RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


got new bike..pedals?(11 posts)

got new bike..pedals?CAdreamin
Aug 28, 2001 1:54 PM
Just got my first road bike!! It's a Lemond Buenos Aires-2001. So, after i got over the surprise that it did not come with pedals-I am researcing which ones to get.

I have never used the clipless system before. Got some sidi shoes, and have heard that Look pedals are good-especially for first timers. Any suggestions? Are Speedplay worth the extra money?

I'm doing olympic distance tri's and some long weekend rides.
sure I'll get flamedcyclopathic
Aug 28, 2001 2:08 PM
but I never grew to like single sided Looks. Pain in the butt to poll off trafic light, hard to walk in cleats.

For long weekend centuries you just can't beat dual sided SPD/mnt bike shoe combo. If you wanna something lighter go with Speedplay or Bebob. Bebob would be cheaper and lighter then Speedplay, good dirt.
I'd get Lookslook271
Aug 28, 2001 2:14 PM
I've used them now for 8+ years. Can't beat them. I find that they are not difficult to get in/out of. If you want to spend the extra $$, I've heard lots of good things about Speedplays. You'd have to get another adapter (I think-someone will correct me if I'm wrong!!) for your Sidis if you go w/Speedplay. Congrats on the new bike!!
Speedplays are very easy to useCliff Oates
Aug 28, 2001 2:46 PM
I tried some Campy Pro-fit pedals, which are similar to Looks. I had a heck of a time getting clipped in to the Campy pedals, especially as the cleats began their rapid deterioration from wear. After a few months of that, I went with Speedplays and I am utterly pleased with them.

The Speedplay cleats come with Sidi specific shims for the Look adapter plates that come with the shoes, so you don't need to buy anything extra. There are a LOT of glowing reviews on this site from Speedplay users, and you should read them. If you do go with Speedplays, make sure you get the "coffee shop cap" cleat covers to protect the cleats.
Speedplays: I second thatTig
Aug 28, 2001 5:03 PM
I've had Looks, Shimano Look compatibles, and SPD's, but tried Speedplay X2's. The best yet! They work well w/Sidi's. By far the easiest to install and set up. Buy some blue thread lock before you install them. This keeps the screws from getting loose, yet can be loosened if/when an adjustment is needed. Read the reviews for more details. Worth the $. Also consider their Frog's.
Speedplays: I third thatElefantino
Aug 28, 2001 7:51 PM
I have over-40 knee problems, and giving up my long-time and beloved Looks was part of my mid-life crisis. But I bought X2s and haven't had the knee hurt since, and I also haven't had to look down to click in since, either. Just stomp and go. And at $150 or so, it was definitely a cheaper mid-life crisis solution than buying my BMW. [You can also buy the X3, which has a cro-moly spindle instead of stainless steel and save fifty bucks.]
PedalsChen2
Aug 28, 2001 2:49 PM
Speedplay X series, you get what you pay for. They are quicker to get on and off. You don't even need to look, just stomp and you're on. They really pay off when you're re-starting at a busy intersection- stomp, you're out of there.
Al
if you like Speedplay so muchcyclopathic
Aug 28, 2001 3:45 PM
try Bebop. Cheaper, lighter, mtb tough
I've used Look, SPDs and Speedplay...rib-eye
Aug 28, 2001 4:30 PM
FWIW---The most practical were the SPDs. Double sided pedal provides easy entry. Many types of SPD pedals and prices ranges. If use mtn bike shoes you can walk without looking like a duck and/or damaging the cleats. Many shoes to choose from, and typically much cheaper than road-only shoes. I assume your Sidis are road shoes though so this may be a non-issue.

Speedplay - easily the lightest of the bunch, but the free float can be a mixed blessing. Great if you have bad knees. Awkward in some situations, like out of the saddle sprinting/climbing. Just too much foot movement for me. I think these are also the most expensive of the three even for the entry level X3 ($100+). The large mounting platform (not really a cleat per se) makes you walk like a duck and can be easily damaged.

Look - 1 sided entry is a pain. Can be hard starting up from a light, etc. because of this. Big platform really makes you feel connected to the bike. Sort of heavy depending on the model, but I never seen them below the 350g range. Currently a great buy on near top of the line PP396s for $99 on eBay (usually twice this). Also, produce the Donald Duck effect.

I switch pedals, shoes (even changing cleats if necessary) depending on what I'm rding. "Fun" rides where you're on/off and lots of walking around definitely demand SPDs. Long, more serious rides I go with Looks.
I like Looksbianchi boy
Aug 28, 2001 6:41 PM
I've ridden with SPDs for a long time because I liked the convenience of double-sided entry and being able to walk with cleats on using mtn bike shoes. However, the SPDs started giving my feet hot spots on longer rides and they squeaked a lot. So, after talking to lots of folks and comparing prices, etc, I recently switched to Looks. The Looks are actually easier to clip in and out of than SPDs once you get used to them. They are very quiet and provide a large stable platform, so you don't get hot spots. There also are lots of good deals on them right now, such as $78 for Look PP-247s at Excel Sports.

I have no personal experience with Speedplays, but I think all the float would bug me. Also, Speedplays are not as light as billed when you consider the weight of the cleats, which are humongous compared to Looks. When you consider the weight of the pedals and cleats together, I bet you would find very little difference between the two brands. I'm not trying to trash Speedplays because I've never used them, but I think it's important to consider all the factors. There must be some reason my most of the pros use Looks.

As far as walking with cleats, you can buy cleat covers for both Looks or Speedplays. Lake shoes makes a touring shoe (CX 125) with ridges on the sole that allow you to walk with Look or Speedplay cleats without covers.
re: got new bike..pedals?tr
Aug 29, 2001 10:45 AM
For long distance i prefer the bigger platform to spread the force over a bigger area of my foot to avoid hotspots. This is why you see the majority of the pros riding Time and Look pedals.