RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


best deal on Ultegra bike(56 posts)

best deal on Ultegra bikepeter
Sep 2, 2001 3:06 PM
I have been riding an mountain bike for years and want to go to road. I decided I want full Ultegra with trick wheels and aluminum frame with carbon fork. I do not have cash to throw around. Best deal I have found is a Primal Heat Stroke on-line at bikesdirect.com -- any thoughts on this bike at $1295?? Also I love the looks - but that can be discounted if I find a better bike for less.
re: best deal on Ultegra bikeSkunkWorks
Sep 2, 2001 6:15 PM
I like the color and graphics. I had no idea that Primal made bikes.
Peter, it does seem likegottadoot
Sep 2, 2001 7:01 PM
a pretty good deal, but you have to wait until jan 2002 first of all. The Ultegra set up and the wheels make it a decent deal, however, it is an aluminum frame which is where they can save the money.
Check out supergo.com and look at the Cervelo Prodigy. It is a very tweaked steel frame and it is also set up with ultegra and spinergy wheelset for $1399. Not too much more, but a better frame than the Primal for sure.
The Cervelo will be more comfrotable and is a real bicycle frame company that produces it. I like the white with red lettering. The Primal looks a little cheesey to me. Not so muc the color, but the graphics. The Cervelo is more classic.
But if you got the Primal, it would still be a good deal just considering the Ultegra components alone. For a hundred bucks more, the Cervelo will give you more comfort along with the performance. Trust me, the aluminum is harsh, especially cheap frames like that one.
High end aluminum isn't so bad, but you see they are softening up the rides with carbon rears nowadays for a reason. The Primal is not a high end frame but the Cervelo is knocking on the door however.
Supergo also has a carbon fiber Kestrel Talon with shimano 105 for 1399 and Ultegra for $1699 which may be worth a look. I would still get eh Cervelo though as it will be more durable. Beware of cheap aluminum though.
Questionable components and Availability of Cervelojoeg26er
Sep 2, 2001 9:22 PM
Look carefully at the components!

Cervelo has:
No Name Post
No Name Stem
No Name Brakes

Primal has:
Kore Post
TTT Stem
Ultegra Brakes

Cervelo is not even available the last I checked with supergo's site.

The Primal is a LIMITED EDITION - custom paint and graphics.

Cervelo looks like it is a Supergo closeout? (you gotta call them)
At any rate it is regular production item.

I am going to call Primal or bikesdirect.com and see if they can give me the specs of the frame and I will post it here.

If you upgrade the cervelo to match the component level of the Primal you would have to spend about $300-$400!!!

I am thinking that the Primal guys have a quality frame here and have priced it undermarket because it is their first offering in terms of bikes. Or maybe they just underpriced the market by mistake...?

ADVANTAGE:

PRIMAL HEATSTROKE

(I think the graphics are pretty cool myself...)
Wow, could you possibly be more wrong?PJ
Sep 3, 2001 5:08 PM
With all due respect, that post is an awesome display of inaccurate and misguided statements. Let us count the ways.

1. "Cervelo is not even available" -- WRONG. If you call Supergo to check (I did), they'll say you can get a Prodigy in about a week. They also said they will build it "to spec", meaning you can specify your stem length, crank length, cassette size, etc.

I bet when you call, they'll also tell you what kind of seatpost, stem, etc. you are getting with the Prodigy. The web site tells you the brakeset is Shimano Ultegra.

And since you admit YOU DON'T KNOW the specs on the Primal Wear bike, how can you possibly say it would cost $300-400 to "upgrade" the Prodigy?

As for "no name", by the way, who makes the frame on the Primal Wear bicycle? Is it a well-known builder, with thousands of satisfied customers, like Cervelo is?

Buy whatever you want. But don't spread lies about other products.
Ultegra Bike for Less...joeg26er
Sep 2, 2001 6:51 PM
Holy crap!
A limited edition bike for $1295?!
With full Ultegra and it is NOT a closeout. Seems unbelievable but - there it is.
Those graphics and color are pretty cool too.
What does it weigh?
What kind of warranty does it have?
Exactly what you do not want to hear. (What else?)Dog Breath
Sep 2, 2001 9:07 PM
http://www.gvhbikes.com/index.html is mentioned here often. Apparently he has the best price on Ultegra kits. He answers the phone and builds the bikes. Not too many shops can offer that kind of service.

