RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Douglas vs. Zepplin(14 posts)

Douglas vs. ZepplinFlothru
Aug 23, 2001 9:28 AM
I would like to know if anyone has any feed back on the Douglas(Colorado Cyclist)compared to the Airbourne Zepplin. I am interested to know which one is stiffer for sprinting and if they are even comparible quality? Any feedback will be appriciated.

Thanks and ride on...
re: Douglas vs. Zepplinnova
Aug 23, 2001 11:41 AM
I have the Zepplin, and no experience with the Douglas. The Zep is a good bike, I have nearly 7000 miles on mine and I like the ride. If you want to avoid controversy in both the political and cycling worlds, get the Douglas. It has a more traditional geometry and is made in the US (I beleive)

If insults roll off your back like rainwater, the Zepplin might just suit you.
do I first get a water bottle? :-) (nm)ET
Aug 23, 2001 12:18 PM
.
Almost too embarrassed to answer.MB1
Aug 23, 2001 12:48 PM
After all the flames below about Airbourne I went downstairs and checked out the Robert Miller review of the Zepplin in Pro Cycling Magazine. As I read it, he concludes that the Zepplin is a very comfortable bike for long rides not a sprinter. Quality seemed to be fine but remember that magazine reviews are not long-term tests.

Why don't you directly contact some of the posters below that like their Airbourne bikes and get their honest (non waterbottle influenced opinions).

Me, I'd do almost anything for a free waterbottle ;-).
re: Douglas vs. ZepplinGary M
Aug 23, 2001 1:36 PM
I bought a Douglas earlier this year and have been very happy with it. Douglas is Colo Cyclist's house brand with frame by Titanium Sports and Shimano, Ritchey and Reynolds components. I am not a sprinter but it seems very stiff to me and I haven't noticed any flex when I stand on it (I weigh 175). Unlike the Mongoose ti frame also made by TST, the stays are shaped which I believe gives it additional stiffness. I have the polished finish which is maintenance free but I don't believe it currently available. Colo Cyclist currently has Douglas's on sale for just under $1800 (Ultegra). It is a darn good price.

Hope this helps.
Can You Ask to Have Douglas Listed?Rich Clark
Aug 23, 2001 2:31 PM
Kristen was dead-on in a post below: there needs to be an easier way to get more products listed to be reviewed. I'd like to have a chance to bash this POS Planet Bike computer, for example.

Douglas frames have been mentioned several times on here recently, and you owners who have experience with them need to have a place to review them.

I'll send you one of my Airborne water bottles.

RichC
re: Douglas vs. ZepplinJS5280
Aug 23, 2001 1:39 PM
Hi Flothru,

Can't comment on the Douglas, but I am a 2001 Zepp owner. I doubt you'll find much to quantify stiffness between these two frames. You usually don't see that info anywhere about any bike. Since both are Ti, they will be pretty close by virtue of material. However by reading the Douglas (Colorado Cyclist) description, the Douglas is double butted (i.e. they shave off extra Ti in the non-critical areas) and is lighter than the Zepp frame of equal size. That would favor the Zepp for stiffness. However geometry and shaped tubing also come into play. Both have shaped tubing but in different areas so you still can't really say which is stiffer without riding them, and even then it would probably be pretty tough to tell. Are you a particularly large rider (i.e. over 200 lbs), because if not, I doubt you'd feel much flex anyway.

That said, I would go to your next important criteria to determine which bike is right for you. I love my Zepp, Airborne does a great job of getting you fitted over the phone, backs you up if something doesn't work out right, and you get exactly the bike you want since you pick the componets. There's some people on the list (as I'm sure you read below) that don't like Airborne for some unknown or non-bike performance reason but those people don't own (and probably have never ridden nor seen) an Airborne. I was amazed at how much people liked their Airborne based on the reviews and that made it an easy decision for me. This was before the "water bottle" hoopla which really doesn't mean a hill of beans anyway if you read the reviews past, and present. They all sound the same and are generally glowing reviews. I would add myself to that list. Good luck with your decision!
re: Douglas vs. Zepplinjust wonderin
Aug 23, 2001 3:42 PM
WHATS THE WATER BOTTLE HOOPLA. I MISSED SOMETHING
re: Douglas vs. Zepplin4bykn
Aug 23, 2001 11:17 PM
Airborne offered to its newsletter subscribers a free waterbottle for any (good or bad) review at RoadBikeReview. Might have been a public relations mistake, but the reviews turned out predominately positive.
re: Douglas vs. ZepplinDaveG
Aug 23, 2001 4:48 PM
I haven't ridden either, but I happened to be at Colorado Cyclist last week and was checking out the Douglas. Comparing the Douglas to the Litespeed sitting next to it, I couldn't help noticing that the welds on the Douglas appeared much smoother than the LS. Perhaps the welds are ground/polished on the Douglas to improve appearance?
re: Douglas vs. Zepplinrodemiles
Aug 24, 2001 2:32 AM
I bought the Douglas from Colorado Cyclist this spring. Overall, I've been very happy with the bike. After riding steel for 28 years, I was a little concerned about making the switch, but have made this bike my primary bike now. It has a slightly softer ride than my steel frames, probably due to the carbon fork. Plenty of bottom bracket stiffness. The only complaint I have is the Ritchey wheels: had two failures the first month. CC promptly took care of the problems, shipping out new wheels immediately. Evidently they've had a problem with the bladed spokes. I've now gone to the more standard ultegra wheels and open pro rims. Not as trendy but pretty much bulletproof. The frame itself is very pretty; I opted for the polished finish and am very glad, as it is extremely easy to keep looking new. I'm looking to be riding this bike for a long time.
Don't use waterbottles--Love My AirborneChris Zeller
Aug 24, 2001 9:05 AM
I haven't ridden the Dougls but I love my Airborne. My review isn't colored by any free watter bottles, I use a camelback and don't even have (retero) cages on my bike. The two primary differences that I see are:

Douglas uses Double Butted Ti frames, Airborne are ovalized straight gauge

Airborne offers a lifetime frame warrantee and unconditional gaurantee
I think Douglas is 5 years, I don't think you can send it back if you don't like it after riding it. a Ti frame shouldn't have any problems anyway.

If you go with Douglas, buy the frame alone and configure the parts yourself. With Airborne you configure everything yourself online so you get pretty close to a custom bike.

I bought a Carpe Diem because I want to tour occasonally. I would have considered the Douglas had I wanted a purely racebike. The Carpe Diem is more comfortable on longer rides with less BB stiffness. There are only two ther bikes in its class, a lightspeed and a Seven. Both were out of my pricerange, but the Airborne was just right.
Your waterbottle is on the way! ;-) nmMB1
Aug 24, 2001 10:25 AM
re: Douglas vs. ZepplinEN
Aug 24, 2001 12:55 PM
Get a frame direct from Titanium Sports and save some money. They have several models to choose from on clearance. Hope they have one that fits you. Good luck

http://www.titaniumsports.com/bikes/