RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Aluminum on a road/touring bike! A bad thing?(10 posts)

Aluminum on a road/touring bike! A bad thing?Grinder
Jul 11, 2001 10:24 AM
Aluminum on a road/touring bike. Is it a bad thing? Is Aluminum stiffer and that is the reason? Sorry for all the stupid question.

I'm not talking fully loaded touring, just 50+ mile day rides.
Dis is a pretty individual call.MrCelloBoy
Jul 11, 2001 11:01 AM
Some peeps like the stiffness of Alu. I'd venture to guess that most riders prefer a good "steel" bike to Alu. for overall comfort.
DependsSpoke Wrench
Jul 11, 2001 11:26 AM
I think that the generalizations you hear about the subjective riding characteristics of the various frame materials all have a germ of truth in them, but not enough for them to be relied upon to be true any more.

I own a 2000 Klein Quantum Race. That is a bicycle that has had a lot of product reviews. The various reviewers opinions are pretty much all over the board. One guy says the frame is so stiff it rattles your tooth fillings, the next guy says that Klein has tamed the aluminum frame buzz. I think that the reviewers, even prople who have reviewed a lot of different bikes, tend to experience whatever they expected they were going to find.

Personally, I've ridden cheap steel bikes and good steel bikes. I like the expensive bikes better. I've ridden cheap aluminum bikes and now the QR. I like the Klein better. I don't have any significant experience with titanium or carbon frames, but I suspect the same would be true of those materials.
My shop has a lot of Giant's and the QCR2 is in the price . . .Grinder
Jul 11, 2001 12:34 PM
range. It's aluminum - that's why the question.
re: Aluminum on a road/touring bike! A bad thing?Lardog
Jul 11, 2001 12:14 PM
Yep, good and stiff. I love my Quantum Pro. Don't like the price tag of a Palmares. So, not a bad thing at all. For touring? I don't think I'd take much of a road bike at all if I were doing a cross country. Wider tires, wider rims, less hunched over, no need for drops, that's for sure. 50 mi. a ride? Those are shorties.
I love drops because it gives me more hand holds . . .Grinder
Jul 11, 2001 12:32 PM
Tried my wife's hybread and there's really only one place to put your hands!
I love drops because it gives me more hand holds . . .Ken56
Jul 11, 2001 1:14 PM
I think this argument is a fallacy. I bought the XTR bar end extenders for my hybrid (not a very expensive proposition), and have more hand positions than on my road bike. I rarely use the drops, due to my old bones that don't want to bend at the neck so easily anymore. I always hear this argument in favor of drop bars over straight bars when discussions of touring bikes comes up. Where is it written that you can't add bar ends to hybrids and mountain bikes for touring or just plain everyday use?
Ken
I love drops because it gives me more hand holds . . .Mel Erickson
Jul 11, 2001 1:48 PM
I ride road and mountain, drop and straight bars with bar ends. I also ride a tandem with a one piece bar that has integrated bar ends. For road riding I find drop bars have a greater variety of more comfortable positions than straight bars with bar ends. I regularly use seven different positions on my drop bars. There's about three or four different positions for stright bars with bar ends. I also feel the positions on the lever hoods to be more comfortable than any position on straight bars. My wife just put some sweep riser bars with bar ends on the tandem and she likes this setup much more than the one piece bar/bar ends she had previously. I'm thinking of going to a drop bar on the tandem but would have to change shifters and put on travel agents. I've got a set of Ultegra 8spd shifters that would work for the rear but not the front because they aren't a triple. I think everyone's different and you just have to experiment to find what works. I also think just because something works now doesn't mean something better might not come along. Therefore, don't be afraid to try new or different approaches. Who cares if it's not PC (i.e. the regualr crowd frowns on your setup).
I love drops because it gives me more hand holds . . .Irving Witcomb
Jul 11, 2001 2:16 PM
What about a tall (Nitto Technonic) stem on drop bars? Nice bar height and it preserves the multiple hand positions. Of course, the current fad for threadless stems closes this option off, but there are ways around that one, too.
Sure, why notMel Erickson
Jul 11, 2001 2:34 PM
Rivendell has some good thoughts and solutions to this age old problem too. They sell bikes and parts with a more upright philosophy in mind.