RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ride what you like!! (major rant)(14 posts)

Ride what you like!! (major rant)Car Magnet
Jul 13, 2001 3:16 PM
Will everybody stop crapping on each others bikes? Who cares if you ride a Litespeed, Colnago, Pinarello, Rivendell, Strong, Serotta, Look, Bottechia, Fuji, Bianchi, Cannondale, Huffy or a POS Ross (which I do have in the garage)? They're all the same: Two freakin' wheels with a crank that you spin around with your legs and feet!! Who gives a crap about rare-earth elements, seat & chain stay flex, bottom bracket height or which bikes suck and which don't (customer service is what counts). If you crap on somebodys bike brand and then get smoked by one on the local group ride, are you gonna come here and post that? Yeah right. I thought this site was for bike lovers not bike bashers. People come here for advice and comraderie not bashing. I don't know about some of the people here but I can appreciate ALL bikes. Hell I'll take one of each. So again I say ride what you like (as long as it fits).
No! Ride what *I* like! ;-)grzy mnky
Jul 13, 2001 3:28 PM
Great point - if it fits and you own it then just ride the frigin' thing. That's why I think the best bike for doing XXXXX is mine - 'cuz it's mine. It's a case of not being able to see the forrest from the trees. Ultimately it comes down to your legs, lungs and desire. You wanna put a replica USPS bike in a glass case that's your biz. You wanna do a double century on a single speed, fine.

I guess my only reservation is that if something is a POS I wanna know about it. I'm talking firm data here - not asthetics and sloping top tube opinions.

Sometimes I think my nieghbors kids are more mature about some of this stuff.
mostly agreegrandemamou
Jul 13, 2001 4:00 PM
While I appreciate the passion of some posters the perfect bike for you may not suit "my" needs. But, that doesen't make it crap.

They are not all the same though. There are different bikes for different people for different uses. I have an Bianchi EV2, weigh 145 and race it's perfect for me. One of my training partners is about 6'4 200 lbs he was interested in the same frameset and I told him he was nuts he would be lucky to get more than one season out of it.

People that rant about this brand or that brand really don't bother me it's pretty easy to spot people with hidden agendas. The only people likely to be hurt are novices without much of a cycling background.
Huh?Car Magnet
Jul 13, 2001 5:08 PM
You're saying that your bike would not last a year if the rider weighed roughly 30% more? I would hope the Bianchi engineers are better than that. Can anybody else help clarify this? BTW the pro-brand rant and info is great, it's the malicious bashers that kill me. POS brand this, POS brand that.
Huh?TJeanloz
Jul 14, 2001 10:19 AM
I can confirm that the Bianchi engineers are, in fact, not better than that.
Huh?grandemamou
Jul 14, 2001 1:28 PM
Just my opinion. Weight is not the only issue riding style and race schedules also figure into this. Bianchi does make a sturdier AL version of the EV2 as well as a steel version. I would steer heavier riders with a loaded race schedule toward those. I usually don't give opinions concerning "is this frame better than that frame" via internet. There are too many variables besides just weight. You also have to consider riding style and whether or not you plan to race often. IMHO people should find a "trustworthy and knowledgeble" bike shop who could probably answer questions and give better advice.
Huh?Cliff Oates
Jul 14, 2001 3:21 PM
Lightweight aluminum racing frames are precisely that. The design goal is not longevity nor is it to meet the needs of guys whose physiology does not conform to the usual racer. Check the weight/size limits on frames at the Somec web site. Think about Pantani. This is not an example of bad engineering. It's an example of a design compromise.
re: Ride what you like!! (major rant)LC
Jul 13, 2001 5:10 PM
If all bikes are the same, then we should all get fitted to the same bike. Maybe Costco can have "The Bike" and it comes in 47 different sizes. You get a choice of Color A or Color B, but everyone is forced to ride Campy-Shimano gearing because the market forced them to merge into one company. All the LBS will then be gone, and if something is wrong with "The Bike" then you will have to stand in the customer service line at Costco.

Now there is not much left to talk about on this forum. No one is angry anymore, in fact we now even wear the exact same clothing because the marketing people told us what is best. We are no longer allowed to even have an opinion. We are all happy and bored.

Pretty soon though, people with Color A feel that their bike is faster than Color B due to the solar refractive wind that is generated by that ugly color B. Damn, that did not last long, we are back at it again!

People are different; that's what keeps it interesting. Some are racers that look for every competive edge and some are just out for some fresh air on a sunny afternoon. Some people are justifing their $4000 bike, and some are convincing us that their 25 year old bike is still the best bike around. Keep a open mind and listen to them all. The differences are why you even bother to look at this forum.
re: Ride what you like~!mr tornado head
Jul 14, 2001 6:28 AM
Do what ya like. Eat what ya like. and do the Humpty Dance!

It's been forever since I've heard that song... :*)

Agreed. People have different taste, needs, desires, but we're all out riding. No need to make "one generic bike in color a and color b" but we don't need to kick each other for our differences.
You left out Schwinn cruiser, but thanks ...Humma Hah
Jul 13, 2001 5:32 PM
... I now have permission to ride what I like, and have been!
Not a Serotta owner...TJeanloz
Jul 14, 2001 10:24 AM
Dear Tri-State Cycler,

I am sorry that you are not man enough to own a Serotta. If you were, you would know what you are missing. It is glorious. You can just live in your little non-Serotta owner dream world and keep believing that whatever POS you ride is just as good. Someday, you too will learn that Ben Serotta is the Messiah, and you too will spend your life savings (roughly equivilent to what I make in ten minutes) on one of these beautiful machines.
Soon to be a Serotta owner...speedmaestro
Jul 14, 2001 2:40 PM
when it gets delivered in 3 or 4 weeks.
Serotta is the best.
Curious why Ben makes bike for Schwinn?Car Magnet
Jul 14, 2001 4:25 PM
Serotta has indeed made Paramounts for Schwinn which you can buy cheaper than the bikes that say Serotta on them. BTW you have a lot of class.
Not a Serotta owner...Ben Serotta is the Messiahcycleguy
Jul 14, 2001 4:40 PM
Guess I just have to ride my POS into hell!