RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cut off in a left turn lane ...(14 posts)

Cut off in a left turn lane ...Humma Hah
Aug 22, 2001 1:34 PM
... so there I was, in the left turn lane, about 6 cars back from the light, when car number 5 in the traffic waiting to go straight decides to turn left instead. He hit the gas and pulled out in front of me.

So, using my lightning-fast reflexes, I hit the brakes and got a little sideways in the sand and grit that collects between the lanes. The bike was about parallel to him, I'm maybe 5 feet from his open window, shouting "Hey! Hey" Hey!", and getting no response. He pulled ahead as if nobody were there, also ignoring the car right behind me.

I pulled up beside him at the intersection, noticing the deafening kabooms coming from his econo-box hatchback as the rap pounded at about a kilowatt. "You cut me off!" I shouted to the punk driving.

He just shrugged.

Shouldn't there be something in the driver's test to rule out the brain-dead?
Rule out the brain dead?peloton
Aug 22, 2001 1:47 PM
When I was younger I always wondered how I scored in the 95 percentile of standardized tests. Then I taught in an inner city public school. Most of America a IS brain dead. I seriously wonder how some people survive childhood. Worst part is, these brain dead folks think the world revolves around them. Their driving is no different. Watch out for yourself out there. Not everyone is playing with a concept of how to watch out for anyone than themselves. If we set up driving tests to week out the brain dead, not many people would be left on the roads. Sorry for the rant.
And my wife wants me to teach ...Humma Hah
Aug 22, 2001 2:11 PM
... My wife thinks, and I agree, that I could teach science. Trouble is, everything else besides teaching that goes along with the job. Heck, they won't even let you beat the kids with a hickory stick any more.

I wrote an article a few years ago for Analog Science Fiction and Fact that won an award and got a bunch of kids started on fusion research. I can testify, from the e-mail I got from them (and am still getting) that there are a few gems out there. I would hope, if I did try teaching science, that I'd find one or two to make it all worthwhile.
And my wife wants me to teach ...Rusty Coggs
Aug 22, 2001 4:59 PM
My son in law thought he wanted to teach Hi school. Got the education,did one semester,said no way,and went back to college and became a lawyer.Some of the morons I went to school with were unteachable even with a hickory stick,and it's only gotten worse.
And my wife wants me to teach ...peloton
Aug 22, 2001 5:20 PM
Junior high, kids were unbelievable. I can't even remember thinking about some of the things that they said at their age. Swearing at teachers, starting fist fights in class, threatening me, heck I had one kid who pulled a knife on another when changing class! It's truly sad the way some of these kids nowadays conduct themselves and think nothing of it. Where I taught it was more like crowd control than sharing knowledge. Some classes I was just happy to get through without incident, let alone teach anything. I did that for four and a half monthes. Never again. Teachers are WAY underpaid, and don't get the respect they deserve. It's a very hard job.
I don't want my wife to teach anymore.grzy mnky
Aug 22, 2001 6:09 PM
Had my wife bail on teaching for a while (high school math and bilingual) - no way was the stress worth it for both of us. And it certainly wasn't worth the unbelievably low pay and abuse directed at her. In Calif. we now pride ourselves of being ahead of Miss. and in 49th place in education. I simply can't believe all of the lip service every politician running for election gives it then does next to zilch when in office. Gray Davis had the great idea of giving teachers a tax break - of course you have to make something to pay taxes on first. Love the latest idea of subsidized housing so that teachers can be the equivalent of indentured servants living in the projects. Maybe we'll have a new uderclass - migrant teachers. I have a really great idea - why don't we simply pay them a decent wage? What is really the hang up? I don't really mean to pick on Davis - he's trying and they are putting some raises in place, but it's peanuts. Of course the energy thing has displaced thoughts about education.

Next election there'll be a fresh set of suits saying that education is their number one priority and doing a bunch of finger pointing. And the cycle will repeat. Ever notice that eductaion is realy just an election year issue? Fact of the matter is people simply don't care enough to make it happen. So if you're well off you send your kids to good schools and stay involved and if *you're* not then they're most likely screwed, develop a drug problem and get a McJob.

Ever stop to think that the wealthy and the people with real power don't really want things to change all that much. What's in it for them - they're kids will be fine no matter what and who really want's to increase future competition for them?

