RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?(17 posts)

Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?rpicayo
Aug 21, 2001 4:16 PM
I currently have conti ultra 2000's that came with my bike. They have 1600 miles and 2 flats (one each) on them but have a bunch of nicks in them, so I'm looking around at new tires that are a little more durable. Performance have their Forte Pro Kevlar tires that are actual lighter than the conti's and only $3 more. Does anyone know if they are any good?

R
I'm ticked at Performance right now...cory
Aug 21, 2001 4:19 PM
...for unbelievably crappy service on a recent order. But I've used the tires for years and never had a complaint except that they tend to run WAY small.
re: Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?Lone Gunman
Aug 21, 2001 4:27 PM
Check the archives. I recall alot of posts about Forte tires and the consensus was half the price of a top tire and you change them out at about 1200 miles or so. If that is the same tire.
Not badLC
Aug 21, 2001 5:04 PM
They don't grip on corners or feel quite as good as an Axial Pro and they don't last nearly as long or as a Ultra 2000. The best thing about them is they are very light weight and not too high priced. The diamond point tread is kind of noisey, but overall I though they were a good value and did not feel sorry I bought them.
best cheap tire I've ever used...keith m.
Aug 21, 2001 5:17 PM
I thought they gripped really well. I have never gotten a single flat through two sets. Only problem was mileage was low. About 12-1400 for the rear.
re: Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?DaveG
Aug 21, 2001 5:21 PM
I bought a set back in late June. At that time they were on sale for $15 each. I am reasonably happy with them so far. I don't think they ride quite as well as the Vittoria's they replaced but they are good enough for my riding. They seem to resist cuts fairly well. My only flat with them was a snakebite. Others here have suggested they are not very long lasting. Since I have less than 1000 miles on them its too early to tell. If they last the rest of the season I'll be happy.
You confusing two different tiresLC
Aug 21, 2001 5:40 PM
The Pro's are the black ones that are silicon based, and the cheaper Yellow ones are rubber. I have not tried the yellow, but I heard they lasted longer if that is your goal.
you are rightDaveG
Aug 21, 2001 6:07 PM
You called that one right, I do have the yellow ones, which as you pointed out, do not use the silicon compound. Perhaps they might last longer at the expense of some performance.
My experience...DINOSAUR
Aug 21, 2001 5:21 PM
I'm still experimenting with the Forte Pro Kevlars. Like you, I wanted to try something different and save money. I was a confirmed user of the Conti GP3000 but @ $47.00 a tire + tax, I was getting fed up with chucking tires due to sidewall cuts when they were almost new.

I installed the Forte Pro's 6-23, the rear tire developed a bulge in the tire casing and I installed a new FP 8-01. I think the tire bulged when I blew a tube in my garage because the tire wasn't seated properly (my fault).

The front tire has about 1200 miles on it and it should be good for another 1k or more. The rear tire, which I replaced, only has a couple of hundred miles on it, so it's too soon to tell.

I've had two flats that I can recall. The tire thread is sort of a herring bone pattern and the tires don't pick up a lot of debris, which was the problem with the Conti's.

My opinion is that @ 20.00 a tire you can't go wrong. They ride OK and have excellent rolling resistance. My first impression upon comparing them with my Conti's is that they would'nt hold up. The Conti's are just beefier and appear to be of better quality. However the FP's held up better than I expected. I still have two in stock, and when I need new tires I'll probably go with the Forte Pro's again, unless I see another tire I want to experiment with.

For the price, you can't beat them. I was hoping for 1k on a $20.00 tire and they have exceeded that mileage.

I've had mixed luck with Performance service. Perhaps they are overrun now because of their big summer sale. I joined Team Performance and have second day shipping and I've had no shipping problems.
I've tried a bunch of tires in the past year ...bianchi boy
Aug 21, 2001 7:30 PM
Including the Performance kevlar tires with the yellow sidewalls. The Performance tires have gotten good reviews in previous threads here. They seemed to work fine for me, but they started looking kind of crappy very soon because the yellow sidewalls get all discolored. I ended up selling them with a wheelset that I was getting rid of.

