RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The endorphins arent happening the way they used to.(31 posts)

The endorphins arent happening the way they used to.Thioderek
Sep 4, 2001 10:46 AM
I went out for a ride Sunday morning. It was the toughest thing I have ever done-mentally. I did that huge ride 3 weeks ago (230 mile solo ride) and just have not been able to do anything serious since then.

I have only hit the gym 3 times in the last 2 weeks and didnt even ride my bike last weekend. It was a wierd mindset I was in.

I literally forced myself to get out of the house at 6 in the morning to ride. I fought with myself the entire time I was getting ready. Even as I was riding down the street on my way out, I had this idea in the back of my mind that I should just turn around and climb back in bed. I forced myself down the street out onto Long Island.

At 20 miles I said to myself that I could turn around and that 40 miles would be good enough.

At 40 miles I told myself that to turnaround then would be a sufficient ride.

I just had to keep fighting myself at these times. I dont know what it was. I ended up turning around at the 80 mile point and heading back home. This was the best part of my ride-heading home. I walked into my apartment exactly 8.5 hours after I had left. That means with all the compulsion to turn around, I had still handled a 20 mph average (160 mile round trip-I was off my bike for at least 30 minutes along the way). I dont know what has come over me, but the endorphins are taking longer and longer to kick in these days.

Anybody else have weeks or rides like these?

Maybe its the solo aspect of the ride?

This really looks like a stupid post.
Not stupid - you just need a change.Spinchick
Sep 4, 2001 10:59 AM
try riding in the dirt/mud. Something about getting back to nature. If possible, find a llama to race...
Trollman thinks you need a sponsor....Thioderek
Sep 4, 2001 11:03 AM
Trollman finds your stats inpressive:

160 miles in 8.5 hours.
Trollman = Thioderek?????Spinchick
Sep 4, 2001 11:07 AM
Are you reading the Troll's mind or are you impressed with your own stats? Nothing wrong with that - they are impressive.
yah...but who is thioderek?Vladamir Nabokov
Sep 4, 2001 2:26 PM
methinks trollman is still safe
Thioderek = Trollman = Vladimir Nabokov?Spinchick
Sep 4, 2001 2:58 PM
Just fishing...
EXACTLYnm
Sep 4, 2001 3:22 PM
nm
Has Trollman been outed? Did Thio forget to change names? nmBrian C.
Sep 4, 2001 11:14 AM
BUSTED!!!Jack S
Sep 4, 2001 11:22 AM
Bet we don't hear from either for awhile........ He's been trying to stir it up on the mtbr boards, but got flamed instead.
AHA! nmjbrown2036
Sep 4, 2001 11:32 AM
vely intelesting. nmSpiritual Haiku
Sep 4, 2001 11:43 AM
Doh!Mike
Sep 4, 2001 11:44 AM
Now that's funny. I've got to create another poster to start lauding my own accomplishments. :-)
Compl-o-menting his own self even! (nm)Kristin
Sep 4, 2001 12:09 PM
Identification VerifiedKristin
Sep 4, 2001 12:29 PM
I did a little sniffing when Trollman first appeared on the scene, but was unable to link his IP to another screen name. Now, thanks to his goof, he's totally busted. Thioderik does in fact = Trollman. Bummer dude! And how humiliating...you were responding to your own post.

Just kidding. I hope you can laugh at this and don't bail out!
I think it's sad ! nmLive Steam
Sep 4, 2001 12:33 PM
Identification VerifiedD'Ohhh!!!
Sep 4, 2001 1:03 PM
He admits all, and continues to flame away on the mtbr board.
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ee7eb21
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ee7e9cf
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ee7eb31

Whatta psycho.
If you ride that much, you have some props with me. nmMB1
Sep 4, 2001 1:19 PM
man, that's embarrassingDog
Sep 5, 2001 6:12 AM
Wow. That's ugg-a-lee.

Don't many of us fear that there really are only about 5 posters here with many stupid pseudonyms? I think it would be nice of the site could require a single handle, and not permit changes from an IP, at least without showing a history or something. This is just plain stupid.