The bike in the picture with Ultegra will go out the door for $1499. He puts it together just the way you want it. Cassette, chainrings, crank length, bar width, stem length, and all of the other important stuff. He allows substitutions. Most frames he stocks in one cm increments, so you get the exact size you want. The Viner frames seem cheap in terms of price but I suspect this is because he may be importing them himself from Italy (without a middleman's markup). It only means that they are a great value. He seems to have some great deals on Cinelli Al as well.

I don't know much about even Primal clothing, but my gut feeling is that there are better deals out there. A better deal may mean spending just a little bit more coin to get something you will fit you pefectly and keep you happy for a long time. It pays to shop around.

I'm not sure how Campy Veloce stacks up against Ultegra, but that switch could save you $200, and you would probably still have a nice bike.
Primal Heatstroke Graphicsjoeg26er
Sep 2, 2001 9:31 PM
Yikes- that "Viner" does not fill my cup of tea.
Those graphics are a bit euro-clashy for me.
Is that aluminum or chromoly?

If it is chromoly I am curious about the frame weight because that huge aero downtube would either have to be foil thin or be real heavy.

I have looked around pretty extensively and for an Ultegra bike with that level of components -
the Primal looks to be THE one.

And it has "THE" stem - LOL - very punny...
Primal - Good luck with it.Dog Breath
Sep 2, 2001 9:41 PM
I'm sure all the kid at the skateboard park will be mighty impressed. And it is better than a lightsteed.
Primal - Good luck with it.gottadoot
Sep 3, 2001 6:58 AM
The Primal graphics do seem a little adolescent and who knows what the frame is really like. The Cervelo has gotten great reviews if you do a good search.
DogB, as far as it beng better than Litepseed, I think you need to rethink that. I know there is a lot of negative sentiment on this board from a few regarding Litespeed, but it seems to come from people who have never owned one.
Personally, I could care less what others think of a frame, but there seems to be be a bashing of Litespeeds not because they are poor bikes, but rather because people don't like the image they seem to represent.
I own a Vortex and can say that it is one of the top frmaes in the world. Read the reviews not only in America. I believe Cyclesport did a 7 page article on this bike and the only criticism was that the author didn't own one. That is coming from a real European cycling magazine. That means much more than someones unwarranted rants on this board from people who don't even own one.
As far as the Primal, the graphics are cheesey, sorry, but the Viner that DogB posted is much nicer IMO. However, if you can put tpgether a few more bucks, look for end of season sales on a Litespeed. Like 99% of other Litespeed owners you won't be disappointed.
Christ! Now where was Litespeed anyLazyrider
Sep 3, 2001 9:29 AM
part of this discussion until Dogcrap mentioned them. Dogcrap, Mr. Value, we all know you can get 2 Tommasini's or 3 Viners for the price of 1 Litespeed in many cases. Have you ever extensively ridden or owned a Litespeed?
If not then you should shut up. Like the guy stated, the difference between a Honda and Mercedes may not be much as far as transportation aspect is concerened, but things usually cost what they are worth. If not, people would catch on and stop buying the products if they were truly not worth it. I agree that the Primal is a POS. Crappy aluminum frame with decent components. It is like polishing a turd. I also agree (god forbid) that the VIner is a better ride for the money and GVHbikes is a nice place to buy from to support the little guy. So for once I agree with you Dogcrap. However, I still say that if you were to come into a Litespeed without paying for it, you would see what I already know, but you probably couldn't bring yourself to admit you were wrong. And to Mike Mcmahon, please don't initiate another debate on whether I am Slothrider or whoever. You bring it up constantly and are somewhat harrassing.
It's not a debate--And you never responded to the $20 offerMike
Sep 3, 2001 9:35 AM
mike mcmahon
Mike, do you see howLazyrider
Sep 3, 2001 9:59 AM
predictable you are? And thanks for giving me the benefit of the doubt on the other thread when Dogcrap accused me of being that guy who also thought you were annoying. That wasn't me either and it is important for you to see that others view you in the same light as I do. Why is it that every time I post, you chime in? Jesus Christ! You are annoying. I am sorry, but I will not admit that me and Slothrider are one in the same because I am not him or her. And yes, you are a wierdo and take your $20 measly bucks and shove them up your a$$. :)
you BOTH are annoying and weirdnm
Sep 3, 2001 10:32 AM
nm
SERENITY NOW!!! SERENITY NOW!!!Lone Gunman
Sep 3, 2001 1:19 PM
Now that is funny! Just hope weLazyrider
Sep 3, 2001 1:31 PM
could resolve this before Festivus. Best show ever!!!!!
I gotta dust off the pole soon.
Now that is funny! Just hope weJack S
Sep 3, 2001 3:05 PM
I gotta dust off the pole.

