RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?(24 posts)

What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?Jon Billheimer
Aug 14, 2001 9:56 AM
The thread that Delia started got me to thinking. Why is cycling so addictive for those of us who get into it? Obviously it's not something that appeals to masses of people, such as golf.

For me, I think it's the feeling of speed and freedom, and the challenge of going faster and farther. How about the rest of you?
PainPaulCL
Aug 14, 2001 10:05 AM
I finally figured out part of the appeal of cycling when I read Lance's book: its' the pain. Not feeling the pain, but the ability and will to supercede the pain. Every time I come back from a ride, I have beaten the foe, I have conquered the pain.

Besides, I like the speed, the freedom, being outside, participating in a 'misunderstood' sport, the challenge, and the 'oohs and ahs' I get when I mention that I just road 80 miles.....
re: What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?Spinchick
Aug 14, 2001 10:09 AM
I think you're right about the speed, freedom, challenge. If you are even the slightest bit of an adrenaline junkie, you're hooked the first time you tuck and head down that long hill sans brakes, screaming for joy and fear at the same time. Then it's the sense that every time you push yourself to the limit and break through to the other side, you're a better person for it. Yeah, cyclists are a weird bunch. Thank goodness for that - where else could we go where people would have the slightest idea what in the hell we're thinking? Plus, where else do you get to wear such cool clothes?
That, plus ...Humma Hah
Aug 14, 2001 10:16 AM
... it feels like flying, but with fewer hassles and a price I can afford. I can indulge in swooping, banking, diving, climbing, all the same things I do in a Cessna, but without the flight plans, air traffic control, $2.50/gallon fuel, 100-hour inspections, $50 an hour rental, $20/hour instructors ...

I absolutely delight in conquering miles. At the end of the day, I'm amazed at the amount of map I've been able to cover.
That, plus ...Skip
Aug 14, 2001 5:08 PM
Damn, wish our 172's went for $50/hour. Our's rent for $100/hour & fuel is $2.85/gal. Instructors are $30/hour.
I wish I could afford 172's ...Humma Hah
Aug 14, 2001 8:04 PM
... I usually have to settle for a 152, and hope for a skinny flight instructor. Around here, they work for next to nothing, hoping to build enough hours someone will let them fly a commuter airliner for minumum wage.

I haven't been up for about 2 years. I'm sure prices are up now. I was getting a 10% discount by buying "block time" $500 at a time.
I wish I could afford 172's ...Skip
Aug 15, 2001 3:30 PM
We don't have any 150/152's here, but sure they would be in the $75-80/hr range if we did. I remember renting 172's (and nice ones too) im NC a few years ago for $50/hour (probably more now).
club runs, centuries, cold, rain. especially solo rain rides. nmHaiku d'état
Aug 14, 2001 11:16 AM
re: What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?mlbd
Aug 14, 2001 11:26 AM
despite all the planning, the preparing, the tweaking, the shopping, the mapping, the lubing etc etc etc...

you can feel like a kid and live completely in the moment for a few hours. nothing makes you feels stronger!
We're crazyDuane Gran
Aug 14, 2001 11:49 AM
I have concluded that I'm simply crazy, stupid or both. One thing for sure, I'm really happier due to riding. It is easy to go over the top, especially as an adult. Life can get a little predictable and boring. I find cycling to inject some excitement into it all, especially racing. Since I don't have a spear in hand, I need some outlet for the adrenaline. ;)
Great Question...........Len J
Aug 14, 2001 11:50 AM
and one that deserves a thoughtful answer.

For me, it combines several things that I find irresistable:

One is the unique knowledge that every ride is a competition against my own willpower. In very few other things is my capability to push myself beyond limits so exposed to me. I find that I learn something essential about myself on every ride. Sometimes I don't like what I see, but I can't & don't want to hide from it.

The second thing is that I have always been fascinated by the capability of our species to create unique, functional and in there own way beautiful pieces of equipment. Biking fulfills that need in me. I love the lines of the Bike, I appreciate the funcionality of a Derrauler (sp?). Face it I have always been an equipment junkie.

