RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Are bikes guy magnets? Or is it just some bikes.(26 posts)

Are bikes guy magnets? Or is it just some bikes.MB1
Aug 20, 2001 11:32 AM
Miss M has a Rivendell. Almost every time she rides the darn thing (and she rides it a lot) somebody comes up to her and comments about the bike. It is probably not her most exotic ride but it is the only one that gets this kind of attention. She picked just about the plainest paint job they offer-pea soup green and the parts are kind of ordinary.

It is not just the middle aged men either, other women, mountain bikers just plain people ask her about it.

So what's up, anybody else notice an unusual interest in a particular bike?
anything exoticDog
Aug 20, 2001 11:56 AM
I think people are interested in anything new or rare. You don't see many Rivendell's in person, and they have a good reputation. I'd check them out.

Gals on bikes are definitely guy magnets. I think it's every guy cyclist's fantasy to be with a serious female cyclist. It's not about the bike.

Dog
just some bikes.Breezydz
Aug 20, 2001 12:15 PM
I'd definitely ask a few questions of somebody riding a Rivendell which I consider a very exotic and useful bike. Bike parts wouldn't move me at all.
Which bikes?mike mcmahon
Aug 20, 2001 12:24 PM
Which bikes would most people here go out of their way to ask about: Rivendell, Sachs, Moon, Bayliss? When this type of subject comes up, small-builder, lugged-steel usually gets the nod most frequently.
Which bikes?Breezydz
Aug 20, 2001 1:13 PM
Old Italian or British steel also start me talkin'.
A blue Moon with gold lugwork ...Humma Hah
Aug 20, 2001 2:30 PM
... would catch my eye from about 100 yards, and draw me over to chat about it.
Sachs yes, Baylis no.DMoore
Aug 20, 2001 4:56 PM
I have both. The Sachs elicits a bit of comment; nobody except another Baylis rider has ever noticed the Baylis. It's not one of Brian's flashy paint jobs (but it is a beautiful deep metallic red), so that may be a factor.

My Litespeed Ultimate is painted pearl white with red panels to match my Richard Sachs. It even has "lugs" painted onto the top tube and down tube at the head tube junctions. THAT has drawn more comments than either of my exotic steel bikes.
Didn't Baylis paint Sach's frames?nmTom C
Aug 20, 2001 6:03 PM
Quite some time ago, yes.DMoore
Aug 20, 2001 6:49 PM
The story goes that Brian Baylis wanted to spend more time building and painting his own frames, and recommended a local up-and-coming San Diego painter to Richard Sachs as his replacement. Sachs was skeptical, but decided to give the "new kid" a chance. The new guy was, of course, Joe Bell. The rest is history, and JB is now widely known as one of the very best painters in the country.
My sweetie is a biker babe, and...MrCelloBoy
Aug 20, 2001 1:36 PM
She gets a lot of attention when riding her Merlin Echo softtail with the Spinergy Spox (Yellow and blue vectran spokes) wheels.
We also got lots of oohs and ahhhs on a borrowed Calfee Tetra Tetra tandem at a recent century. I have to figure that our own Calfee (expected delivery T-2 weeks) will garner even more looks with its ChromaLusion over raw carbon paint job.

YIKES!

And I'm the happiest guy in the world since I hooked up with a real biker-babe! Especially when we're kicking butt on a tandem!

It's heartwarming and a bit surreal to have a mate that ENCOURAGES spending almost all disposable income on bike schwag!
and then she's sexy on top of that! GAWD!
There is a Santa Claus!
color me greenDog
Aug 20, 2001 1:43 PM
I'm envious. That does, indeed, seem a bit surreal.

