RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Need your opinion on this...(10 posts)

Need your opinion on this...JP
Sep 4, 2001 8:42 AM
Found this deal recently and wanted to get an opinion on the setup.
2001 Cannondale CAAD5 R3000si frame and slice fork. Record intergrated headset. Full 2001 chorus 10SPD groupo (cranks, cassette, Ti seatpost, deraileurs, etc.)Cinelli nerve bar, Fizik Pave Ti saddle. Wheelset:Record hubs with Sapim C-Xray spokes, Campy Barcelona tublar rims (includes extra spokes for future repairs). Two sets of tires (Conti sprinters & Vittoria Corsa CX) Newly built with about 300 miles. All this for under $1800. Good buy or not?????? Leave your comments here, thanks.
My opinion...MrCelloBoy
Sep 4, 2001 8:51 AM
DON'T like integrated headsets, lots of nice parts there, I wouldn't buy it but I'm not a racer.
My opinion...pmf
Sep 4, 2001 11:27 AM
Yeah, you just own an $85,000 tandem.

It sounds like a good deal to me. I'm not fond of aluminium frames though. Its only a good deal if its a bike you want anyway.
Nuh Uhhhh!MrCelloBoy
Sep 4, 2001 1:58 PM
I also own an ibis road bike (steel) and a Gary Fisher Sugar 2 (Aluminum FS). I also own 2 wool jerseys! I'm a combo-retro-grouch-new-age-geek!
re: Need your opinion on this...DINOSAUR
Sep 4, 2001 8:55 AM
It sounds like a heck of a good deal to me. I'm not sure on the wheels, dunno if I would want tubulars...
Sounds too good. Is it hot? -NMTig
Sep 4, 2001 10:01 AM
NM
Sounds too good. Is it hot? -NMJP
Sep 4, 2001 10:17 AM
I don't think the bike is hot. I have spoken to the person on the phone. Was built this past spring while working at a shop. Seems to be legit. Doesn't have the time to ride it and wants to get some $$ out of it.
Buy itMike
Sep 4, 2001 10:22 AM
I'm not a huge Cannondale fan, but I'd buy it. Like Dino, I wouldn't want tubulars, but this is such a good deal that you can spend a few hundred for a set of Open Pros laced to a Chorus or Record hub and still come out ahead. If you feel comfortable with the seller, grab it before someone else does.
Wait, I'll say it before someone else does: IF IT FITS (nm)Mike
Sep 4, 2001 10:23 AM
nm
Buy it!!!!!!! nmJon Billheimer
Sep 4, 2001 10:24 AM