RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Here ya go! I dig the(25 posts)

Here ya go! I dig theLazyrider
Sep 3, 2001 1:29 PM
new look. What do you think DogB? You know how I value your opinion. Great bike IMO.
I'm not DogB, but that frame sure is beautiful. (nm)Allen phx
Sep 3, 2001 1:35 PM
My opinion.Dog Breath
Sep 3, 2001 2:12 PM
The graphics remind me of my Colnago Super. It would look even better painted with polished stays. Litespeed should have come up with this classic look years ago. They were probably inspired by the $995 Macalu they are making for excelsports.com. It has got that "Italian Mystic" look, like iridefar and roadie77 referred to.
Hmm...joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 3:12 PM
Not my cup of tea.

Are you getting one of those?

I prefer that Macalu.

I think that litespeed should anodize their frames and have the graphics reversed out of them. That would be really beautiful...Shouldn't add too much more to to already stratospheric price right?

What do you think?
Lemond already has this look...Lone Gunman
Sep 3, 2001 4:01 PM
Lemond already has the frame out that looks like that.
Lemond already has this look...LC
Sep 3, 2001 4:11 PM
The Litespeed is really ugly, like the sticker was just slapped on as an after thought. Your right it reminds me of something from the early 80's that Lemond would wear.
I heard Lemond is now Le "round"joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 4:33 PM
Kind of OT but has Greg Lemond put on a ton of weight?
I thought I heard that he is pretty hefty now...
I heard Lemond is now Le "round"Lone Gunman
Sep 3, 2001 6:18 PM
So is King Eddie, looks like a used car salesman.
I heard Lemond is now Le "round"wysiwyg
Sep 3, 2001 7:40 PM
and both will prob kick yer arse while riding tricycles
Uh oh...joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 8:06 PM
hit another nerve?
Got a phone card? Call someone that cares...Lone Gunman
Sep 4, 2001 7:08 AM
It was just an observation, now go take your lithium and sit down.
Uh oh...joeg26er
Sep 4, 2001 7:34 AM
hit another nerve?
I would like to knowJack S
Sep 3, 2001 4:31 PM
what UCI world championship(s) was (were) won on a Litespeed, one that was clearly a Litespeed and not painted over as something else (Products Manufactured By and Branded as Litespeed" as they say). Back in the day, framemakers would not adorn their frames with the stripes unless they earned them. (Hey, kinda like jerseys!) So, does anyone know? You'd think they would use this in their marketing, but there is no info on their website. But then again, Serotta doesn't hype their win (or is it wins?).
LOL, that's not even an original trollNiwot
Sep 3, 2001 5:32 PM
Tom Kellogg posted a more articulate (but just as whiny) version of that rant on his web site a couple of years ago. Ol' Tom complained that a company should only put rainbow stripes on its bikes if a rider won a world championship event while riding a bicycle with that company's logo on the bike.

Litespeed started putting the rainbow stripes on its bikes after Lance Armstrong won the 1993 World Championship road race on a Litespeed Ultimate.

Ol' Tom whined that, because Lance's Litespeed Ultimate was painted over in the colors of Team Motorola's bike sponsor (Caloi, IIRC), Litespeed didn't "earn" the right to put rainbow stripes on its bikes. A petty complaint, IMO.

Of course, Tom Kellogg now has Litespeed build the titanium frames for the bikes he sells under the Spectrum Cycles name, so you don't hear that rant from him anymore.
Yes, it was a Litespeed Ultimate, but the oldLazyrider
Sep 3, 2001 6:20 PM
Ultimate is essentially what the Classic is now for those who don't know or even care. You care Dog, don't you?? The old Ultimate didn't have the oversize 6/4 downtube or curved seat stays and hence you have the Classic. So Niwot is on the $$. Lance won all 3 TT in 99 on a Litespeed which is something he hasn't done since on the Trek. not that it matters at this point.
Yup, it was an "old" Litespeed UltimateNiwot
Sep 3, 2001 7:02 PM
Basically, version 1 of 3 for the Ultimate. The first version is the one Lance won on in the 1993 Worlds. All the tubes are 3Al/2.5V Ti. The distinctive thing about this frame is the curved seat tube, which they have retained in the newer versions. I have one of these and it's a great ride.

Version 2 is the 1997 through 2001 model year version. It has a 6Al/4V bladed downtube and is much more stiff than the first version. It also has a cutout on the seat tube to get the rear wheel closer to the seat tube and thus make the wheelbase a bit smaller. Bigger and heavier riders (I'm not in this category) like this version because it's very strong and stiff (and a bit heavier than the first version), like the Merckx MX Leader steel frame.

Version 3, the 2002 model year version, has carbon-fiber seatstays. (I don't like the carbon seatstay trend, but obviously a lot of people are buying into it.) You can see a photo in the most recent issue of VeloNews (the one with Jon Vaughters on the cover).
Lance Armstrong won the world championship onLazyrider
Sep 3, 2001 5:58 PM
what was essentially a disguised Litespeed Classic. But he wasn't allowed to ride it as the team frame for obvious reasons. The 1999 TDF TT bike was an obvious Litespeed Blade smacked with Trek stickers. Here is an article on the Litespeed/Lance connection.

