RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Uuuuhhh... We have a Major Offender Here...(58 posts)

Uuuuhhh... We have a Major Offender Here...Skinsuit Police
Aug 20, 2001 6:45 AM
This pic was shot at a recent Northern NJ bike race... and yes, that suit is made of rubber... Where do they grow these people?
re: Uuuuhhh... We have a Major Offender Here...Lone Gunman
Aug 20, 2001 6:50 AM
Was this guy hoping to fall into the water or what? No chance of him sinking, wasn't he in an Al Yankovic video?
skinsuits - great motivation (for some) to lose weightDog
Aug 20, 2001 6:50 AM
If you want motivation to burn those love handles off, put on a tight skinsuit. They show everything. Some people have no pride, though.

Dog
re: Uuuuhhh... We have a Major Offender Here...wow
Aug 20, 2001 6:54 AM
is it a pregnant woman? or a male???!!!
This is mean, but...UncleMoe
Aug 20, 2001 6:58 AM
Doesn't he kinda look like Bono from U2. Not that Bono is in bad shape, but if he was fat, this would be him.
What a way to start the week. nmMB1
Aug 20, 2001 6:58 AM
People really bike in rubber suits? (nm)Thioderek
Aug 20, 2001 7:08 AM
Should stencil that thing "Body by McDonald's & Guinness" (nm)RhodyRider
Aug 20, 2001 7:12 AM
My eyes! My eyes! Oh the humanity! (nt)Flava
Aug 20, 2001 7:15 AM
Does analyticcycling.com have an aero report on this?peloton
Aug 20, 2001 7:22 AM
What are the effects of such a gut? Unwanted drag? An aero fairing of human fat?
Does analyticcycling.com have an aero report on this?Mike Prince
Aug 20, 2001 7:36 AM
We could be onto something here. That gut could replace the seatpost fairings that the UCI has outlawed... >:-o
It's Jan Ullrich's aero secret- the aero gut! (nm)peloton
Aug 20, 2001 9:53 AM
nm
Does analyticcycling.com have an aero report on this?mr
Aug 23, 2001 11:25 AM
there are two big disadvantages to the 'beer' belly, 1) large frontal area, which results in pressure drag (bit like a truck versus sports car) 2) it raises your centre of gravity making you slower through corners.

helps on the descents though, and once youve built up momentum the extra mass makes it easier to maintain your speed (if your cycling in a vacuum)
that's worse than the "enema pic" (nm)Rusty McNasty
Aug 20, 2001 7:35 AM
Has he chosen a name for the baby yet????Point Given
Aug 20, 2001 8:05 AM
just curious
He's just practicing his belly-breathingmike mcmahon
Aug 20, 2001 8:34 AM
And from the look of it, he's pretty good. He appears to be holding enough oxygen to keep the entire population of a large rest-home in the pink for a year.
that's worse than the "enema pic" (nm) NO!cycleguy
Aug 20, 2001 7:18 PM
it's a ployjds
Aug 20, 2001 8:07 AM
inflatable skinsuit, provides a high fred factor and disguises true cat 1 rider. bonus points for the racquetball glasses
thar she (he/it) blows!nm
Aug 20, 2001 8:17 AM
nm
Isn't there a law?Atombomber
Aug 20, 2001 8:29 AM
I thought wearing lycra/rubber/latex/ (tight fitting clothing in general) was a priveledge, not a right.
OOOHHH MAAA Gawrsh itt's ME!! nmdirtbag
Aug 20, 2001 8:40 AM
I thought so but was too polite to mention it. ;-) nm.MB1
Aug 20, 2001 8:48 AM
And where is the sweet mother earth? nmMB1
Aug 20, 2001 8:49 AM
Under the wet suit!...dirtbag
Aug 20, 2001 9:23 AM
...This guy had to mean this to be a joke but the look on his face is dead serious! (actually kinda confused). Mabe this is desperate race tactics, everybody falls down laughing and you win!
I worry about refineries and checmial plants in Jersey - nmBreezydz
Aug 20, 2001 9:25 AM
Um. Aren't you guys being just a little harsh?Marlon
Aug 20, 2001 9:38 AM
No idea if he's a Fred, a poseur, or worse, but despite the skinsuit and all... at least (you hope, if he's wearing something like that) he's making the effort to be on a bike, moving around, and be active, instead of being a couch potato fixated on the boob tube. Yeah - so he's carrying a few extra pounds. And he's not my ideal of an ideal riding partner. But as long as he's riding, or trying to ride, then he's still a far sight better than some other people I know.

