RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Spinning(10 posts)

SpinningPEDDLFOOT
Aug 22, 2001 5:42 AM
I'm an avid roadie and a certified Spinning instructor.I would like to know what other riders think of the Spinning program.Have you ever tried it and how does it rate for a training program for your cycling.
Works for me.....James1
Aug 22, 2001 6:46 AM
I went to spin classes for about 5 months last year and it improved my cardio fitness, but mostly was beneficial in developing a smooth pedal stroke and getting me away from being such a "masher" on the pedals.
Works for me.....Tami
Aug 22, 2001 7:00 AM
I'm told by other cyclists that I'm a walking advertisement for Spinning. I just took up road cycling at the end of April but took Spinning all winter. People can't believe I've only been riding four months due to both my fitness level and pedal stroke. I did my first century in mid-May and have done a number of others since then. I completed one a couple of weeks ago averaging 21 MPH. (It was pretty flat but we booked.) I've seen some people comment that spinning is only good if a real cyclist teaches the class because many instructors have you doing things that you wouldn't do on a bike (like jumps up and down out of the saddle). In my experience, it doesn't really matter since it is a good cardio workout regardless and that transfers to anything. As long as one doesn't have joint problems that some of these moves might aggrevate, anything that gets the heart pumping in the winter is a good thing.
Works for me.....Mel Erickson
Aug 22, 2001 7:40 AM
Nothing says you have to follow the lead of the spinning instructor. If they do things that aren't beneficial, or may be detrimental, for road cycling then just don't do them. My main concern is picking up bad habits that carry over to the road. Nontheless, one will probably be ahead. Overall I don't see a problem. It certainly beats sitting on the couch.
I do not like spinning because...wink
Aug 22, 2001 7:50 AM
1. No feeling of freedom like on my bike.
2. No wind movement.
3. No excitement, like going down a hill at 45 mph
4. No seeing, catching and dropping other riders or groups.
5. No racing home before the rain starts.
6. No deciding to go an extra 5 miles before it gets dark.

This list can grow easily

I tried spinning last winter when we were iced in, but I would rather swim, play squash, cross train then spin.

I guess in general spinning has very few sensations and emotions when compared to cycling. If you want a great work out go spinning. If you an experience go cycling. .... Well you asked!
not to mentiontinky
Aug 22, 2001 8:29 AM
the bikes: saddle, crank length, pedals, bars, etc.
another wayBreezydz
Aug 22, 2001 9:30 AM
Our lbs has winter spinning and we bring our own bikes and stands to the back room. A better way, but still nothing like being outdoors and riding up and down hills. I run in bad weather or darkness.
I'd rather bundle up and hit the roads...AlexR
Aug 22, 2001 11:08 AM
or swim, lift, run, just about anything is more fun than riding a stationary bike. I did a full winter of spin class two years ago and vowed to get myself enough warm clothing to stay on the real bike.

One more thing about spinning - the enjoyment and intensity of workout depend heavily on the instructor. God save us from college girls who like crap music.

Alex
re: Spinning, mini rant, sorry.....Lardog
Aug 22, 2001 11:25 AM
I've been riding on and off for about 26 years. On the road bike for about 7 after about 7 on a mountain bike. I tried Spinning a couple of years ago and thought, *what the $%*& is this crap????? I was later able to bridge the gap, well, not really, just use it as a great training help. The bridge is sometimes close and sometimes too far to bridge depending upon your perspective. Most of my rides on the bike are not true, exclusively focus on breathing and cardio training rides. They are rather fun/social rides, or crit type training rides, or centuries, or charity rides, or new advanture rides to places unknown, etc. When I teach class or workout on the Spinner I can find myself really concentrating on breathing and exacting heart and cardio training because I don't worry about spilling, and traffic and bumps in the road, and other riders, etc. I can dial in an exact workout because I make the resistance rather than it being a surprise on the road. I stare at the monitor and what's goin' on.

I am a certified instructor and utilize teaching in a way extremely beneficial to myself and to my riding and not necessarily what the masses want for excitement. They do in my opinion, get a better learning experience and workout from my classes than many others that I have seen. I am the only instructor in the gym association that is a long long time rider and I teach it differently. Most attendees do not have monitors and thus, have no clue where they're at as far as cardio training. They want yellers and screamers, lights off, pounding music and they just want to go til they burn or barf. I call it stupid training. When I strap my monitor on them, their eyes open.

Note, there is a huge educational level gap between both instructors and class attendees at indoor cycling only gyms and gyms such as my association and others such as Gold's, World, 24 Hour Fitness, etc.

The easiest way to figure out what's goin' on is to ask the participants what they're doin' there and what they want to accomplish. Most don't even know enough to say, "a good cardio workout" or "to burn fat". Most in the classes that I've seen need to concentrate on cardio endurance and fat burning, but most don't know enough about what they're doing there to do just that.

I utilize what I call smart training. I transition from cardio endurance, strength, zone training, recovery training and mixes thereof often. I teach a *race day* type of training every two or three weeks only, whereas most every class I see is that exclusively. I teach more about what the class is doing, and the whys than any other instructor that I've personally taken class from.

I use it for what it is, great cardio training. I'm not looking to mimic the bumps in the road, the wind, the views, though they're awfully great most of the time :). Don't have to be outside for good views, that's for sure.....
re: SpinningDINOSAUR
Aug 22, 2001 12:52 PM
I'd rather spend two hours stomping on a bunch of wet towels in my bath tub then spend 15 minutes on a stationary bike. I hate exercising indoors. Being outside and in the elements is what it's all about for me. Besides that I'm a hermit, I couldn't stand all those people they would drive me nuts, I'm half over the edge already. I'd rather spend time talking to my favorite tree...