RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


got steel?(9 posts)

got steel?Bikealope
Aug 24, 2001 11:32 AM
I'm looking for a good steel-frame road bike, $1-1.5K. I'm interested in the Torelli Gran Sasso, but I'd like to get some other opinions.
try the Voodoo Radasome
Aug 24, 2001 11:36 AM
great bike
re: got steel?royalbutter
Aug 24, 2001 12:49 PM
if you arent set on torelli, i would
look at lemond buenos aires, various
bianchis, and as many folks here post from
time to time, www.gvhbikes.com, who, by his website
has a great selection of steel frames. However, i've
never ordered from him, so you might want to solicit
some responses from those who have.
re: got steel?Tig
Aug 24, 2001 2:00 PM
Soooo many great choices...
Consider the Serotta CSI. It is light, strong, and is among the very best quality made frames in the world. An excellent frame custom fitted for you is hard to beat, no matter which one you choose.

http://serotta.com/models/steel.csi.htm
Tommasini...C-40
Aug 25, 2001 5:35 AM
The Sintesi is a great value at $900 from colorado cyclist. The lugged Tecno is even finer, but more like $1500 and harder to get. Awseome quality on these frames.

The Colnago Master X-light always gets good reviews. It's about $1400 from most U.S. sources, but can be had for a grand from sdeals.com or totalcycling.com.

As another poster mentioned, GVH has a lot of nice steel frames from Cinelli, Ciocc and Colnago. GVH has received lots of good reviews.
Listen to the man.9WorCP
Aug 25, 2001 2:43 PM
Me and Dave (C-40) will give you the one-two-Sintesi-pitch. Beautiful bike for the price. Chrome lugs, Columbus Neuron steel, Italian flair AND quality construction. Colorado Cyclist has been offering a great deal for years. It's very nice and I'll be happy to share my experience if you ask.

I also would suggest the Ritchey Road Logic. Check the reviews for all the bike frames; the last time I checked this was the Numero Uno frame in the the lot.
re: got steel?Cliff Oates
Aug 25, 2001 5:55 AM
You might want to have a look at the Gunnar street frame. They're made by Waterford as a low budget line, and the street frame has a $600 MSRP (Schwab lists the frame at $550 and you may be able to find deals elsewhere). You would then have to add a modestly priced carbon fork and a 105 or Veloce bike kit, but you would end up with a very nice bike for around $1500.

FWIW, my main ride is a Waterford 2200 and it is a very sweet ride indeed. I have a Gunnar cyclo-cross frameset on order that is expected to arrive next week sometime.
here's another suggestion :)JohnG
Aug 25, 2001 10:26 AM
For just a tiny bit more you can get a sweet Colnago steel bike.

Take a look at the Maestro-uk web site. Mike doesn't list the frame but he can get you a Colnago Tecnos delivered to the US for under $800 including the Customs fees. Pretty sweet! A Campy Daytona build kit from Texascyles will run under $1K so the whole thing could be done for around $1700?? Hmmm.... you could even ask Mike at Maestro about a full build and see what he can do, ... he even carries the Mirage components if you want to go a little less expensive. The Daytona stuff is very nice, though and will last a long time.

IMHO, this Tecnos would make a VERY nice and afordable ride!!

ride on
JohnG
re: got steel?tr
Aug 25, 2001 2:27 PM
Colnago,Pinarello, and DeRosa all make nice steel frames and can come to you at a far less reasonable price if you buy from europe. Check their websites out for the details of the bikes Pina-Opera Col-masterlight DeR-Corum or Neo Primato