RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wearing of team gear.... informal survey(29 posts)

Wearing of team gear.... informal surveyfiltersweep
Sep 1, 2001 8:09 AM
I'm curious what the general consensus is around here about cycling clothing. A friend, who notably cycles with clip-on aero-bars and sandals was going off about people who wear team gear... now I'm not one who owns anything with a USPS logo on it (and god-forbid that I wear anything remotely co-ordinated!), but I have been known to ride in obscure stuff, because there truly is something to be said for tech fabrics, and a decent pair of padded shorts (the type you can't buy at a discount sporting goods store), and for that matter, decent socks... in other words, there is a method to the madness.

This concept seemed to be completely lost on my friend who found it utterly pretentious that anyone would wear any clothing specifically designed for cycling (other than shorts). I guess my attitude is simply that shoes and clothing is as much a part of the equipment as the fork, wheels, components, etc... and- that you do "get what you pay for," after all, these aren't bike that are chained to the bike racks.

Finally, if you know where to shop, half this clothing costs the same as the no-name stuff you see everywhere. Opinions, rants, firestorm?
re: Wearing of team gear.... informal surveyDaveG
Sep 1, 2001 8:24 AM
I agree with you that cycling-specific clothing is a good thing. Cycling shoes, wicking jerseys, etc improve performance and can make cycling more enjoyable. While I don't have any problem with folks wearing team jerseys and mimicing their cycling heroes, I tend to avoid that stuff because some folks will want to tag you as a wannabe/poser/etc. I'm not condoning that, buts its an unfortunate reality in this sport. I usually go with performance-oriented clothing but with toned down graphics and no team jerseys.
re: Wearing of team gear.... informal surveykorbin
Sep 1, 2001 9:02 AM
Funny you should ask. I just recently got into cycling and I am loving it. Though i didnt want to get into wearing the clothing until I was race ready. I usually wear cargo shorts and a tee shirt, the loose clothing flapping from the wind doesnt bother me and I dont like to wear a helmet. However, yesterday my wife saw me riding my bike on her way home. When I got home, she told me to start looking through my catalogs for bike clothing to buy. I said "why". She tells me that I looked like a looser riding their bike home from work cause they lost their lisence to DWI. I told her I am going to start riding my bike with the bars flipped over.
I wear team clothingW
Sep 1, 2001 9:16 AM
MY TEAM. And also some "souvenir" local team/shop jerseys picked up in Italy. Others will disagree, but I don't think it's right to wear pro team stuff. It's also a major faux pas to wear national team/champion, yellow/pink, and ride/tour jerseys that haven't been "earned". Bring it.
I wear lots of pro stuffdano
Sep 2, 2001 11:22 PM
OK, I'll bring it. I almost always wear pro team jerseys and bibs. Why? Because the pro team uniforms are less expensive and as good or better quality than the standard stuff. British mail-order/internet cycling stores have incredible deals on pro team kit at the end of the season. As long as I can buy Nalini and Santini pro team jersey/bib combos for $50 (that's for the jersey AND the bibs together), why I am going to pay $80 just for one pair of PI bibs? That's silly.

I obviously have no problem with the philosophy of whether or not its right to wear pro team clothes when you don't ride for the team. The companies that sponsor these teams put up the money for exposure of their name. No other reason. I figure I'm actually helping them increase the exposure they get for sponsorship. Therefore, I'm supporting my favorite sport by wearing pro team uniforms while out riding on public roads.

If anyone thinks I'm a poser for doing this....too bad. I'm not wearing the stuff for their benefit. I'm wearing if for mine (low cost/high quality/good looking stuff) and the sponsors' (more bang for their sponsorship buck).
Cycling-specific, yes; Team-specific, noRich Clark
Sep 1, 2001 9:24 AM
As a daily rider and commuter, I care about comfort and staying dry. So I wear cycling shorts (sometimes lycra, sometimes MTB), plain cycling jerseys, SPD shoes with coolmax socks (or SPD sandals), coolmax headweats, etc.

The only team-logo apparel I own is a souvenir Phillies World Series jersey from 1983 that I still wear when I go to games.

But really, people should wear what feels good.

RichC
re: Wearing of team gear.... informal surveyBirddog
Sep 1, 2001 9:42 AM
For 8 or 9 years I shunned pro team jerseys and their billboard graphics. Then, last year I bought a Vini Caldirola simply because I liked the colors and the price was right. The first time I wore it, another cyclist rode up and said "I normally don't like Pro team jerseys, but that one is cool looking". It is a very good jersey with a high tech fabric so it is very practical. I wear my team's jersey, but it is old tech and a little hot. I have one other pro team long sleeve and I would buy another. I like the high tech fabrics and as long as I like the looks, I buy.
I would never be so pretentious as to wear yellow or pink however, as I can't ride to the level of the symbolic color.
re: Wearing of team gear.... informal surveypeloton
Sep 1, 2001 10:48 AM
I don't think that there is anything wrong with wearing a team jersey when riding. Some of them are nice looking, and well made. There is also nothing wrong with being a fan of a team, and wanting to show your support by flying their colors. I bet everyone here has worn a t-shirt with the logo of a pro sport franchise at some point in their life. Nothing wrong with that. I personally wouldn't go as far as to buy the team bike, and full get-up and cruise around in it full time though but there is nothing wrong with a jersey or pair of socks.