Dog (you know who I am)
Hey, Kristin, how do you do that?Mike
Sep 4, 2001 4:57 PM
I mean identify a poster through IP? Is there a quick and easy way a technophobe can do it?
I could tell you, but then I'd have to kill you...Kristin
Sep 5, 2001 8:39 AM
Really, its an inner-circle type trade secret. If you can identify someones IP, you can also snoop out their domain. You may discover where they work and perhaps surprise them with a phone call. (Though asking for, say... "Trollman"... might not get you far.) These techniques aren't just given...they must be earned. I will tell you this much:

* Intuition is a powerful SOURCE of data collection.

That's all for now. Happy hunting!

(You never saw me, and I was never here)
How would you kill me?Mike
Sep 5, 2001 8:47 AM
My morbid curiosity has gotten the better of me. Based on your answer, I'm wondering whether you're really the sweet woman we've all grown to admire, or whether you're a dark member of some nefarious web-connected underground. I just know that I'll be sleeping with one eye open from now on. ;-)
You just keep 'em guessing, Kristin ;-) nmSpinchick
Sep 5, 2001 9:52 AM
busteddug
Sep 5, 2001 5:55 AM
Dug think you an annoying jerk.
Dug glad you got busted
Dug wish you ride off a cliff
have a nice day
the worst thing about this...Dog
Sep 5, 2001 9:51 AM
I think that the worst thing about this was not the fact that "Trollman" was outed, the fact of using multiple handles and getting caught, nor the fact of generally being annoying.

The worst thing was setting up a post and then congratulating himself. That it just wild. That's dumbfounding. How could someone be that bored and needy? It's painful to watch.

Dog
I get stale sometimes too..........Len J
Sep 4, 2001 11:29 AM
usually a break helps.

In reading your post, I couldn't help remembering the difference between rides I started out with a positive attitude versus those I have to push myself to do. It seems like when I have to push myself, everything hurts more, everything is a bigger effort. Contrast this with rides that I am juiced for, nothing hurts. For me, its all mind games.

I am impressed that in spite of feeling uninspired you still did 160 miles. That is impressive mental discipline.

Based on my experience with feeling this way (which has nothing to do with riding 160 miles in one sitting :)) I would recommend some variety in your training. Try something different, Group ride, fun ride, ride somewhere you want to go that you've never been before. One other option is to set a goal that means something to you, for me this is the easiest way to stay motivated. Sounds like you just need a recharge.

My .02
Len
You're a figment of your own imagination. I am sure .....Live Steam
Sep 4, 2001 11:39 AM
your endurance rides are too!
Get dirty boy, it is your only hope.MB1
Sep 4, 2001 12:52 PM
A change is all you need.

Some off pavement riding with your on pavement bike could change your attitude in a hurry. The world goes by at a whole different pace and looks and feels different too. Plus a whole lot less cars.

BTW I have gotten very fond of the Trollman, I hope he doesn't go away.
I am almost sorry he's been outed...Spinchick
Sep 4, 2001 1:48 PM
it was kinda fun to keep guessing.
He was/is harmless enough ... just a bit annoying at tmes nmBrian C.
Sep 4, 2001 1:52 PM
"Hello, Moe's Tavern?"Barney Gumble
Sep 5, 2001 9:16 AM
Bart: Is Jacques there?
Moe: Who?
Bart: Jacques, last name Strapp.
Moe: Hold on. Jacques Strapp! Hey guys, I'm looking for a Jacques Strapp!

Later:

Bart: Hello, Moe's Tavern?
Moe: Yeah, Moe speakin.
Bart: Is Seymour there? Last name Butts.
Moe: Just a sec. Hey is there a Butts here? Seymour Butts! Hey everyone, I wanna Seymour Butts!
Moe: Hey wait a minute! Listen you little scum sucking pus bucket. When I get my hands on you , I'm gonna pull your eyballs out with a cork screw!

Homer: You'll get that punk someday.
Moe: I don't know, he's tough to catch. He keeps changing his name
"Hello, Moe's Tavern?"deke
Sep 5, 2001 9:20 AM
What about Mike... Mike Hawkertz. Doh!