RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Icon Parts(10 posts)

Icon PartsLen J
Aug 30, 2001 6:32 AM
I've read comments that imply that most posters would not have Icon parts on thier bike on a bet. I'd like some more info.

I have a 5500 which came equipped with an Icon oversized air Rail OD fork, and Icon Sterling OS stem and Icon Setrling Handlebars with a Cane Creek Aheadset Headset. So far (about 2,500 miles) it has been rock solid & stable. Am I headed for trouble?

What is the real deal on these parts?
Should I replace & if so why?
What should I replace them with?

Thanks for the input.

Len
re: Icon Partsnova
Aug 30, 2001 6:54 AM
Icon (Trek) experienced some stem failures last year. They recalled the stems and swapped them out for 'safe' stems. Instead of installing another Icon stem, I simply replaced mine with a Salsa stem. Better safe than sorry!
re: Icon PartsJack S
Aug 30, 2001 7:04 AM
Air Rail fork is fine... Serotta even specs them.
re: Icon PartsRich Clark
Aug 30, 2001 7:11 AM
In my opinion, much of the sentiment against Icon parts is the usual bias against house-brand stuff. Icon is Trek's house brand, and the assumption is that Trek uses them because they're cheaper than name-brand parts.

Is it true? Is an Icon stem or handlebar or seatpost inferior to a Ritchey, say? Who knows? For all I know, Ritchey makes them.

The stem recall last year happened on a particular model of stem which had a tendency to creak. Owners would overtighten the bolts in an attempt to eliminate the creak, and the bolts would fail. This is a Bad Thing, of course, but Icon isn't the only brand of bike part to ever have to recall something.

If I were you, if I had a 2000-model Trek road bike I'd double check that my stem wasn't the recalled model, and then I'd ride happily away on my fabulous machine and not worry.

RichC
A bit of history...grzy mnky
Aug 30, 2001 8:03 AM
The Icon parts have gone through a couple generations and the newer stuff is a whole lot better than the earlier stuff. My '96 OCLV came loaded with Icon stuff and I ended up replacing most of it due to poor geometry/fit/design. You can spend a bunch more money and get some high-zoot parts and you may save a little weight, but it's really in the realm of diminishing returns. In my mind therer isn't much reason to swap the parts off your bike, but there's also not much reason to buy individual components if you're looking at the high end of things.

It's OK - people will still accept you ;-)
re: Icon Partsvw
Aug 30, 2001 8:49 AM
Check out this site to see if your icon stem is recalled!

http://www.chainreactionbicycles.com/iconrecall.htm
re: Icon PartsLen J
Aug 30, 2001 9:46 AM
It's not, my bike is a 2001, bought after the recall. But thanks.

Len
re: Icon Parts with poor geometry.gm jr
Aug 30, 2001 9:52 AM
I threw out all my Icon parts off my Oclv because I looked at them and saw poor geometry. Really poor geometry on the post. The stem also had poor geometry. The pedals believe it or not had fine geometry, but they had rotten trigonometry. The bars had good hyperbole.
Hah!grz mnky
Aug 30, 2001 11:02 AM
Very funny - actually the Icon bars from Trek really sucked - the bend was super deep and really left you reaching. Compared it to all the other bars out there and figure they must've got them made at a discount muffler shop. Plus no anatomical section in the drops. Wound up replacing the stem when it was all over to get the right reach.

You gotta admit that their seatpost is pretty cruddy - just try dialing in an exact amount of saddle tilt or moving the saddle fore or aft and maintaining the tilt. The thing was pretty dang heavy also.

By the time it was all over a 19.2 lbs. OCLV was down around 18 lbs.
re: Icon PartsAndy M-S
Aug 30, 2001 11:15 AM
I like some Icon parts; some are OK, and one I've had trouble with.

I have been using their Graphite quill stem for several years now. It feels much more solid than the other front-loading quill stems I've tried (like Dimension and Profile). I did have creaking/stripping problems, and had it replaced under warranty, but since, no problem.

I also use Icon Onyx handlebars, which are reasonably light and fit me well (they may not fit everyone). I just wish they had a second cable groove.

My rainy day bike has Icon road pedals on it, which work just fine. No complaints. They're about the same as the Ultegra SPD's on my good bike.

The only part I've had trouble with was the seatpost. I'm fairly heavy (195) and if I missed clipping in, I could come down on the nose of the saddle with some force. This damaged the ratchets (made of relatively soft material) in the clamp area of the post, and made it difficult to get my settings locked in. I did like the amount of setback in that post, and never had a problem getting my saddle where I wanted it until I damaged it.

FWIW, most of the Icon parts seem to be made by Kalloy. They're not the lightest parts in the world, and certainly not the heaviest, but most of them function well.