Something I saw today that did bother me though, a guy wearing the rainbow jersey of a world champion (Colnago jersey on an old Italian bike FWIW). I don't think people should wear a yellow credit lyonais jersey, Maglia rosa, national champion, or world champion jersey without earing them in their appropriate race first. That to me is like getting yourself a replica World series ring or Olympic medal and wearing it around. Pretty cheesy. And if I see another guy on a Postal issue Trek wearing a yellow jersey, and they aren't named Lance I might go postal... ;)
National champion jerseymike mcmahon
Sep 1, 2001 7:00 PM
The only "pro" jersey I wear is a national champion jersey: the champion of Lithuania. I bought it for a few reasons: 1) I have always admired the people of the Baltic states; 2) I like the looks of it; 3) I've never seen anyone else wearing it; and 4) unlike the jerseys of more high-profile nations, it's not obvious that it's a national champ jersey. About 6 months ago, I was heading up a gentle incline and passed a guy who was going relatively slow. After passing him, I could hear him behind me working hard to catch me. When he did, he asked out of breath where I got the jersey. Although he was born in the states, both of his folks were born in Lithuania. We had a nice time talking about the Lithuanian basketball team and other related subjects. I knew it would be a conversation piece sooner or later.
National champion jerseypeloton
Sep 2, 2001 6:14 AM
The Lithuanian national champion's jersey. I gotta say, I was thinking more of riding in the jersey of one's own country. I can see how a nat. champ's jersey from a more obscure nation could be a good conversation piece (as long as you didn't try to fake an accent or something! :))

I was more thinking of my feeling of seeing this guy wearing a world champion's rainbow. To me, that jersey is special and you should have to earn it. I just wouldn't feel worthy of pulling such a jersey over my head. I just view some of those jerseys as having a lot of meaning, and the people who earn them should wear them as a reward for their accomplishments. That's all, no disdain to anyone who would wish to wear any of those jerseys. I just don't feel worthy.
great!Freddie
Sep 2, 2001 6:37 AM
one guy in 100 strikes up conversation, the rest of us think you are a dork. You sire, are a poser. To the discerning eye, all NC jerseys are obvious.
Got me, Freddiemike mcmahon
Sep 2, 2001 9:25 AM
I'm a big poseur. And you, I'm sure, are a very cosmopolitan fellow who would recognize even the jersey of the national champion of Freedonia from a mile away in a driving rainstorm.
That's easy!Tig
Sep 2, 2001 9:53 AM
Everyone knows the national champion of Freedonia is none other than Rufus T. Firefly. He needs no jersey to be identified with that mustache!

Don't ya love those flaccid attacks from spineless cowards?
Nice work!mike mcmahon
Sep 2, 2001 10:11 AM
And quick too! Glad to hear there's at least one other Marx Brothers fan out there.
RE: great!mr tornado head
Sep 2, 2001 2:25 PM
WHY do you have to jump up and berate someone? Didn't we get past that in Jr. High? Or are you still in Jr. High?

C'mon, I thought we were reasonable adults here.

And for the record: No, no pro jerseys yet. But I kinda like a few of the div 2 & 3 stuff. Otherwise, I even take the stickers off my bikes because I'm not getting paid to be thier billboard. Just my opinion.
I wear it, and I don't care what you think!!!Cartman
Sep 1, 2001 10:59 AM
OK, call me a poser or what ever you want. I have a 1999 USPS set of bibs and jersey, a Mapei set, and a Bianchi racing set, along with an LA Sheriffs racing team skinsuit. Some of the stuff I buy on ebay, some new. I just like the designs and the bright colors instead of the drab usual bike clothing. Cycling is the first sport that I've actually been interested in, and I see no one calling someone wearing their favorite baseball, football or basket ball team shirt, hat etc. a poser. My friend (who shall remain nameless to prevent flaming) said to me the other week at the local time trials, "Boy, if the people on roadbike review saw us, (He was wearing a 7 UP skinsuit, and I my Sherrif's) they would be calling us posers. Funny, we were the top two finishers.
This is all about what the other guy thinks. Why does cycling...shmoo
Sep 1, 2001 11:01 AM
...attract so many anal people?? Their skewed attitudes are their problem - not yours. Wear what ya like. Personally, I don't care what the cyclist next to me is wearing. I don't presume that he is a poser if he's wearing a team kit, and I don't presume he's a Fred if he's wearing Nashbar brand shorts and a Performance brand jersey. I DO appreciate a good peddle stroke, a good climber, being able to hold a line, etc. Work on those things, and forget about whether or not you're wearing team colors or not.