Ooltewah Bicycle Headed for Top
By JAMES BEACH
Staff Writer
Barring catastrophe, Americans will celebrate Lance Armstrong's ride into the streets of Paris today as this country's second winner of the Tour De France, the world's premier cycling event.
The cheers will be especially loud from some folks in Ooltewah who provide Mr. Armstrong with his expensive racing bikes.
Litespeed Titanium Components Inc., based in the Ooltewah Industrial Park, is one of the world's top titanium bike manufacturers, and the company Mr. Armstrong has chosen to carry him to cycling stardom.
The bike Mr. Armstrong has pedaled across Europe in his quest to join three-time winner Greg LeMond as the only Americans to grab the cycling brass ring, bears the name Trek, another U.S. bike manufacture. Trek sponsors the U.S. Postal Service team of which Mr. Armstrong is a part.
By contract, though, Mr. Armstrong, who has overcome testicular cancer, has the right to choose his own performance bikes. His choice is Litespeed.
"We're all very excited for him, and I think everyone here is rooting for him. The bikes don't have our Litespeed name on them, but they are the ones we built and Trek purchased for him. Everyone on the U.S. Postal team rides a Trek bike except Lance Armstrong," said David Lynskey, president of the family business.
Mr. Armstrong was custom-fitted for the bike by John Cobb, a Litespeed dealer, after wind-tunnel testing at Texas A&M. Mr. Armstrong, as well as other top American cyclists, rode Litespeed bikes during the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta.
"Lance was a member of the Motorola cycling team and we sponsored it in previous years, so he was familiar with the cycle. He felt like he wanted to ride nothing but the best, and asked us to fit him and provide him the equipment, and we did so," said Mr. Lynskey.
Litespeed provides these cycles free for some world class competitors, but because of the Trek sponsorship, Mr. Armstrong had to pay for his Litespeed bike. The cost is about $6,000 per bike, according to Mr. Lynskey.
"If it says Litespeed, it's free, but if it says something else, it's going to cost you. They didn't mind paying for it," Mr. Lynskey said.
Mr. Lynskey said the company, which employs about 60 workers, stays in touch with Mr. Armstrong by phone, and almost everyone at the plant feels pride to see him doing so well.
The bikes Mr. Armstrong uses are built with a special alloy tubing that is 50 percent stronger and 50 percent lighter than the standard titanium tube in most racing cycles.
Mr. Lynskey's family got into the bike business after operating a metal fabrication business that worked with titanium. The company has become known for its expertise in the metal, which is difficult to work with because of the very properties which make it so ideal for competition: light weight and strength.
Originally a maker of bike frames, Litespeed moved into making complete bikes several years ago, and the company has flourished.
so the answer is NONE?Jack S
Sep 4, 2001 7:29 AM
to quote joeg26er, looks like a nerve was hit... why do Litespeed owners/fans always get their knickers in a twist when someone questions these bikes? (in this case, just the damned stickers and headbadge!)
I've got to agree, Jack, even though...RhodyRider
Sep 4, 2001 8:31 AM
...I'm a proud Litespeed owner for the past 5 years. There are a lot of flamers on this board who like to home in on devotees of Litespeed (and Ti in general) and deliberately start s#@t. The LS/Ti people ought to see this coming and simply let it pass. For some reason, a lot of them can't, and it always turns in to a juvenile baiting and name-calling fest. Enough already! Be happy with your ride, whatever it is, or get something different. Either way, who cares what some insecure troll thinks of the brand you've chosen?!?
Lance Armstrong won the world championship onl'Alpe d'Huez
Sep 4, 2001 11:04 AM
Litespeed could have been sued by Trek for the misleading article you just quoted. In truth, Lance rode a re-badged Litespeed in the three time trials of 1999, but a Trek-made bike in every other stage of that Tour, and in every stage of the 2000 and 2001 Tours. Mr. Lynskey was a fool for placing Litespeed at risk with his deception.
Lance Armstrong won the world championship onLazyrider
Sep 4, 2001 11:48 AM
I agree that it isn't clearly stated that he was referring to only the TT bike, but I don't think it would be grounds for a lawsuit. In fact, the AP wire corrected this vague explanation shortly after stating that it was not the stage bike, but rather the TT bike only. The author may of assumed Lance rode all Litespeeds during the 99 Tour, but all 3 critical TT were won on the Litespeed. And to those that think Litespeed owners need to justify our purcahses,
I really don't care what other people think. However, it seems that LS is singled out as some type of "marketing machine" that "sold out" blah blah blah, when in fact, other companies are just as "gimmicky" or innovative (depending how you look at it) and because they are smaller in size, they don't get criticized.
C'mon now, does a Seven need carbon stays? The Odonatta been out for years and no one says a word, now that Litespeed is doing it, they will never hear the end of it. So I think, peoples persistent and baseless attacks on a company is more ridiculous and a waste of energy than my responses which are based on fact and true tests of the product. Whether all you idiots that bash the company like it or not, they are one of the best frame builders in the world (even European magazines say this) and their sales will only increase.
So when you guys state that why do LS owners feel a need to justify our purchases, I really don't see any other company garnering this type of baseless criticism. (Except C'dale). You moros should be proud of the fact that American bike builders like Trek, C'dale and Litespeed are doing so well that the bikes are winning in a predominanlty european sport.
re: Here ya go! I dig thebadabill
Sep 3, 2001 5:53 PM
Ti grey, its all the same. Boring IMHO. Take it to JB in San Diego and give it a great eye catching paint job. Still the same great ride but will have a one of a kind look.
re: Here ya go! I dig thexxx
Sep 4, 2001 6:18 AM
zzz....zzzz.....zzz.....snore. same crappy bike, new decals....zzzz....zzzzz....zzzz
re: Here ya go! I dig theprimalhare
Sep 4, 2001 9:51 AM
That bike would be really cool if you could get one of those Primal paint jobs!
re: Here ya go! I dig the...left over mongoose panels, right?cycleguy
Sep 4, 2001 7:42 PM