RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Trek 2200 - too much road shock?(9 posts)

Trek 2200 - too much road shock?Mike L
Aug 28, 2001 12:04 PM
I just test rode the Trek 2200 and the Lemond Buenos Aires at my local LBS. I don't want to pay any more than that, and I went in thinking I'd prefer the Lemond, but I liked the feel of the Trek more - it was peppier, which I'm told is because of the aluminum power transfer (I'm a rookie biker, as you can tell).

My friend, however, tells me that I'm crazy if I get the Trek because there's too much road shock. I'm big - 6'3", 195 lbs., and I've also been told that in the bigger sizes (60cm) with a bigger person, the aluminum is an easier ride.

Comments would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Mike
re: Trek 2200 - too much road shock?jtolleson
Aug 28, 2001 1:02 PM
Your friend is wrong to imply that there is a right or wrong answer to just about anything in the frame preference world. And it is absolutely true that larger riders in particular don't seem to have trouble with aluminum because they have the weight and strength to flex the frame. And also some larger riders don't like Ti or Steel because they think they are too soft.

It is a truly personal feeling, and if that spunky Al frame spoke to you, then it is a match made in heaven.

Enjoy.
Also...grzy mnky
Aug 28, 2001 1:41 PM
Not sure if the 2200 comes with an alu. fork - if it does you can really take some vibration out witha carbon fork. You can go even further and use carbon bars and possibly a stem w/flex. Wheels and tires have a significant contribution in the area of compliance as well.

To make a blanket statement that the ride is too harsh is a bit of an exageration. Too harsh for what and whom? Cannondale would be out of business if this were a simple and universal truth.
It has a Carbon ForkMike L
Aug 28, 2001 1:43 PM
Yes, it has carbon fiber fork. but no carbon fiber in the rear...
Who's Fork?grzy mnky
Aug 28, 2001 1:51 PM
Trek "Air Rail" right? It's an OK fork, but there are better ones out there. For example Reynolds claims that theirs is built witha "vibration minimization system". Ultimately this is al just so much techno-babble. What matters is how it feels to you, the rider.
re: Trek 2200 - too much road shock?Tig
Aug 28, 2001 1:41 PM
That is for you to decide. I have the same frame and am looking forward to replacing it. You are right about the peppie feel of the frame, as well as the extra vibrations that come with it. I know a few bigger riders who like the frame. In fact, I'd recommend stiffer aluminum frames for bigger guys. At 5'8", 140 lbs, I can enjoy steel or Ti bikes without too much power robbing bottom bracket flex as long as they aren't too heavy.

I'm not trashing the frame, but just need something different. Don't put any weight into my opinion unless you have similar reasons to want something different as well. My reasons are: I'm not into racing anymore so I don't need that extra snap in frame responsiveness (not that I ever raced lower level bikes in the first place); I'm looking for something that can be ridden 100+ miles and still be comfortable (50 miles is all I can enjoy on the Trek, maybe less); This frame is not very light in the world of aluminum, so for an equal weight I can ride a smoother frame like a Serotta Ti or Colorado III steel. See, just personal preferences for an aging rider (ol' fart). In my 20's I didn't care how rough the old Cannondales were. I loved their response and light weight.

Just be sure to get the proper fit and a good frame you like. If I wanted an afordable aluminum frame, I'd consider the Scatante found at Supergo.com.
read thisDog
Aug 28, 2001 2:13 PM
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/frame-materials.html#ride
2200 feelDMoore
Aug 28, 2001 2:54 PM
I too have an Al 2200 - a 1999 model. Same frame, carbon fork, but threaded steerer instead of threadless steerer on latest models. Mine's a mutt, built up with assorted Campy components (Record/Chorus/Athena/Daytona), but those don't affect the ride of the frame itself.

I also have a Ti Litespeed Ultimate and six assorted lugged steel bikes, so I have a pretty extensive data base for comparison.

As a long term fan of lugged steel bikes, I approached my Trek frame with great trepidation. I got a great deal, put it together basically as a beater/wind trainer frame, and thought I probably wouldn't like it's ride at all. To my surprise, it's really quite a decent ride. Not quite as supple as my Richard Sachs, but then again it wasn't custom built for me, and it cost about 10% of what the Sachs cost. I'm 6'1", 170#, on a 60 cm frame as well.

The Trek frame is a little more nervous feeling, and it wouldn't be my first choice for a century ride, but for anything up to 50 miles or so, it's fine. I've done some hills and some crit practices on it, and it works great for those as well. If you're on a budget, I think it's a pretty impressive bike.

If road shock is an issue, tire size will have more effect than the frame will. Just run a bigger tire - go to 25's, lower the pressure a little, and it'll feel like a completely different bike.
tire size... I forgot!Tig
Aug 28, 2001 5:09 PM
It makes a noticeable difference in feel. I bigger rider should be on 25's or wider anyway. The front tire pressure can be dropped closer to 100 PSI as well (depends on tire's pressure rating). Keep the rear at the full pressure rating stamped on the sidewall.

Good luck and happy riding!