Last but not least is the feeling of being on a bike, when the bike & I become one, when I am totally at peace. I have never found that unique feeling in any other thing I've done.

Len
A nice combinationMB1
Aug 14, 2001 12:03 PM
Of physical and mechanical. The more I ride the more machine like I become and the more alive my bike becomes.

Do you ever get the feeling that you are sitting still and the world is flowing towards you?
Bicycling Magazine July - somebody said:Biking Viking
Aug 14, 2001 12:20 PM
"It's about being able to go to some cool place powered by my own muscles. It's transportation, entertainment and exercise rolled into one package"

That pretty much sums it up for me.

BV
re: What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?Delia
Aug 14, 2001 12:25 PM
You are the fuel your bike burns to make it go
Pure energy
endorphins (nm)rush
Aug 14, 2001 2:24 PM
Give and taketommyb
Aug 14, 2001 3:22 PM
Winning the first county line sprint on a Saturday morning, then leading out a friend for the second one. Completely burying yourself in effort, only to laugh about it later.
I think Lance is right.look271
Aug 14, 2001 4:02 PM
It's the pain, and then the ability to transcend it. I love climbing up a really steep hill, hurting, pushing as hard as I can, and then the effortless trip down the backside. I love to hear people say: "you rode up that?" "You rode how far? I'd be dead in 5 miles!" Kind of a superiority/uniqueness kind of thing.
re: What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?VictorChan
Aug 14, 2001 4:53 PM
Cycling gives me courage in life. Is like it teaches me how to be courageous and to take chances in life. The cycling world gives me the sense that I belong to the realm of the gods. :-)
It just plain feels goodTeach
Aug 14, 2001 7:10 PM
I just love how it feels when you get in a groove and you hang there. Something about your legs going round and round, wind in your face, sun on your back - it's just good! Not to mention sprinting against a friend or just for the heck of it, just to see how fast you can go or how high you can push your cadence. Climbing short hills - you know, let the momentum from the last one carry you into the next, than spin as fast you can and shift into a harder gear to climb it out - that's the best!
re: What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?cycleguy
Aug 14, 2001 10:04 PM
It allows me to forget everthing but the moment I'm in.
re: What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?AD14
Aug 15, 2001 10:59 AM
I COULD NOT AGREE MORE CYCLEGUY!
Freedom...Mabero
Aug 15, 2001 8:23 AM
It's the freedom to dream without limitations...you are gliding within your bike and although there are better bikes and there are worse bikes, you believe that noone could ride your bike better than anyone. That makes you believe and dream you are one of the best, and you can ride with the best. You want to race at that instant and you can with yourself, and for that moment you won your own tour.

"Some of the greatest achievements in life never make the morning paper."

That's why I love biking.
I wish I could explain it betterCRM
Aug 15, 2001 9:33 AM
I've tried to come up with a good way to explain this obsession to the non-believers, but my powers of prose aren't up to the task.

For me, it's a combination of the physical effort, the adrenaline and the comradery/competition. Exercise in any form produces endorphins that make us happy, so the physical effort is both satisfying and enjoyable (when you're done!). Swooping along roads at high speeds is obviously exhilerating. But the thing that ties it all together for me is doing all these things with friends.

I don't really like to ride by myself. For me, the suffering, the exhileration, the accomplishment, is all much, much better when my friends are along for the ride. We push each other to be better; we laugh and talk; we commiserate about how much we hurt; we occasionally race (even if we won't admit we're doing it).

I wish I could articulate it all better. It all comes down to this, though: In nothing else I do, do I ever feel as good as I do when I've just finished a great ride.
re: What Is It That's So Addictive About This Sport?MeDotOrg
Aug 15, 2001 1:07 PM
Taking a hill in a higher gear and making it, then making THAT gear your standard...looking down at your legs while standing in the pedals at the end of a long ride and having the pleasant suprise that you still have some gas left in the tank...a totally regulated aerobic activity...the zen of hill climbing, balancing your spin and strength and oxygen intake...It is something good for my body which I love, and when I'm doing it, I'm at peace with myself. What can be better than that?