RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Rollers or Trainer(8 posts)

Rollers or TrainerCDC
Aug 29, 2001 8:22 PM
Got online tonite with the intent of ordering a CycleopsFluid 2 trainer; what with daylight fading and all. As usual I was sucked into looking at rollers. I hear the roller people saying how much it will improve my riding. What about fitness, is there resistance?

Would like to hear everyones opinion.

THanks
Break Out Your ChequebookJon Billheimer
Aug 29, 2001 8:39 PM
In an ideal world you can benefit from both. The cycleops will provide you with great resistance
workouts. It simulates road feel very well too. Cycleops did have major problems with their units with
respect to fluid leakage. However, I hear they've fixed the problem. Just a caution there, though.

Rollers will develop your aerobic system, but not do much for power. In addition, they'll improve your
balance, bike handling, and leg speed. So for the best of all possible worlds in the off season, buy
both and follow a balanced program.

Just my opinion. You may get others that differ.
I agreeMike
Aug 29, 2001 8:44 PM
I've got a Cyclops trainer and a set of Kreitler rollers. Although I use the rollers more frequently, I hop on the Cyclops when I need a quick, hard workout. However, if I couldn't afford both, I'd go just rollers.
re: Rollers or TrainerTylerman
Aug 30, 2001 3:01 AM
I bought a set of rollers (Nashbar) last off-season after testing trainers of different types. Although the trainers are easier to use and you can really go a lot harder on them, the rollers did wonders showing me flaws in my pedal stroke and bar handling. Of course without a coach it took a little while to straighten some problems out, and still haven't been able to consistently correct others, I am very glad that I decided on the rollers.
As for purchasing advice, if you want to improve your technique, get rollers. If you strictly want to train get a trainer. Of course, if you can, get both!
re: Rollers or TrainerPaulCL
Aug 30, 2001 7:23 AM
I used to own both. Once I got used to the rollers, I never used the trainer again - it was too boring. Beyond the obvious benefits listed in other posts, rollers will keep you interest. Why? If you ever lose concentration, you might go down.

In the offseason, I put in a tape of the Giro or a Spinervals and ride for 45 - 60 minutes without stop. A lot better than a trainer.
From someone who can't stand to exercise indoors.MB1
Aug 30, 2001 9:43 AM
Rollers are at least diverting and you can't let your attention wander. Rollers really improve your stroke. Plus you can practice all sorts of stupid tricks.

Trainers on the other hand are much better for power improvement if you stay focused and don't let your attention wander (very easy to lose your focus on trainers).

Some stupid roller tricks.
Drinking from your bike mounted waterbottle.
Standing up.
Sprinting standing up.
Removing or putting on clothing.
Riding no hands.
Bunny hopping on and off the rollers.
Riding with the bicycle backwards on the rollers.
The last one is the only one I have never been able to do.
also less stressful on bike?kenyee
Aug 30, 2001 10:07 AM
compared to trainers that clamp to your rear bracket.

But you can't train as well on them according to the Smart Cycling book.
Don't ride your good bike on either.MB1
Aug 30, 2001 10:18 AM
Rollers are tough on tires and there is going to be sweat everywhere even with a fan blowing directly on you.

Trainers do put unusual stresses on your frame and rear wheel plus the sweat problem.