During the past year, I also have tried Michelin Axial Pros, Continental GP 3000s, and Panaracer Stradius. I tend to buy whatever quality tire I can get the best price on. I like the handling of the Axial Pros, but they aren't the greatest wearing and the lack of a tread kind of bugs me for some reason although it's not supposed to matter. The Panaracers seem to get about the same amount of wear as the APs but don't seem to handle as well. I like the Conti GP 3000s the best, but they're hard to find on sale. I also recently bought some Michelin Hi-Lites with the red & black sidewalls on sale at Performance for about $19 each. I haven't installed them yet, but I figured they worth trying for the price.
Love them. Or at least like them a whole lot.MB1
Aug 22, 2001 4:39 AM
We use the Forte Kevlar Road 700X26 on our tandem. As someone else pointed out they do seem a lot skinnier than the marked size. I usually change them after 2000 miles or so and use the old front tire for commuting. I toss the rear tire.

Yes they get ugly after a while. But they ride fine and we have had only 1 puncture in about 12,000 miles. That is really good for a tandem. I usually buy several when they are on sale for less than $20.00.
same tire?alex the engineer
Aug 22, 2001 6:07 AM
I believe that Nashbar brand tires are exactly the same. I bought a pair of NBAR kevlar tires, and found that they were a bit cheap. Slightly out of round and sloppy molding are common traits with cheap tires, kevlar usually is more hype than substance (they never say how many threads per inch-the only thing that matters). I can buy a $10-15 tire at my bike shop-why would i want to order one sight-unseen?
If you are looking for flat protection, go for Contis 2000's, or something else good. Specialized Armadillo tires are just about bulletproof, too, as are Tufo tubulars. Don't get suckered by the word Kevlar. There are many aramid fiber belts and carcasses which work as well, or better than cheap kevlar belts. Some cheap tires have threads of kevlar poking through the rubber which actually CAUSE flats!!
re: Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?Turtleherder
Aug 22, 2001 7:05 AM
I buy them on sale and then use them early in the season (March and April) when there is still alot of junk on the road from the winter. They handle pretty well and don't seem to flat very often given the stuff I ride through at that time of the year. In May I take them off and put on a "better" tire for the rest of the year.
re: Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?rpicayo
Aug 22, 2001 9:40 AM
I'm the original poster. It seems like I've caused more confusion than I resolved. The Forte Pro Kevlar are all black, the Forte Kevlar as someone else posted are the yellow sidewalled ones. The Pro's are $33 a tire (hardly cheap) and the regular ones are $20 a tire (yes cheap). Am I to believe that the more expensive ones will wear less? Is that a trade off for performance?

BTW, they are backordered at performance now. Hmmm... maybe a good sign, maybe not.

R
re: Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?BroBiker
Aug 22, 2001 9:44 AM
My Perf Forte Kevlar (yellow) tires had problems with the sidewalls. Both front and rear developed cut in the sidewall. That didn't make me to comfy so I haven't purchased them again.

The Perf Forte Pro Kevlar (black)tires are a better tire. No problems with the sidewall and they seem to wear equal to other tires I have ridden.

I can't justifiy paying $40+ for bike tires when I can pick up Pro Kevlars for $20.

BB
re: Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?rpicayo
Aug 22, 2001 9:48 AM
>>I can't justifiy paying $40+ for bike tires when I can pick up Pro >>Kevlars for $20.

Where? Performance has them for $33. The 3 for $60 are just the plain fortes, aren't they?
R
re: Anyone have any experience with Performance kevlar tires?beck
Aug 22, 2001 12:56 PM
to get the best prices at Performance you must watch their web site for sale prices,be a member of Team Performance-10% rebate on next order,and use the web only 20% off coupon code in 9/2001 Mountain Bike Action-good until 10/1.They periodically put the different Forte tires on sale at big discounts-if you are patient you will be able to get a great deal on them.