Is that a reference to fellatio or masturbation?! Now THAT is funny... open mouth, insert foot. Ha ha, good one whoever you are.
Now that is funny! Just hope weLazyrider
Sep 3, 2001 3:43 PM
Dusting off the pole is a good euphamism for when I rub one out, but it was actually a Seinfeld reference to when George's creates his own holiday called Festivus and he puts up a pole instead of a Xmas tree. Dusting off the pole would work though for someone who hasn't gotten any in a long time. Like DogBreath and Mike Mcmahon. HAHAHAHAHAHA
Just kidding wierdos!!!!!!
Not that there is anything wrong with that...joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 4:14 PM
Gee- someone has been watching cinemax and cable for too long...funny though
FESTIVUS FOR THE REST OF US!!! nmjaybird
Sep 4, 2001 6:51 AM
Sorry Lazy, Sloth, Roadie77, iridefar, dog#$, Etc.Dog Breath
Sep 3, 2001 10:44 AM
It was a slip of the tongue.

How are all you guys anyway?
I will admit I posted under theLazyrider
Sep 3, 2001 11:03 AM
name Dogsh#$ as an obvious jab at your screenname. As far as the others, I assure you that I am not the only one that cannot stand you. Next, you'll be telling me I am Cliff Oates. This theory that I am the only person to use the word homo or wierdo is ridiculous. You are an a$$hole and that is obvious to me. Not saying that I don't get a kick out of your obnoxious tone, but none the less, some of my best friends are a$$holes too. Your contempt for Litespeed seems strange to me. You are either envious that you cannot afford one or you just won't bring yourself to buy one because you are a cheap bastar#. Actually, I am kidding, there are plenty of nice bikes out there to choose from, which I never knock. I wouldn't mind having a Colnago or a Seven or a high end "anything" for that matter. I just don't perseverate on the contempt for any one company. Go out an meet some friends, you are sounding more and more like a cramudgeon. Talk to you later dic#head.
Dog Breath?joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 7:20 AM
I am not too sure about ordering a bike from one guy running his own business.

I would be kind of afraid that he would go out of business and then - where would I be? SOL.

I guess you might have the same worry because look at GT and Schwinn - bankrupt and some of my friends with broken i-drive frames and no warranty.

Anyway, I guess we have different tastes -
dogbreath - you like that Viner that I think looks euro-ugly and I don't mind the Primal - that headtube looks pretty cool. That Lechampion is not as out-there as the Primal - but the stem, handle bar and seatpost aren't as good. Kind of tough to decide.

I am new to road bikes and I have never heard of Viner - what kind of company is that? How long have they been around?

I know that Motobecane has been around for a long time.
Didn't some guys win some of the Tour de France stages on a Motobecane?

Actually, cost/performance the primal or almost any other quality bike is better than the lightspeed.
BusinessDog Breath
Sep 3, 2001 7:44 AM
Gary will probably be around for longer than you people at bikesdirect.com.

You don't have to send him a deposit either. He builds the bike to your exact specs and ships it. Perfectly fitting bikes, hand assembled in the USA one by one from quality components, not something cranked out of an overseas factory. If you want a Viner in a specific color, they are available, or it can easily be ordered. My own choice would be a Viner Nemo. He sells Cinelli as well, but I guess you have never heard of Cinelli.

