RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


RBR using my pics???(21 posts)

RBR using my pics???WCC
Aug 29, 2001 8:35 PM
Ive noticed that this website is using a couple of my photos (the 7up rider, and the Mapei rider) on the website. I had submitted them to the gallery but didn't know they could use them at will. Maybe I can charge them $3 a pic (though this would be very cheap).
InterestingMike
Aug 29, 2001 8:49 PM
I can't imagine that by simply posting your photos in the Gallery you have consented to RBR using them for commercial purposes. I just quickly glanced over the info on posting pictures and it doesn't have any language stating that photos submitted become the property of RBR, or anything along those lines. If it concerns you, let them know that the photos should be pulled. Perhaps you should at least ask that you be given a photo credit for them.
re: RBR using my pics???MrCelloBoy
Aug 29, 2001 9:25 PM
That's highly unethical (I'm an ex professional photographer), and if indeed it's your pic you should be compensated. It wouldn't surprise me though if there's something in fine print somewhere in the agreements to sharing this site, which might grant them such a right to use posted images.
$3 would be giving them away.
Are you positive that they couldn't have been shot by someone else close by and just look like yours?
Agree...agree....agree...Kristin
Aug 30, 2001 7:32 AM
My breath caught when I read that. I'm trying to become a pro photographer (someday). Its wrong for a company to duplicate an image anywhere without first consulting the owner (you). Legally, I'm not sure about it; but ethically, its a very bad practice. Knowing this will keep me from posting any of my work anywhere on this site.
re: RBR using my pics???WCC
Aug 30, 2001 8:15 AM
No, these are definitely my photos, its pretty obvious. Just go to the gallery and look a couple of pages back in the Racing section.

The 7UP/Colo.Cyclist pic, the one on THIS page is mine. And so is the Mapei guy on the front page. I never saw anything that said any photos submitted were the property of RBR. And, I don't have a model release from any of these people either. I guess I'm flattered that they think my photo is good enough for their website, but I'm a little angry at how they used it, withut asking me...or at least giving me credit.

What are the legalities? I didn't put a copyright symbol on the pics, is this necessary?
Dear RBR.MrCelloBoy
Aug 30, 2001 8:48 AM
Legally they are in the clear. And I believe a photo taken during as public event like that is immune from need of a model release.
If you want to discuss the phot/legal issue a bit more via e-mail I'd be happy to.
maury@lowepro.com
maybe they give you water bottle nmZaphros
Aug 30, 2001 6:57 AM
re: RBR using my pics???Wannabe
Aug 30, 2001 6:58 AM
Yes, I noticed that some pics submitted to the photo gallery were being used by RBR. I just assumed that RBR had made an arrangement with the photographer for the use of the images.

They are your pics, you work should at least be acknowledged.

Andy - Wannabe
Indeed, there IS fine print...MrCelloBoy
Aug 30, 2001 8:13 AM
There's a "copyright" page on this site that grants Consumer Review the right to use any image downloaded to the site for its own use of any kind without compensation.

I really believe that the internet is a hotbed of companies taking advantage of the fact that few if any folks visiting or joining a site take the time to read all of the "agreements" they're making by using that site.

Of course legally it's our individual responsibility and choice...

Grrrrrr
Thanks, I see it now......WCC
Aug 30, 2001 8:20 AM
...I think that is crap. They should have it listed more clearly in the gallery section, when you submit images. Oh well, screw'em. They wont get another pic from me. I hope no one else sends in anything as well.

Maybe I should get in touch with these two teams, find out who the riders are, and tell them that their photos are being used for commercial gains, and that they aren't being paid for it.
good idea!cyclopathic
Aug 30, 2001 8:27 AM
I would also send a formal e-mail to 'em asking to take if off.

I am fed up with RBR selling my product reviews to eBay, I will never submit one esp after they started to charge for classifieds. Greg and Franky this is what you get back suckers
Ebay???WCC
Aug 30, 2001 8:33 AM
Explain the selling of product reviews? I haven't heard this one.

Anyway, I will write them a email telling them to remove my photos, but I am sure this will be to no avail. Next time I want to share any of my pics, I will just post a link to them on Photopoint.
Ebay???cyclopathic
Aug 30, 2001 3:52 PM
basically if you go to eBay and wanna see a product review, it will kick you consumersreview.

Effectively they sell our reviews as product stripping off our copyrights. Piracy?
I don't think that's the case if it's just a linknm
Aug 31, 2001 4:56 AM
so cool out
Coomon practice...MrCelloBoy
Aug 30, 2001 8:38 AM
I agree that it sucks.
I also think that it's pretty common practice in the publishing industry. The struggles between artist (photographer in this case) and publisher over rates goes back hundreds of years and continues in courts as we speak.
Indeed, there IS fine print...MrCelloBoy
Aug 30, 2001 8:24 AM
There's a "copyright" page on this site that grants Consumer Review the right to use any image downloaded to the site for its own use of any kind without compensation.

I really believe that the internet is a hotbed of companies taking advantage of the fact that few if any folks visiting or joining a site take the time to read all of the "agreements" they're making by using that site.

Of course legally it's our individual responsibility and choice...

Grrrrrr
ATTN: WCC, no slight intended...gregg
Aug 30, 2001 9:11 AM
...our pictures were picked by our graphic design director. Originally, he had picked images from another site after he had contacted them and asked permission. The images were changed because people complained that the original 3 home page pics were too similar and boring. So he changed them yesterday. I was not aware that he had pulled them from the photo gallery.

Now we DO reserve the right to use the pics, but as you guys all rightly stated, it is just common courtesy that the original photographer be contacted. I was not aware that these were used without previous consent.

SO, I am asking your permission and we will offer you photo credit (like the one in the MtbREVIEW DH-Freeride message board) and some RoadbikeREVIEW swag. If this is not satisfactory to you, I will take the pictures down.

Again, sorry for the lack of communication, credit, and permission.

-gregg
ATTN: WCC, no slight intended...WCC
Aug 30, 2001 11:41 AM
Gregg,

Thanks for responding to my concerns. I will think about it and get back to you. Is there an email address where I can reach you?
Democracy in action!MrCelloBoy
Aug 30, 2001 11:51 AM
I'd say that was a positive example of the communication process.
I commend Gregg for following up honestly and openly.
reach me at...gregg
Aug 30, 2001 1:51 PM
...gkato@roadbikereview.com

thanks.
BTW Greggcyclopathic
Aug 30, 2001 4:07 PM
I intend to put explicit copyright note on any review I will ever submit (though it is not required under copyright law check with your corporate lawyer) here or at MTBR.

Try to sell them to eBay and watch what happens next I am serious. This is my way to say flick you.

I am really pissed off at your $3 class fee for every item, not that I was selling or buying much, but you effectively shut down parts exchange and some things had been long out of production. I understand you needed to generate $$ You could get away with 10, 20, 40$ membership, based on # of posts, yet you (aren't you owned by eBay now?) shut it down shame on you