If he's wearing the suit just to pose in it though... sheesh. No mercy. Have at him!
yeah...Kristin
Aug 20, 2001 10:25 AM
I wrote out a long defense summarizing how you get what you deserve and how the entry fee for the race could have been better invested in a mirror. But ulitmately, you're correct, its cruel to make fun of people unaware. I have mixed feelings. I feel badly for the guy, but he did make the choice to wear that thing in public. Did he gain any competative advantage from the skin suit?
Yes, give him a break. Maybe he is pregnant. (nm)Bruno S
Aug 20, 2001 11:01 AM
re: Uuuuhhh... We have a Major Offender Here...Lone Gunman
Aug 20, 2001 10:38 AM
He looks like he's makin his own gravy in that suit!
Poll- how many fatties here would look like this (or worse)?porky
Aug 20, 2001 10:49 AM
Question 2- how many would dare wear this hideous thing?
I've taken to wearing a kilt after a ride.MB1
Aug 20, 2001 11:18 AM
My wife suggested it after she saw some other riders doing it. Terrific for changing clothes in public. (Also available in "Sumo" sizes).

Should be fun in the winter.
It's the new 2002 Camelbak Time Trial suit!keith m.
Aug 20, 2001 10:59 AM
no need for bottles to slow you down on those hyper fast TT's. Secondary effect of keeping you cool when you add ice to your drink of choice!
He probably wonDCP
Aug 20, 2001 11:06 AM
After all, how hard could you ride while laughing like mad? How could you avoid crashing? He may have been the only finisher.

Genius, pure genius, well . . . maybe some McDonald's and beer mixed in too, as suggested above, but genius nonetheless.

Now a strategy question, what next? Having used this ploy, it won't work again. Pink tu-tu maybe?
you could be rightDog
Aug 20, 2001 11:48 AM
Weight doesn't matter a lot in flat time trial. (I sure hope this was for a time trial.) Some of the overweight guys can be extremely powerful on the flats, having trained by hauling all that weight up and down hills. I've been passed on the flats by some really big guys.

BTW, I don't think we are making fun of him, really, but instead his choice to wear that thing, fat or skinny. Looks like painted on latex, and what the heck it that big black rectangle section in the front? The rule here I try to go by is not to say anything I wouldn't say to someone face to face - but I'd have a hard time not laughing even if standing toe to toe with him.

Dog
be nicealex the engineer
Aug 20, 2001 11:48 AM
Hey, at least he's trying! It may take him a whale-I mean while-to loose sumo-I mean some- weight, butt-I mean but-he has a porpoise-I mean purpose-in life. I'm sure fat-I mean that-it's not greasy-I mean easy-to get rid of a gut like that. Just grin and bear(pun intended) with it. It isn't THAT grizzly-I mean grisly-a sight.
I thought Devo split up? nmCar Magnet
Aug 20, 2001 12:27 PM
Oh my....Greg Taylor
Aug 20, 2001 12:49 PM
You know, any on-bike flatulence while wearing that suit would be just to hideous to contemplate...
DANG! I've been exposed!grzy mnky
Aug 20, 2001 1:13 PM
And I thought my identity was safe! My Superman cape was at the dry cleaners.

I think you answered your own question: they grow these people in NJ. Sorry for the jab at all the NJ riders, but they've got a thick skin and have been dealing with this stigma for a long time
actually....ashleyrenfroe
Aug 20, 2001 2:53 PM
I think he may be from LA---Lower Alabama!!!!

Hey, Roll Tide anyway!!
Tell me, is Joe Namath still a big deal in Alabama?(nm)Lone Gunman
Aug 20, 2001 4:03 PM
Why, h*!! yeah. (nm)12x23
Aug 20, 2001 5:08 PM
LA is in FLgrzy mnky
Aug 21, 2001 8:34 AM
Spent a year in Pensacola, FL thanks to Uncle Sam's boat club. It used to crack me up when the locals all said they're from "LA" - the part that FL swiped!

BTW - he can't be from LA - no "stars and bars" displayed.
My $.02......DINOSAUR
Aug 20, 2001 4:11 PM
You guys should be ashamed, I hope this guy doesn't see this post (it was posted on the VeloNews forum also). How many of us started out being a little overweight and out of shape? If he sees this he will most likely never want to get back on a bike again. You guys are poor ambassadors for the sport, shame, shame!!! Remember that someday you might get injured, or something else might pop up in your life (like work or childcare) and you won't be able to cycle. See what happens. Whatever comes around, goes around, see who has the last laugh. Sorry, making fun of someone at their own expense because of their body type is not my idea of being funny. It's cruel and mean spirited.
I'm with you, Dino. Enough said already...(nm)Spinchick
Aug 20, 2001 4:33 PM
No one asked him to wear a fricken sausage casing. nmGuillermo
Aug 20, 2001 4:47 PM
No one asked him to wear a fricken sausage casing. nmSkip
Aug 20, 2001 5:07 PM
But maybe the poor guy used to be a 300# couch potato, and has been dieting, biking, lifting weights, swimming, etc. over the past year, and now is happy with his progress to this point, racing ability, etc. Maybe this is just an intermediate step towards sveltedom. As Dino suggested, there but by the grace of God goes any one of us. Age, disease, genetics, trauma, life, or any number of things could have any one of us looking like this. Be careful of what you criticize, you may be next. Shame, shame.
Wouldn't it be a hoot....shmoo
Aug 20, 2001 5:36 PM
...if he rode a 1 hr. 40k that day? Can't always judge a book by its cover, but then again..........LOL.