If someone is really interested in the Viner it is very easy to find the information. They are not a factory in China. Or just call Gary.

bikesdirect.com, etoys.com, pets.com, priceline.com. We do not need you .com people when are needs are being met by existing businesses who have gone online. Gary is just one of these people.
Bikesgottadoot
Sep 3, 2001 8:06 AM
The Primal graphics do seem a little adolescent and who knows what the frame is really like. The Cervelo has gotten great reviews if you do a good search.
DogB, as far as it beng better than Litepseed, I think you need to rethink that. I know there is a lot of negative sentiment on this board from a few regarding Litespeed, but it seems to come from people who have never owned one.
Personally, I could care less what others think of a frame, but there seems to be be a bashing of Litespeeds not because they are poor bikes, but rather because people don't like the image they seem to represent.
I own a Vortex and can say that it is one of the top frmaes in the world. Read the reviews not only in America. I believe Cyclesport did a 7 page article on this bike and the only criticism was that the author didn't own one. That is coming from a real European cycling magazine. That means much more than someones unwarranted rants on this board from people who don't even own one.
As far as the Primal, the graphics are cheesey, sorry, but the Viner that DogB posted is much nicer IMO. However, if you can put tpgether a few more bucks, look for end of season sales on a Litespeed. Like 99% of other Litespeed owners you won't be disappointed.
BusinessDog Breath
Sep 3, 2001 7:47 AM
Gary will probably be around for longer than you people at bikesdirect.com.

You don't have to send him a deposit either. He builds the bike to your exact specs and ships it. Perfectly fitting bikes, hand assembled in the USA one by one from quality components, not something cranked out of an overseas factory. If you want a Viner in a specific color, they are available, or it can easily be ordered. My own choice would be a Viner Nemo. He sells Cinelli as well, but I guess you have never heard of Cinelli.

If someone is really interested in the Viner it is very easy to find the information. They are not a factory in China. Or just call Gary.

bikesdirect.com, etoys.com, pets.com, priceline.com. We do not need you .com people when are needs are being met by existing businesses who have gone online. Gary is just one of these people.
Speaking of Spamjoeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 8:03 AM
Really dogbreath, that right there sounded like an ad for Gary...hmmm...

No deposit eh? So he ships it to you and then you pay for it?
Or, you pay all up front and wait for him build it up and send it to you? Can I pay him a little bit up front and then have him bill me the rest when it is ready?

I tried to search the reviews on this site for viner and I don't think the review search works - it did not come up with anything. Anybody got some links or copies of past reviews?

I wish I worked at bikesdirect.com - probably get some industry hook-up even better than the online prices.
Do LBS workers get good deals on bikes?

Anyone?

Anyway, I really want to get a road bike around $1200 price range but don't want a closeout.

I don't know about buying from an LBS - I am too much of a cheapskate. Those guys at the cannondale LBS weren't too friendly either.
Stupid questions. Buy the Primal. You deserve that POS! nmDog Breath
Sep 3, 2001 8:09 AM
Yikes - Hit a Nerve?joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 8:19 AM
Sorry if I hit a nerve there dogbreath.
I came to this forum to learn stuff - I did not think I would be flamed. Yeesh.

Bygones - can't we all just get along?

Dogbreath- you do bring up some good points, don't take out a bad day on us new to the road scene.

Anyhow, I am still undecided - still have to find out who makes the Primal frame.

If anyone has a line on an Ultegra bike for $1100 - $1200 or so please post it here. I would appreciate it.

Maybe someone has a used lightspeed for $1200?
Probably not but wouldn't hurt to ask.

Thanks
Questions answered (For the benefit of the sincere only.)Dog Breath
Sep 3, 2001 9:00 AM
Just giving people who want a quality bike that fits some helpful advice. Hopefully there are other establishments as good as Gary's out there. Garys does tend to get mentioned alot on the various forums. No one mentions bikesdirect.com except you and "Peter".

You pay when the bike is shipped.

www.viner.it - "Peter" was asking about an inexpensive al bike with carbon fork. This is but one suggestion. Almost anything would be better than the offerings at bikesdirect.com though.

Do LBS workers get good deals on bikes? Hell yeah.