All IMHO of course.
Gotta agree!Live Steam
Sep 2, 2001 10:21 AM
I wear our club stuff, but I also like to collect jerseys and I wear them too. For one thing, they usually catch the attention of the mom in the SUV on the cell phone. She gets cheap thrills scanning my buns and I get another day in the saddle because she saw me before she could run me over. It's the brite colors that catchs the persons attention that has the ability to crush you like a bug. That is one good reason for wearing them. IMHO
re: Wearing of team gear.... informal survey12x23
Sep 1, 2001 11:10 AM
Yeah, I have a few. Problem is I'm a tall, skinny guy and and don't like my jerseys to fit like a dadgum poncho or party dress. The best fitting I've found are the three full-zip Nalini jerseys I purchased from WCP last year. They are national champion jerseys (would love to have several of these unlittered) so I guess I am posing like he!!. I also like the full-zipper as we have two kinds of summer weather in North Alabama . . , hot and humid, or, . . , humid and hot.

No one in these parts think of me as a poseur, cyclists are so rare I'm viewed more as an alien.
re: Wearing of team gearTig
Sep 1, 2001 11:14 AM
I still wear all my old team jerseys. The teams have gone through several sponsership changes and designs so they vary quite a bit. The older ones are crude, low-tech, but the simplicity is refreshing. I earned the right to wear them by racing for those teams and occasionally scoring wins and placings. It is also nice to see another dinosaur in one on the road.

Pro team jerseys? I have a few lesser known or old ones that I like to hang onto. Anyone remember the 80's Lowenbrau team with the McCormick brothers? I managed to bum one off of Alan after the team folded. The black fading to blue jersey was a classic. I also have an old Ceramiche Ariostea euro team longsleeve jersey. That was back when Rolf Sorenson was still a contender. Nice yellow/red scales. I don't wear the pro jerseys much, but they are fun for an occasional group ride.
The last time I worried much about what others thought . . .DCW
Sep 1, 2001 11:55 AM
of my clothing choices was probably in junior high or high school or the first day on my first real job. I think the concern about being labeled a wannabe or poser is the luxury of the young. At 52, I have neither the time or energy to waste.
I occasionally ride with folks who are so concerned about their public image, though, that they wear t-shirts and nothing but black shorts and shoes lest they be thought sissies or posers. Of course, even when it's prudent, they can't carry food, a rain jacket, etc. I find it odd that they'll wear an Atlanta Braves hat and warm-up jacket at other times in public. But, so what? Their choices.
I wear pro team jerseys and plain yellow jerseys, black shorts, red shorts and blue shorts, red shoes and black shoes. The only thing my cycling duds share, other than my body, is that they fit well, function well and were bought at deep discount.
you know, I do wear team jerseysterry_b
Sep 1, 2001 12:11 PM
Used to be very much against it, but then I became bored with the same old blue/red/yellow ones. So now, I buy last years versions of teams I jave rarely heard of from Bikejerseys.com, concentrating on ones that have lots of white (I live/ride in the desert) in them. I do not wear leaders/champions jerseys - for me it just doesn't seem right.
re: Wearing of team gear.... informal surveymackgoo
Sep 1, 2001 12:57 PM
Don't wear the team stuff, do have a few Mercatone Uno water bottles. Do wear the cycling gear, sort of hard to use clipless pedals with out the shoes, and the back pockets on the shirts are a must.
If I like it...4bykn
Sep 1, 2001 2:14 PM
I'll buy it and wear it. I do it for me, not for you to look at. Having said that, the only "pro" I own is the special Saeco peace jersey. I liked it, I bought it. My next jersey, since Gregg has been unsuccessful in his attempts to get RBR jerseys, will probably be the "Old Guys Who Get Fat in the Winter Racing Team".
A la MasterCard...Bruno
Sep 1, 2001 3:27 PM
Giro Neumo Helmet - $140
Rudy Project glasses - $120
Louis Garneau jersey -$80
Castelli Progetto shorts -$90
DeFeet socks - $11
Diadora shoes -$110

Having a fit body to wear these clothes and not look ridiculous, priceless...

Bottomline, if it makes you ride more wear it.
If it feels good do it. It is good for everyone...Dog Breath
Sep 2, 2001 9:16 AM
If it makes you more enthusiastic about training.
If it make you more visible to motorists.
If it make you happy.
Then why not?

Nalini/Biemme pro team wear is just as good or better than the designer brands in my experience (ie assos/pearlizumi), but it is usually cheaper and often on sale.

A good source is www.bestbikesinc.com or www.euroduds.com

Wear something from an obscure 2nd or 3rd divison squad (not Telekom, USPS, or Mapei) and most people won't know it from a local or club team.

Besides all that you will be supporting some of the sport's important sponsors.

Two big enthusiast thumbs up for Pro Team Wear!
If it feels good do it. It is good for everyone...bear
Sep 2, 2001 10:19 AM
Hey if on SALE I wear anyhting. Theteam stuff is super quality and you can find good deals,,,you never see the non-team high quality stuff on sale.
Completely agreefiltersweep
Sep 2, 2001 1:26 PM
... and the color schemes of non-team wear usually remind me of the worst of the 80s.
I dress up like Joe Montana to play catch in the park, toocory
Sep 3, 2001 6:23 AM
My vote is No. Makes me feel too much like a poseur. I usually ride in MB shorts and a Cool-Max T-shirt (I got five of 'em in bright colors from Sierra Trading Post for $5 each).