I gotta agree with some of the posters though. At least the guy's doing it. He probably knows how he looks in that body condom, but figures "what the hell - I'm here to ride". Me?? My ego would keep me away from the event all together. Bad for me...good for him.
Shame, shame?Jon Billheimer
Aug 20, 2001 6:23 PM
Come on , Dino. Much as I respect your calm voice of reason on most matters, this is an example of uber-gauche taste! It's not his corpulence; it's the darn suit.
Actually...DINOSAUR
Aug 20, 2001 6:35 PM
Hot pink is my color of choice...
Please Jon,nutmegger
Aug 21, 2001 7:24 AM
don't piss on my leg and tell me it's raining outside. Why can't you see this for what it really is? The suit is clearly tacky but if the pro peloton was wearing it this year and it said Assos on it, everyone here would be asking for opinions on the hot new skin suit. Dog would tell us how he rode in his for 200 miles and was very pleased with the comfort and wind-cheating effects of his purchase. So, it's not about the tacky suit. It's about the fat guy in the tacky suit and everyone yukking it up while exercising the last socially accepted prejudice. Skinny guy in tacky suit, that describes almost everyone here. If you're one of those who thought this was a hoot, next time a redneck in a pickup makes a derisive remark as he rolls by you should have a lot to talk about at the stoplight. Because you're really cut from the same cloth.
I disagreemike mcmahon
Aug 21, 2001 8:15 AM
I've got arms that look like pipe-cleaners. If I started lifting weights and decided to enter a competition, I like to think I'd have enough sense not to show up oiled and wearing a muscle-man shirt. If I did and the picture showed up on the internet, I wouldn't be all that surprised. And I wouldn't accuse people of being prejudiced against skinny-armed people if they laughed at me. I don't think it's about prejudice. Some things just look funny: a fat guy in a skinsuit, a guy with skinny arms in a muscle t-shirt, a bald guy with a comb-over, a hairy guy in a Speedo (well almost anyone in a Speedo), etc. All IMHO.
Looks like rainnutmegger
Aug 21, 2001 5:02 PM
This is about laughing at a fat guy in a skinsuit, you said it yourself Mike. That was my message to those who insisted it was only about the tacky skinsuit. Put a great looking, shapely woman in the same skinsuit and this thread takes an entirely different tone with no references to the skinsuit being tacky. Some posters, incredibly, denied it had to do with it being a fat guy. Let's face it, put this guy in any kind of cycling garb and there is no way he can hide his physique, such as it is. So what should he do, stay at home and get bigger? Maybe he looks ridiculous now but at least he's on the road to recovery.
Mostly agreemike mcmahon
Aug 21, 2001 5:15 PM
Yep, I said it and I stick by it. However, some cycling garb is going to look less ridiculous than others. Personally, I don't think the guy would have looked out of the ordinary in cycling shorts and a jersey that didn't appear to be spray-painted on. I see guys that size riding all the time in more traditional bike-wear, and people aren't staring and pointing at them. I'm glad the guy's out there, whether he's looking to lose weight or just ride for the fun of it without concern about his weight. Maybe he's at his personal target weight. I just don't see it as an issue of prejudice. Lots of skinny people look pretty damn funny too.
We all look ridiculous at times...Jon Billheimer
Aug 21, 2001 6:00 PM
including myself. Political correctness aside, there's no harm at laughing at ourselves and others. The valid point being made here by some of you is, I think, that public ridicule is uncalled for and unkind and I agree. So I hope this guy doesn't see this board. Nevertheless the total image and effect is hilarious.
So good he's only viewed from behind - NMfiltersweep
Aug 20, 2001 6:54 PM
Wondering what he would ride??mtnrogue
Aug 21, 2001 1:46 PM
Trek AirFoil maybe...and his first race, and does not get out much...hope he did not suffer too much if it was hot.
mark
Two thoughts...DINOSAUR
Aug 21, 2001 8:57 PM
I recall when I started to start cycling again, winter of '99. I got all decked out in my cold weather gear, which was all black. I looked like Darth Vader. I felt sort of embarrased, and my teenage daughter nearly split a seam laughing when she saw her dad decked out in lycra. Well, teenage girls laugh at anything, so I rode anyway. An overweight, cigarette smoking, couch potato and lover of fine wine and spirits. No one laughed at me. I think if someone would have took my photo and posted it on a forum like this, one of two things would have happened. #1: I would have been devastated and hung my bike up, or #2: I would have been pissed and fired up to get in shape and loose weight. I remember when I started running back in the middle 60's. A friend laughed when he saw me running and said "I ran like a cow". Well 15 years later "The Cow" was running 5:30 mile splits for half and full marathons.
59 years on this earth if I've learned anything it's not to poke fun at people because of their appearance, and most important, be careful of what you say as it will come back to haunt you. It came back to haunt me.
For whatevers it's worth, we need to be kind to each other. Just my thoughts, not directed at anyone in particular.
Peace
Dino
It's Pearl Izumi!!!LittleAL
Aug 23, 2001 2:41 PM
Wonder where I can get one? ;)