You don't want a closeout? Now why is that? Lots of people have saved hundred on closeouts of prior year models.
joeg26er, just get thegottadoot
Sep 3, 2001 8:01 AM
Just buy the Primal. You seem to have your mind made up unless you are just trying to promote the website like the other person said.
Cost/performance ratio and bikes being "better" than Litespeeds, I question that logic. If that is the case, then any expensive bike is not "worth it" as it is not the bike that will make the rider perform better than their actual potential. If I can beat you in a race, I will be able to do it on the Primal or the Litespeed. So. I agree to some extent.
However, any Litespeed will last longer than a Primal aluminum frame. The workmanship and difficulty in working with titanium pushes the cost up as does cold working and shaping/butting of tubes.
It is a matter of taste and what you can afford. Will a Mercedes get you somewhere "better" than a new Honda Accord? No, but what are the differences then? Mercedes sells a lot of cars. Why? Because people can afford them and want something.
That is the same reason people buy Litespeeds, Serottas and Colnagos. All are raceworthy. There are a hell of a lot
more Litespeeds being raced professionally than many other frames. Things are usually cheap or expensive for a reason and the Primal is a typical cheap aluminum frame with good components. That is how they can sell it at that cost. No one is in it to lose money and that is how they are able to do it, cheap frame.
Lance Armstrong rode Litespeeds in disguise through most of the 90s untill 1999 when he won all three TT on a Litespeed in the TDF. Proof is in the winning and Litespeeds have been ridden to a lot of podiums and that is a fact. It is just that a Litespeed stem and seatpost costs almost as much as the entire Primal.
Undecided...joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 8:12 AM
I agree - I would love to be able to afford a litespeed.
Do they come in anything other than the polished?

You guys bring up some real good points.
I am still looking around and haven't decided which bike is good. I called bikesdirect and they only correspond through emails - hmmm...

That motobecane lechampion is starting to look better...

Someone said that Kinesis makes pretty good frames.
Is this true?

I wish that search function worked.
I'm voting again with Dog Breath...tirider
Sep 3, 2001 10:27 AM
...before I know it, I'll be voting Republican. I vote for the Viner. If you want flames buy a scateboard.
try looking 1 inch overpfw2
Sep 2, 2001 11:52 PM
The Motobecane has a double butted Al frame, Ultegra, carbon forks, etc for $1095.

Sorry guys, but (imho) the above post seems like a poorly disguised advert for bikesdirect. Hey, it looks like a good deal. But at least come out and say "this is us, come look at this deal", or better yet support RBR by advertising here so they can afford a decent web designer.
re: best deal on Ultegra bikeBrian_R
Sep 3, 2001 4:18 AM
You might check REI too
http://www.rei.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce3/ProductDisplay?prmenbr=8000&prrfnbr=6077595

-Brian
REI bike- pedals sold separately...joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 6:57 AM
That REI bike sounds like a good deal but it is a closeout and I wonder about the warranty on the thing.
Got a Kalloy carbon post - sounds nice but is it any good?

You don't get any pedals with the REI so you have to factor in about $100 for some?

What is the warranty on the Primal or Motobecane anyway?

I am trying to get my first road bike and these look pretty good but maybe there is something better?

I am very leery of buying a closeout bike because I worry that it will not have any kind of warranty.

Your advice is appreciated.
Thanks
Who are you exactly?Dog Breath
Sep 3, 2001 7:07 AM
Peter or joeg26er? Why are you promoting Primal here? Do we look like suckers? I realize there is one born every minute, but I doubt you will find any of them here.

Beware of Primal spam fellas!
Huh?joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 7:49 AM
Gee - someone sounds paranoid...
Relax dogbreath - the alien mother ship will soon arrive and everything will be made right.

All kidding aside, Peter does sound like he is promoting the Primal.
Funny we have not seen him around anymore. Hmmm...

Anyway, I was looking at some Cannondales today and they had a Tiagra bike for $1195 think it was the r500. Ech. Not even 105 - He quoted me another bike for $1495 - that is kind of out of my price range.

LBS said it has 5 year warranty on the frameset and 1 year on the parts.
Didn't Cannondale have a lifetime warranty? The shop guy said they never did - I could have sworn they had a lifetime warranty....

I sure as heck won't buy a tiagra bike for over $1000 - WHAT are they smoking?
REI bike- pedals sold separately...Jack S
Sep 3, 2001 10:11 AM
REI has great warranties! If you don't like it just return the darned thing. Any newbie either won't know about pedals or a veteran will already have a favorite... you can find pedals for much less than $100.

