RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


prolink lube is awesome!(14 posts)

prolink lube is awesome!got2ryd
Jul 11, 2001 5:49 AM
i read some posts on this product and decided to try it. i have been a faithful white lightning user for years. its 100 times better than WL! there is hardly a noise from the drive train and i could actually feel the difference! incredible! thanks for all the good info here on this site. happy riding!
Can I get this magical lube in the UK? (nm)PingPong
Jul 11, 2001 6:21 AM
Can I get this magical lube in the UK? (nm)searcher
Jul 11, 2001 6:36 AM
I think you can order some from their web site.
http://www.progoldmfr.com
Can I get this magical lube in the UK? (nm)ixiz
Jul 11, 2001 7:36 AM
You can also make your own
I'm not convinced yet.Steve Davis
Jul 11, 2001 8:49 AM
I just bought a bottle and started using it a few weeks ago. Previously, I used Ice Wax.

So far, the drivetrain seems quiet and smooth, however, it seems awfully dirty to me. I think I followed the instructions pretty well and cleaned off all the old lube before applying the ProLink (ran the chain through a wet spounge with Dawn dishsoap).

I've noticed that the teeth on my chainrings are pretty black, and that the chain itself seems dirty (got my first chain tattoo in a long time last week). The instructions suggested lubing only every 300 miles or so. In the meantime, should I wipe the chain down, or will this take off all the lube?

Any suggestions on whether I've done something wrong or is this just the norm with a wet lube?
You've got to wipe it down. The lube works in the pins andbill
Jul 11, 2001 9:15 AM
the pivot/friction points, not on the outside where you're wiping. Prolink claims to create a "surface" on the metal-to-metal friction points, so that it should be used consistently, although I'm less convinced of that.
What I wonder about Prolink is how long should it be left on before wiping down. I've wiped it off almost immediately, and then somebody said to leave it on for awhile to allow the lube to sink in and the medium to evaporate, but leaving it on seems to make a gummy mess more like what you're describing.
Overall, I still think it's the best stuff I've tried.
It's not as clean as WLColnagoFE
Jul 11, 2001 9:44 AM
but it is cleaner than something like Finish line teflon. A good compromise to me. Still I use WL on my MTB.
ProLink vs WaxDoll Face
Jul 11, 2001 10:11 AM
It lasts much longer than wax and it cleans up easier than oil based lubes. Pedros IceWax lasts for one short ride. Prolink lasts for around 10 hours or more.
Apply sparinglyMeDotOrg
Jul 11, 2001 10:32 AM
You're right, ProLink will pick up dirt. I apply it a drop at a time with a "syringe" applicator you can buy from ProLink. I remove any oil from the outside of the chain. As has been noted, it's the internal pivot point that matter.

When I started being careful with the application I found I was picking up a lot less dirt.
spray a degreaser on the chain once a weekET
Jul 11, 2001 10:37 AM
That's what my LBS said to do after applying the ProLink. Of course, if you want to be skeptical, you could say that was to sell me the de-greaser they also convinced me to buy.
Don't need to.look271
Jul 11, 2001 3:19 PM
They sold you degreaser you don't need. Just wipe the stuff off. I haven't cleaned my chain since I started using Pro-link and yet people still ask me "how do you keep your chain so clean?"Just wipe it off; relube when necessary.PS-I wipe the chainrings off occassionally, too.
Lube ReviewsMikeC
Jul 11, 2001 2:10 PM
Go to http://www.bicycling.com/daily/pod/ and scroll down the "archives" box. They've reviewed seven different lube products, including ProLink.
I make my own . . .DCW
Jul 11, 2001 6:33 PM
by mixing one part Mobil 1 and four parts mineral spirits. It looks and acts very much like Pro Link, but I save about $5.50 per bottle. I got about 2500 miles on my first Campy 10-speed chain with Pro Link. My second chain has over 2000 miles so far with the home-grown and still seems to be fine. I lube and wipe every 100 miles or so.
no miracle....C-40
Jul 12, 2001 1:27 PM
Just mineral spirits and oil.