Dog
Didn't mean to gloat that loud...MrCelloBoy
Aug 20, 2001 2:16 PM
jes cain't help it sometimes!
She actually suggested cancelling our bike trip to Ireland (Hoof and mouth scare) and buying the Calfee tandem!
I kid you not!
She's one-in-a-million.
We're planning to do the Davis Double on the tandem next year as the kick-off on my first California Triple Crown attempt.

http://www.calfeedesign.com/tandem.shtml
The Triple Crown is really great.MB1
Aug 21, 2001 4:59 AM
But Davis comes awfully late in the year to get 3 in. Why don't you start with Solvang and get an early start.
2nd SolvangDog
Aug 21, 2001 5:49 AM
Solvang was a relatively fun, and fast double. While I needed 12:56 at the Terrible Two, Solvang only took 10:14, and that's with 3 flat tires. Great route for a tandem - not too much climbing.

Dog
color me greenLance's Neighbor
Aug 20, 2001 3:08 PM
Shouldn't that be color me celeste?
That's just not natural.look271
Aug 20, 2001 3:22 PM
Weren't our mates put here on this earth to discourage us from such "frivolity"? I'm envious. Must admit, though, that my wife is actually getting more understanding. I wonder how understanding she'll be if I get another bike? (She's ok'd the old beater/trainer bike, but I've been plotting the purchase of another road bike. You can never have too many.....)
mine too!Breezydz
Aug 21, 2001 6:59 AM
She's also less than 1 inch shorter and once I was very, very good and she let me ride her Pinarello.
I guess you've noticed, Miss M is quite fit ...Humma Hah
Aug 20, 2001 2:28 PM
... Its not just the bike. A lot of guys would like to have what you have. (Not I, my wife fits me as nicely as the old cruiser, but I can appreciate a trim woman as much as a trim bike.)

Of course, I mostly got to see her from the back, as she vanished into the distance.
Sometimes it is the bike...Kristin
Aug 20, 2001 2:45 PM
:-) Okay, not to self deprivate or anything. But I'm not a hot biker chick. And babe is not a word often heard in the same sentence as my name. But Bernardo gets his fair share of attention. After the Tuesday right, I brought it over to show a friend and I ended up with 10 people standing around chatting about the bike. And its not uncommon for people to make mention while passing. Its definately the bike! Most probably, its the DeBernardi factor. Its high zoot, and few people realize that they make a $350 frame.
Hey Krisitin...Don't discount yourself!MrCelloBoy
Aug 20, 2001 2:55 PM
What guys think of as a "biker babe" isn't (IMHO) the playboy fantasy, but a REAL woman, often under 36DD and with a nice Bubble-butt! Kick in some strong thighs rather than couch twigs and we're getting serious!
Am I right guys?
The stereotype sexy would be afraid to break a nail let alone a sweat!
You're right.look271
Aug 20, 2001 3:43 PM
Most of us are pigs. Really, which one of us wouldn't really prefer to ride "behind" a nice, fit, female tush over riding behind some guy's butt? I thought so. The DeBernardi doesn't hurt either.....This way we know that she's serious.
Sometimes it is the bike...Spinchick
Aug 20, 2001 4:29 PM
yeah well I've never been referred to as biker "babe" either...monster masher, speed freak, adrenaline junkie maybe. Besides - hot biker chick is in the eye (or whatever) of the beholder ;-)
re: Are bikes guy magnets? Or is it just some bikes.Velocipedio
Aug 20, 2001 3:04 PM
Was passed by the picture of female athletic fitness on a yellow Cervelo the other day, just like the one reviewed on ProCycle. She was is full aero and had to be going at least 45km/h. I would have definitely talked about the bike if I'd caught up... I woulda... I woulda...
Woah!MrCelloBoy
Aug 20, 2001 3:13 PM
Woulda sucked that wheel in a heartbeat. Make that 150 BPM!
Probly woulda pushed me all the way into a category!

What you say once you're hanging on is...
"Nice derailleur you got there Mrs. Cleaver!"
MB1's mate passed the 5000 mile mark for the year ...Humma Hah
Aug 20, 2001 3:50 PM
... a month or so ago, if I recall correctly. MB1 tells me he can't catch her, but I guess he knows where she lives!
10K actually. nmMB1
Aug 21, 2001 4:56 AM