Others are right, you seem to be worried more about why NOT to get another bike (or any bike from anywhere else than bikesdirect) than why Peter should get the Primal... why don't YOU tell US what the Primal warranty is???

BTW, most LBS will try to take good care of you... fit, service, etc. Will a dot com or mailorder do that?
Not a newbie...joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 11:42 AM
Well, I am in the strange situation where I am coming from an offroad racing background and I have spd shoes right now.

Add to that fact that I am a friggin cheapskate (i squeak when I walk) and you got a guy who wants to use his Sidi Dominators (bought on sale at half price) on his road bike - if I ever sort out all this information.

Everyone is saying that the frame is a POS but I don't see any facts given. If someone has some inside information I would sure like to hear it...
"Peter"?

If I was working at bikesdirect why didn't I quickly say - "oh that is a such and such frame..." duh - because I don't and I don't know. Found out that the GT ZR2 has a Taiwan frame too. So is that a POS too? Another reason to stay away from it? Are we anti-taiwanese here? I hope not. I don't approve of anyone being exploited either...50 cents/hour? Yeesh, can that be true?

That Motobecane has a kinesis frame and fork -someone said that was pretty good. Where is that made? Any reviews on it?

I tried to call bikesdirect and they only respond to emails so I will email them about the warranty and what kind of frame it has.

Here are my criteria:

1)I am not considering closeouts of bankrupt companies because of warranty issues

2)bike cost cap $1200 or so.

3)Ultegra group (brakes, shifters, derailleurs, cranks)

4)decent wheelset

5)not a friggin boat anchor, better known as 20lbs max.

In my experience, the LBS' charge me out the wazoo which is OK if you like that but for a very modest investment in tools I do my own wrenching. I mean- geez - why would I pay $10 to get my tube changed??
Criminy Crickets! Wrap me in wax paper and call me sucker.

I can see the service benefit of the LBS but I don't like paying for something I can do myself. That is why I change my own oil in my car. It is alot more convenient and even quicker and more cost efficient.

Here is a story about an LBS I dealt with:
Bought some shoes from them and found out they had a bad internal seam in the left shoe that stuck out and caused pain. The right shoe did not have the seam sticking out so it was a defect not a "design feature". LOL
Tried to take them back but they said you are SOL because you rode them (one day). "Take care of it yourself" - So I did and they started me on the path of self-sufficiency. Thanks...

the reason that I keep going back to bikesdirect is because of the critieria above and I saw an ad about it in one of the cycling mags. think it was bicycling...

Anyway, I am curious about the Primal frame but it looks like the moto lechamp is the one I am leaning towards.
buy the PrimalAD11
Sep 3, 2001 11:47 AM
you can't go wrong at that price... they are actually rebadged Colnagos!
rebadged colnagos?joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 11:59 AM
AD11,
Where do you get your information from - is this really true?

got proof?

This sounds interesting...
yesAD11
Sep 3, 2001 12:23 PM
it's true. Where do all those Colnagos with the fancy paintjobs that don't come out quite right go? Yep, you got it. A friend of a friend's team mate raced against a guy that got one, and you can actually see how they just painted over it. I'd get it soon though, 'cause when I checked into them they only had a few left. Who said you can't find any great deals anymore?
No Doubt, GT ZR 2.0 at chucksbikes.com $1100keith m
Sep 3, 2001 6:24 AM
I'm sure it's a better frameset than the primal. Who the hell rides primal?
Who rides Primal? It might surprise you.Dog Breath
Sep 3, 2001 7:03 AM
Probably alot of people are riding the same thing right now, with a different name and graphics. My best guess is they gather up everyone's $300 deposit and orders, then have them cranked out of some factory in China/Tawian. Yummee.
You get what you pay for. A $200 frame with $200 Primal graphics.
Who makes/made GT frameset?joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 7:06 AM
Anyone know who makes the GT frameset?

My friend has one and he swears it is made in Taiwan.
I called my LBS and they said it IS made in Taiwan.

Not that there is anything wrong with that...

Anyone know who makes the Primal or Motobecane frame?

Now you guys have me worried about the frame.
What should I look for?
How can I tell if I am getting a decent and durable frame?

