RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Don't look back -- a cruiser may be gaining on you!(16 posts)

Don't look back -- a cruiser may be gaining on you!Humma Hah
Aug 23, 2001 12:42 PM
MB1 is to blame for this. There I was, happily poking along trying to average 70 miles a week, and then somebody here clued me in to MB1's NSA-OCE century.

I put in 101 miles two weeks before that run, 142 the week before, that week reached 190.4, including the century. I put in a few sub-100 mile weeks after that, but now he's invited me for an epic ride on the C&O towpath, and I must get in shape for an all-day ride.

Last week was only 95 miles, but this week I'm at 125 and will finish 150 tomorrow, and should do the same mileage next week. The week of the big ride I should top 200 miles, most of that on a gravel path.

Dog has nothing to worry about. But Lord help the slackers here if I catch 'em!

Durn, and I thought I was addicted to this sport before!
What does this have to do with slave labor in China? ;-)MB1
Aug 23, 2001 12:54 PM
So are you enjoying today's controversy as much as I am?

I think I'll go for a bike ride now. One of these days I will have to get you on the tandem. 27 gears, ti frame, disc brake, 2 much fun. We will set a new land speed record.
Durn, the last time I rode a tandem ...Humma Hah
Aug 23, 2001 1:02 PM
... was back at Virginia Tech. Squires Student Center rented old Schwinn tandems for $2 a day, must have weighed a hundred pounds, 2" balloon tires.

I wrestled that monster over to the girl's dorm to pick up my date, and we rode out together to a department picnic. Georgia, sad to say, was not a cyclist, and we did not set any land speed records.

I've been trying to get my wife on a tandem. We were going to rent one in Kona last December, but, alas, there was only one, and it was already reserved on the day we had available. A tandem is the only way she'll ever be coaxed on a ride of 50 miles or more (her record for one day stands at 18 miles).
In answer to your first question: No, I'm not!Humma Hah
Aug 23, 2001 1:13 PM
I'd ignored that topic based on the obviously heated nature of the topic lines. But I've now looked at it.

Maybe it is time for another round of Doug Sloan's (Dog's) pledge. That's from before your coming aboard here. This started out as a fairly civilized board, due largely to a few very good influences like Doug, Dinosaur, Kerry Irons, and others. After a few flamers came aboard, it got as bad as any board. Doug posted a pledge, in which we basically agreed not to flame, and to ignore flamers. Almost everyone signed aboard, and things got MUCH better for a while. The administrator posted that at the top of the board for, gee, must have been about a year.
U R a good man, I'm going riding. Miss M will hurt me bad. nmMB1
Aug 23, 2001 1:20 PM
the flamersDog
Aug 23, 2001 1:22 PM
I suspect that there are a good deal of people who flame away here, saying outrageous things, who would never do so in person or if everyone knew who they really were. 99% of the time flames come from anonymous "one day only" handles, who chose to vent a little, but only under the cloak of anonymity. They are probably meek, good natured, quiet and kindly human beings who just have this subconscious urge to voice an opinion, stir it up, once in a while. Most of the time, these opinions are largely unsubstantiated, groundless, and hopelessly biased -- a total waste of time.

Why bother engaging? It's pure mental masturbation, in my book. I try to ignore them. I can't always, but I try.

Dog
"dog" is not anonymous?ColnagoFE
Aug 23, 2001 2:27 PM
I know who you are from previous posts, but to newbies you appear to be another anonymous poster.
dogDog
Aug 23, 2001 2:44 PM
Hmm. I guess you are right. I was assuming everyone knew my new totem. I'll re-do my profile to all the info is there. Thanks.

Dog
my handlenova
Aug 23, 2001 3:00 PM
I was 'Alan', my real name, up until the board's format change. By the time I went to re-register, someone had already claimed that name. So now I'm "nova" for no particular reason other than the fact that the handle was unclaimed when I registered. OK, OK, I ride faster than a nova, I admit it! (not quite)

Anyway, I got into a little back-and-forth with Do(u)g as Alan over Dog's comments that dogs should be killed on a wholesale basis. Is that irony in the non-Alanis Morisette sense or what? (no hard feelings, I respect Doug's posts)

But I can't help but suggest that we all post here for a variety of motivating factors, not the least of which is ego. Some people just need to show of their knowledge (Cliff Claven syndrome) or brag about their accomplishments (too many over acheivers to mention here).

So none of us is perfect. I'll admit to being sucked into the quagmire about Airborne below. To be honest, I'm considering buying a new frame just so I don't have to deal with the BS I get while on group rides. Sheese - I never thought that I would admit to succumbing to peer pressure at my age!

BTW - I ride with a guy who runs a low-end aluminum frame with *bottom of the line* Shimano components and he rips *everyone's* legs off. Let us not overlook that the bike does not make the rider.
You think this site is bad,raler
Aug 23, 2001 2:22 PM
hop on over to carreview.com. Go to the imports vs domestics forum. It makes this board seem like Sunday school.

I was surfing around, doing some searches for some new car info and came across this. Pretty funny. Gregg should be proud of the civility shared here.

Everyone gets fired up sometimes, and I think its fine the way its done on this board most of the time. Its pretty dignified here if you ask me.
You're right! Guys and their cars nmBrian C.
Aug 23, 2001 3:00 PM
Well, domestics do suck nm :PMade in Taiwan
Aug 23, 2001 11:20 PM
m
Dont ever give this guy a real bike,raler
Aug 23, 2001 2:17 PM
he'd drop us all! Or most of us. Serious.
ding ding ding, scorcher pulling throughclub
Aug 24, 2001 5:48 AM
nothing like passing and dropping roadies on my scorcher with 700x41 fatties and a too-tall fixed gear. I hear the handlebar streamers look cool from the rear...
I'm seriously thinking of getting a bell ...Humma Hah
Aug 24, 2001 6:42 AM
... I've been known to get hoarse shouting "on your left". And half the folks on the bike trail seem to have some difficulty with English, anyway.

No streamers on mine. The bars are filled with plastic resin, and the foam grips offer no way to attach them. I do have a license plate with my name on it, though, and the bike's chainguard (yes, it still has the original) has restored decals and the bike's name on it.

http://www.angelfire.com/va2/TomLigon/hummahah.htm
here ya goHaiku d'état
Aug 24, 2001 10:29 AM
$3.45, nashbar. got one on my w'flyer. not only can you announce your approach, but you always have direction!