RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sorry, I am here, I've been running back and forth...(19 posts)

Sorry, I am here, I've been running back and forth...gregg
Aug 29, 2001 2:26 PM
...between engineering and looking at what you guys have been posting in here.

Where do I begin? Let me start by saying that we are working on several of the problems that you guys have stated. Among the biggest ones are getting the marketplace working, fixing the missing reviews, and working on making the site more readable.

We are working on these problems and many others. I'm sorry if it seems like I haven't been responding, but I have been keeping track of all the problems that you guys have stated.

We WILL fix it.

Thanks for your patience and continued support.
-Gregg, Site Manager
For what its worth...UncleMoe
Aug 29, 2001 2:37 PM
I work in software and understand Greg. It just takes some getting use to for all of us. Overall I think it looks fine. I sort of only read this board at work cause at home it takes to long to load on dial up. If this does speed things up, I'll be happy.
thanks and let me just say that I was the first to complain...gregg
Aug 29, 2001 2:45 PM
....about the grey text!! I complained months ago!! And no one listened to me. My eyes are not bad, but they are not perfect and I thought the grey text was just unreadable.

And I agree, compared to the old boards, the new font size is wayyy small.

-gregg
thanks and let me be the second, or third. 304th? OK...Cliff Oates
Aug 29, 2001 6:03 PM
And I agree, compared to the old boards, the new font size is wayyy small.

Try running at computer geek resolutions (1280x1024 in my case). The font size is giving insurance contract fine print a run for the money...
I like the new format - keep up the good work! nmdavidl
Aug 29, 2001 2:39 PM
my main complaint is with other areas on this site.raler
Aug 29, 2001 2:48 PM
This forum isnt all that bad, the text is a bit small, but its fine. I think it was better before. THis does seem a little faster though.

I guess Im mad because I loved the classifieds. Theyre gone now. Its just not the same. I am always going through parts. I havent been to MTBR since the change. Im too busy to mess with all the credit card crap and register and all that. I hate having parts build up in my garage. You could find anything and everything on there for dirt cheap. $10 parts to $4000 bikes. It was SOOO effortless. It was truly a great exchange that thousands used. Now its a hassle. I guess I'll have to deal with it or find something better, which there isnt right now.
yes, going from something free to $3 is a tough transition...gregg
Aug 29, 2001 3:36 PM
...and we expected a far amount of backlash from it. We know it sucks having to pay for something that was free, and we really wish we could afford to keep it free. But as I've stated on MtbREVIEW, the advertising money alone is not enough to sustain the sites.

If you choose not to use our classifieds, please don't feel alienated and please continue to use the message boards and review sections.

Thanks,
-gregg
Its not the $3!raler
Aug 30, 2001 7:26 AM
The purity is gone. YOu have sold out!!!!!!!

We cant contact the seller directly is that right?

We cant ship on our own? I can get free shipping.

You have such a big part in each transaction. I dont like it.

Its ugly. It's worse than ebay.

I guess we forget youre a business.
a ? --- Are you going to bring back Hot Deals forum?nuke
Aug 29, 2001 3:18 PM
Hey Greg and all...thanks for the work...I know not everyone can be satisfied, but at least you're doing what you can to keep this up and running.

I am curious to ask if HOT DEALS is going to come back or not? I know it wasn't greatly used, but it was kinda cool at points. It opened my eyes to some international discount sites that I probably wouldn't have noticed otherwise.

Thanks
Yes! It is still available through the drop down menu in the...gregg
Aug 29, 2001 3:37 PM
...upper right hand corner.
-g
and I will add it to the Discussions index page(nm)gregg
Aug 29, 2001 3:43 PM
nm
Broken in Netscape 4.78kenyee
Aug 29, 2001 4:04 PM
Each msg page reloads twice. First page looks like Unicode (with rectangles between each character). Second page looks ok.
Can't post. It keeps griping about missing data in POST.

I use Netscape so I can avoid all the great MSIE viruses. Whoever "tested" this site before rollout should be flogged. Logins didn't even work when it was launched. What kind of testing is that???

I'm using the 8/22 build of Mozilla and it seems ok.
re: Sorry, I am here, I've been running back and forth...AD14
Aug 29, 2001 4:32 PM
How do I post a review of my new frame?
you are now required to register in order to write a review (nm)gregg
Aug 29, 2001 4:46 PM
nm
re: Sorry, I am here, I've been running back and forth...gregg
Aug 29, 2001 4:46 PM
re: Sorry, I am here, I've been running back and forth...gregg
Aug 29, 2001 4:46 PM
nm
"Next 50"Rich Clark
Aug 29, 2001 4:57 PM
Should be at the bottom of the list as well as the top (like it was before). It's dumb to have to return to the top of the (long) topic list, after scrolling all the way to the bottom, just to go to the next page.

RichC
re: Sorry, I am here, I've been running back and forth...EW
Aug 29, 2001 6:42 PM
I have logged onto this site from Day 1 and will periodically continue to do so. I am not pleased with having to pay $3.00 for ads, but I realize that I would not want to work for free either. Could you ad a "Wanted" section to the classifieds that was free?
the font and the gray is killing mepeloton
Aug 29, 2001 9:15 PM
Hi Gregg

I like the overall clean look of the site now, but the small font and the gray in the messageboards is almost unreadable on my laptop. If you could boost the size of the letters in the threads, and get rid of the gray lettering it would be a lot more aesthetically pleasing and easy to read.

A few weeks back Velonews updated their messageboards like this too. At first they were very hard to read, and a lot of people bitched. Once they took care of that though, the site runs a lot better. It must be tough for you guys to work out all the bugs in format changes like this.