Oh wait, just looked at the Motobecane Lechampion page and it says it is a Kinesis double butted aluminum frame - are those any good? Dang- 2.7 lbs - that is pretty light.
but GTs were ridden in the Tour de FranceJim
Sep 3, 2001 7:35 AM
and classics by Lotto, right? I would go for the GT if it were me. I think the Primal is ugly, but it would match my jerseys and shorts.
GT builds their Team frames...tirider
Sep 3, 2001 11:08 AM
... and top end ones in house but I believe the others are sourced overseas as is the case with many U.S. companies. So the frame on your $1200 GT undoubtedly isn't the same as the ones Mario Aerts, Rik Verbrugghe and Jeroen Blijlevens ride.
Who makes/made GT frameset?Ken
Sep 3, 2001 8:24 AM
I suspect this "Primal" bike frame was made in Taiwan. The frame was probably originally made for Schwinn and or GT. The factory got stiffed by Schwinn and are stuck with a lot of inventory.
Taiwan Frames?joeg26er
Sep 3, 2001 8:35 AM
That is something I did not consider- that is an interesting angle there.

That would explain the insanely low price -
hah - I call it insane because that is what the LBS guy told me I was when I told him about some of these Ultegra bikes.
The GT ZR 2.0 is your best bet!!CyclingFan
Sep 3, 2001 8:16 AM
Dude, go and get yourself the GT ZR 2.0 racing bike. It is the best bike for the money, $1100. It is full Ultegra, aluminum frame, carbon fork, Mavic rims, trademark triple triangle (for strength) and dashing good looks. I honestly can say there isn't another bike around that is comparable to the GT ZR 2.0 for only $1100. This exact same bike is just one-step removed form the Tour de France "Lotto" race bikes. www.wheelsworld.com was selling them for $1100, as well as a couple other stores. Great bike, little money, enough said.
The GT ZR 2.0 is your best bet!!CyclingFan
Sep 3, 2001 8:17 AM
Dude, go and get yourself the GT ZR 2.0 racing bike. It is the best bike for the money, $1100. It is full Ultegra, aluminum frame, carbon fork, Mavic rims, trademark triple triangle (for strength) and dashing good looks. I honestly can say there isn't another bike around that is comparable to the GT ZR 2.0 for only $1100. This exact same bike is just one-step removed form the Tour de France "Lotto" race bikes. www.wheelsworld.com was selling them for $1100, as well as a couple other stores. Great bike, little money, enough said.
Two agreementsElefantino
Sep 3, 2001 7:47 AM
1) The Motobecane is the lesser of two evils. Frame is better (Kinesis makes good stuff). Frames are everything. The Primal frame is a no-name, which should be a red flag. FYI, the Motobecane Team Champion can be had in LBSs for around $1500-1600 and is full Dura-Ace with the same frame.
2) I agree with pfw2 ... this seems like a stealth ad for bikesdirect. If you can, buy from a LBS. Spend money locally.
And no, I don't work for one.
I'll take a beautiful woman...tirider
Sep 3, 2001 10:52 AM
...in jeans over a fat chick in a ballroom gown. My humble opinion is get the best frame you can for the money (that fits) and skimp on the components. Then you can later enjoy upgrading stuff knowing the frame is deserving of the nicer equipment. The Viner or Cervelo are works of art compared to the Primal made no doubt by Taiwainese master frame builders working for 50 cents an hour.
re: best deal on Ultegra bike - color? who cares?bruce
Sep 3, 2001 2:35 PM
peter

I have been reading the responses to your post
you had a good serious question - but all these guys can think to do is comment on their favorite brand, or how they think a bike should LOOK - or the fact that they prefer one dealer over another
WHAT BULL! I have been looking -- and what I think is best for me has nothing to do with what is best for you -- except
everyone seems to agree Ultegra is great on bikes from $1000 to $1700 --
also this bull about what country it is made in - who cares?
quality counts - thats it
sounds like my 70 year old grand dad - I aint buying nothing from those ****

good luck
buy your best deal - sounds right to me
re: best deal on Ultegra bikegearjunky
Sep 3, 2001 5:31 PM
Skip through years of frame-swapping and just buy the Ultegra equipped Litespeed Ultimate on sale at Colorado Cyclist for $2700.