isnt too busy and you have to leave your CC #. How long did you think you could post for free??
re: Next Tag sucks, classifieds are ruined!!!raboboy
Sep 5, 2001 8:43 AM
how about some cheese with your whine?
indeed, but...bn
Sep 5, 2001 8:54 AM
the real problem is that (I bet) traffic is waaay down due to the more complicated format. That means selling isn't nearly as easy or fast anymore. I know I don't go there as often.
I'm afraid this is a case of new and improved being worsebianchi boy
Sep 5, 2001 10:17 AM
I don't mind paying RBR for ads, but the new system just doesn't work. It takes forever to load the page and look at ads now. I don't have time for it. Plus it's full of commercial ads, which weren't allowed before. Previously you could scroll down the ads fairly quickly looking for stuff you might be interested in. Now it takes so long just to bring up the page that it's just not worth the trouble. If you actually take the time to look at an ad, there's very little information and then it takes forever to reload the main page again. Forgettaboutit.
It's designed for...Andy M-S
Sep 5, 2001 12:21 PM
Commercial ads. Look at the pricing structure. And aside from looking at the "unclassified" today's ads, there's no way to pick up new ads.
I want to no the numbers of visitors before and afterIT SUCKS NOW!
Sep 5, 2001 2:05 PM
the change on the classifieds. Its gotta be a drastic difference.

Greg, can you answer us that??
re: One improvement they needJP
Sep 5, 2001 2:12 PM
In my opinion the best improvement they need right now is put the classifieds newest to oldest. This would save time for everyone that is looking for an item. Doesn't make sense to have them oldest to newest.
re: One improvement they needtrike
Sep 8, 2001 5:44 AM
I think that the $3 should be added to the advertised priced and passed on to the consumer like any business person would do.

Taking one dollar off your asking price and tacking on three more for a net gain of $2 is a fair way to distribute this unfair cost.

When they were free classified there was some abuse by posters but in the main they were a fun and valuble resource, now they are an invasive pain in the neck.
My complaintno excuses
Sep 6, 2001 7:42 AM
Is that the location identifier is gone. I found my bike in Baltimore when I ran across a hometown ad. Yes, it was a needle in a haystack, but it worked for me.