For now the market has decided that it's not worth ensuring that every child gets a good education or a good teacher.
I don't want my wife to teach anymore.Tigercoach
Aug 22, 2001 6:48 PM
I'm in my fourth year of teaching, and you're right, the cycle will always repeat. I'm always hearing politicians talk about education. I'm always hearing about getting special programs in place for teachers, yet I never see it happen. I'm sure it does in some places, but I've never experienced it. Plus, teaching will always be a low paid job, and it has nothing to do with the 'wealthy' or 'those in power'. Simply put, teaching is a job with very little respect, and that will probably never change. Far too many people think teaching is easy because everyone has gone through our educational system and think they know what it takes to teach. I've had kids tell me that teachers have it easy because all we do is sit around and grade papers. I had a parent last year scream and yell at me for 20 minutes about why his kid didn't play in a football game, even though he took his kid home at halftime without telling us about it. He sure had a lot of 'good' screaming advice for me though about how to coach a football team. Everyone is a genius when it comes to teaching and coaching. I'm always reading editorials and letters in newspapers about how teachers get summers off and two weeks at Christmas, so we don't deserve better pay. And I'm sure we've all seen the bumper sticker that says "Those who can do, those who can't teach". Talk about summing up society's view of teachers.
Everyone points the finger at teachers for our educational problems, because it's easy to do. Well, when you point a finger, you have at least three others pointing back at you. During PT conferences I have very few parents come in to see me, and I've had several kids tell me their parents think we're stupid and don't know anything. But, it just comes with the territory I guess. I still love my job, and it's worth it when you see a kid change and become a good citizen, or the pride they feel when the team wins a football game or they win a wrestling match.
As for biking, I love riding my bike into school because my kids think it's neat I do it, and they always tell me what a nice bike I have. They ask me lots of questions about my equipment, if I race, and I've even had one kid take up road biking because of it. I think biking makes me seem more human to them, because they all ride their bikes around town. Hopefully, I can use my teaching job to get more kids into it!!! Thanks for letting me speak my mind.
I don't want my wife to teach anymore.peloton
Aug 22, 2001 7:14 PM
It's too bad teachers don't get the respect or wages they deserve. Anyone who thinks teaching is easy should get into a classroom for a couple of weeks, and they would develop a new respect for our educators. When I hear politicians who have NEVER been in a teaching situation talk about education I can't help but think how ignorant of the subject that they are. Look at how run down our schools are, how underpaid our teachers are, and how the public percieves education. Things are going to get worse before it gets better.

I actually had a student put his fist up to take a swing at me when I broke up a fight in which he was pummeling a younger student. I told him in no uncertain terms that it would be the worst mistake he ever made if he threw that punch. He was suspended. The next day his mother had the nerve to come in to yell at me because he was suspended. It must be my fault that her son is out of control. That was a fairly typical incident where I taught.

I love helping people improve themselves and watching them improve and I work in athletics now. I have a very healthy respect for teachers in public schools. In the city, they deal with more than most anyone knows.
and eliminate over half(conservative) the pouluation ...nmRusty Coggs
Aug 22, 2001 4:51 PM
nm
product of a fine liberal education? nmTD
Aug 22, 2001 6:49 PM
American education is a jokegirodebirdman
Aug 23, 2001 12:29 AM
It is hard to figure out why we are in such dire straights with our system. Friends from Europe can't believe how apathetic and ignorant American kids are, even in college. No one seems to care, being a kid somehow is a license to be a punk, not care about anything, and treat people wrongly. I saw it the whole time I was growing up. College wasn't much different: did many people really "care" about their education? No, they just were at school because that is what you do when you get out of HS; you go and party at college, getting C's in your classes. Perhaps it is just the greed and self-absorbment of American culture that teaches kids how to behave: I rarely see a sense of duty to others being instilled in people my age, or younger. Our country revolves around materialism and "me-first" attitudes, so what do we expect?
Humma, look what you have started. I think you ought to teachMB1
Aug 23, 2001 5:18 AM
in DC. I can just see you going to work in Southeast riding your bike in a full suit of armor.

Sorry to make light of these teacher rants when every word is heart felt. Truly the problem is not at the teacher level it is the parents, administration and politics. From the viewpoint of someone who doesn't have kids education looks like the biggest black hole ever and a huge waste of resources. I admire anyone who teaches and stays with it.

Now lets get back to riding and ranting.
Observed similar scene in DCcyclopathic
Aug 23, 2001 7:10 AM
car cut off a Messenger
he wasn't so kind as you he got out a cut down baseball bet (attached to fork neatly) and smashed rear window. I couldn't do anything but stop and applaud, nice job fella!
Not good.MB1
Aug 23, 2001 12:24 PM
Sounds like the bike messenger was prepared and looking for trouble. That wasn't self-defense, he attacked a car from behind.

If you ride in DC crazy things happen and we cyclists are not innocent. I can't even imagine how many times a day I break a law while commuting. The long-term solution is to survive by going with the flow and not fighting it.

Let's be careful out there.