RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I', seriouslt thinking about getting a leather saddle . . .(11 posts)

I', seriouslt thinking about getting a leather saddle . . .Grinder
Jul 11, 2001 7:50 AM
are they actually as good as most people say (after the 1000 mile break in period) or are they just pulling my tail. Are there good/bad ones and is there a way to break them in faster?

Thanks
Terry LiberatorHoward
Jul 11, 2001 8:46 AM
Just as comfortable as a leather saddle - no uncomfortable break-in period. Reasonably priced at www.rideabike.com .
Terry LiberatorColnagoFE
Jul 11, 2001 9:42 AM
I have a liberator (standard model) on my second bike. I really don't like it much. not long enough for good control and the cutout tends to gouge your nether regions on longer rides. A standard Flite or Flite gel seems to work best for me. The Fly saddle they make looks interesting though.
Disagree on the Liberator--I hated minecory
Jul 11, 2001 10:21 AM
I have leather Brooks saddles on three bikes, and I like them a lot. The break-in period is exaggerated, I think--mine were pretty comfortable right out of the box, and got better in a few hundred miles. Grant Petersen has some setup tips at www.rivendellbicycles.com. The angle seems to be pretty critical--just a millimeter or two makes a difference.
I have a friend who refuses to ride anything but Liberators, and says it's made a difference in both his comfort and his sex life. But I tried one for a couple of weeks and gave it away. It just didn't work with my butt.
re: I', seriouslt thinking about getting a leather saddle . . .mackgoo
Jul 11, 2001 9:07 AM
I just bought a Brooks swallow a few 100 miles ago. I love it. Not only is it highly functional but it is also a beautiful piece of art. It is the most comfortable saddle I've ever personally been on right out of the box. I would highly recomend Brooks saddles. I got mine at www.wallbike.com, I believe I've also seen them at www.branfordbike.com.
Try a BrooksGary M
Jul 11, 2001 9:12 AM
After reading all the (mostly) glowing reviews on MTBReviews, I decided to try a Brooks leather saddle and picked up a B17 narrow from Performance for $40 a couple of weeks ago. It is a bit heavier than the Selle Italia Prolink it replaced but on an 18lb bike, I figured I could sacrifice a little weight for comfort. Contrary what I had read, I found it was pretty comfortable right out of the box. So far I have ridden about 100 miles on it and it gets better with each ride. You have to oil it and I chose to go with the factory recommended Brooks Proofide leather treatment rather than some of the more radical break in treatments I have read about like Sheldon Brown's method of soaking it in neatsfoot oil. I figured for $40 it was worth a try and hopefully it will put an end to my growing collection of saddles I don't like which includes a Fizik Nisene, Avocet 02, WTB SST, Specialized Body Geometry and a bunch of OEM saddles like Coda etc.
pulling your tailColnagoFE
Jul 11, 2001 9:41 AM
modern synthetics are pretty darn good. if you can get comfortable on one then why switch? A leather saddle is gonna be a boat anchor, require periodic maintenance, and not good in wet weather. Still some people swear by 'em.
re: I', seriouslt thinking about getting a leather saddle . . .kyvdh
Jul 11, 2001 10:16 AM
I bought a Brooks B17 about a month ago. I love it. No more shortened rides because of seat soreness. I can ride 3 hrs in the morning, get back on and ride casually with the kids in the afternoon. I did not have the 1000 mile break-in period. It was comfortable right out of the box. It is intimidating when you take it out of the box because it is as hard as diamonds. I too did the proofide treatment.
saddlesSteveS
Jul 11, 2001 12:23 PM
I have had many, many, saddles and disliked most of them, of all varieties. The first 3 saddles that I had were leather and I never found them comfortable, then about a year ago I went to the Rivendell website and read their instructions for setup of Brooks saddles. (the rear should be slightly higher than the front and the nose of the saddle should be leveled) So, I bought a B-17, set it up per their instructions and used Proofhide. Voila, great saddle. Then I got a Swallow, same thing. Finally, I resurrected a 13 year old Ideale that I had hated when it was new, followed the same procedure and it is the best riding saddle (for touring) that I have ever tried. Why didn't somebody explain this earlier? Obviously I like them and to me, if properly set up, they are not uncomfortable from the git-go. Good luck.
re: I', seriouslt thinking about getting a leather saddle . . .D_Alex
Jul 11, 2001 12:26 PM
Buy a Brooks-you'll never regret it! Just don't buy one that's skinnier than you feel comfortable on. Put a good coating of Proofhide on top and bottom, or better yet, Neatsfoot oil on the bottom. Anything other than riding to break it in will damage the saddle. They aren't THAT bad when new, and they do break in quicker than you think.
It's a matter of divine intervention....DINOSAUR
Jul 11, 2001 1:15 PM
I think that is what it comes down to for finding the right saddle for you. I'm on my third and I'm in heaven. I never would have thought that a saddle would make such a difference. My stock Fizik was too narrow and a tad too firm. I tried a Brooks Pro, it did not have a long break in period, it was comfortable, and I liked the leather surface as I could slide back and forth. The trouble was not the added weight of 9oz, but I could not dial it in for the KNOP. When I had it dialed in, it felt like I was riding at the rear of the tuna boat and I didn't want to go to a shorter stem. I went back to the Fizik and I thought about what I didn't like about it. Too narrow, too firm, longer rails would be nice. And vola, I discovered a San Marco Era. San Marco also manufacturers Fizik, so it had similiar geometry with my old Fizik Pave. My first ride today and it felt diffferent. I had to stop twice and go by gut feeling and make a couple of changes in my position and when I found it I felt like I was in heaven. What a difference!! I think it's just a method of trial and error and finding the right saddle. Shape is more important than padding. Rail length is important also. It has to hit that magic spot you have been looking for. And when you find it you'll know it..