RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Missing Frame & Bike Manufacturers(9 posts)

Missing Frame & Bike ManufacturersAlpedhuez55
Aug 24, 2001 10:01 AM
I posted this on the Site Suggestion's board. Since there is not as much activity there, I thought I would post it here as well:

How can we get some more bike and frame models added to the list. You have 16 different Otis Guy bikes but and 6 different BP Stealth frames. However, there are way too many frame manufacturers missing all together. Eddy Merckx, Mercian, Principa, Douglas, Macalou, Masi, Gios, Olmo, Casati, Basso, Ciocc, Coppi, Tomassini, Quatro Assi, Somec are some off the top of my head. I am sure I can come up with at least another 10 frame manufacturers. You will see people posting messages asking about some of these brands on the Message Boards but there is no where for them to be reviewed.

I am sure once you add some of these people will start reviewing them. I would be happy to even compile spreadsheet of the Frames web links and MSRP for the different frame models if that would make it easier for you. It would just be nice to see these products reviewed.

Adding new products seems to take a long time on your sites. I have had simular experiences with Fly Fishing Review. I know the consumers should not be able to add products otherwise you will get a lot of duplicate listings. It would just be nice to have a more complete listing of frames to be reviewed.
pay them!Rusty McNasty
Aug 24, 2001 10:09 AM
After all, this site exists solely to make money from advertizing. They don't accept reviews unless the manufacturer spends money for the advertizing! Even when manufacturers try to skew the results by giving prizes away (you don't REALLY think anybody would give Airborne their real name after writing a bad review, do you?) they don't care. Some companies figure that it isn't worth the cost, others have enough business, and aren't trying to get any more. Ask on the forum-you'll get a LOT of opinions, just be prepared to wade through the $h!t.
Trashing Manufacturers in PublicRich Clark
Aug 24, 2001 2:39 PM
<>

When I don't like a product, I make damn sure the company knows. Trashing them in public, especially on the Internet, is a time-honored method of getting satisfaction.

I don't understand why anyone would hesitate to post a bad review using their real name.

RichC
Hey Gregg! Is this true?9WorCP
Aug 25, 2001 6:36 AM
No product in the review section unless the manufacturer pays? What is RBR policy on this? We want more products to review Dammit!
I agreeDave Hickey
Aug 24, 2001 10:16 AM
There are alot of frames/bikes missing. I noticed LOOK frames are missing even thought the little pictures RBR uses for frames and road bikes are LOOK's.
I agreeJack S
Aug 24, 2001 10:23 AM
They seem to have "stolen" a lot of photos from mfgers catalogs and websites. Do you think they got copyright permission before using? Me thinks not.
"The System" doesn't seem to work.MikeC
Aug 24, 2001 11:48 AM
Some time ago I posted a message saying that I thought we weren't holding up our end by posting enough reviews. Then I went through the process of trying to add Sidi Energy shoes and the Koobi Tri saddle.
After nothing was added, I emailed the site manager and asked why. I never received a response, and they've still not been added. I guess it's not our fault after all.
The Review in RoadBikeReview is brokenCliff Oates
Aug 25, 2001 7:14 AM
I submitted a request to add the Terry Fly saddle a couple of weeks ago after I noticed they stopped pointing the saddle review section to the MTBR site. I copied and pasted from the manufacturers web site and filled out the form to perfection. Nada. I've also emailed requests to add products and these have been met with silence too. A lot of the products I use, which are fairly popular items, are not represented in the product database.

I understand that they have to exercise some control over what gets added, just look at all the crud that makes it into the actual reviews or the photo galleries. However, the current solution seems to be to add nothing to the review database.

Gregg might want to set up a process were a team of users of the site reviews new product submissions to the database and approves or rejects them. Maybe require two or more people to approve a new product, just to make sure the process is controlled.
Thanks for bringing this up...MeDotOrg
Aug 25, 2001 8:14 AM
...and we ought to keep it high on the list of things that need to be "fixed" at this web site.

I tried to add a Carl Strong frame to the site. Mountain Bike Review has plenty of Strong frames, but there are no road frames on this site. No luck.