RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Man this really Pissed me off(26 posts)

Man this really Pissed me offclimberted
Jun 12, 2001 11:44 PM
I'm from Tulsa Ok and this was in a newspaper called "Urban Tulsa" I found this in a colum called "What Pisses You Off?". I plan to write a reply to the person so everyone give me some Ideas of what to write. I would just like to state for the record that I whole heartedly diagree with the person 100%, they are obviously a fat couch surfing, thick headed red neck....... Here goes
"BIKE RIDERS.......... The last time I checke, your little Schwinn can't go 40 mph. It really pisses me off that there is a perfectly good sidewalk right next to the road, but you insist on riding IN THE STREET! Don't you realize that if you lose you balance and fall off you bike a car will hit you and you will die. Maybe your pointy little helmets and lycra pants are cutting off the oxygen to your brain. There is absolutly NO reason for you to be riding on roads made for CARS! Would you ride your bike on the highway because 'it's my right to'? For yor safty and ours, get off the main roads. Get this through you heads, you are not a car!"

Man what an @sshole. Help me blast thi guy next week. I don't know about you guys but "my little Schwinn" will go 40mph
re: Man this really Pissed me offgirl
Jun 13, 2001 1:16 AM
Explain to this under-educated f---ing hick that he should spend some time out of his trailer park. Send him here to San Francisco...maybe he could get mowed down by an angry bike messenger so that he could realize that bikes have just as much right of way as anything else on the streets. Or, dare him to try and drive a car during Critical Mass...I'm sure he's never seen nor heard the likes of a pack of 1,000 cyclists jamming the streets during Friday rush hour traffic. Ask him "who's your daddy now?!"
re: Man this really Pissed me offeoind
Jun 13, 2001 5:17 AM
Point out to him that:

1) It is illegal for bikes to be ridden on sidewalks. Sidewalks are for pedestrians.
2) It is perfectly legal to ride a bike on the road.
3) Roads were not designed nor built exclusively for cars.
4) Bikers do not just lose their balance - cars and trucks force bikers to crash.
5) Bikers help ease congestion, and if there were more bikers he could get to work/McDonalds/bar quicker.
6) Bikers probably have a much more efficient supply of blood to the brain than those whose only exercise is walking between the couch, fridge and car.
We're CYCLISTS man! Not BIKERS!Live Steam
Jun 13, 2001 12:32 PM
You have all valid points, however I agree with Len J and his Grandad, don't get down and dirty with this ill informed sloth. Maybe, just maybe, he will see the error of his ways, if it is presented in an intelligable, well thought out manner. If he doesn't, well, SCREW HIM!!!!
Whose my Grandad? He's been long .......Len J
Jun 13, 2001 12:37 PM
lost! Who would have thought he'd show up here. Won't Mom be glad. Oh yea, she's lost too. Oh well
Before you respond.........Len J
Jun 13, 2001 5:37 AM
Relax and take a deep breath & recognize the following:

1.)You will never convince him that he is wrong. If he took enough time to write to the paper, he's probably made up his mind.
2.)Your real audience are those people who read the letter & thought "Maybe he's right".
3.) Take the high ground in responding. My grandfather used to say "Never get down in the mud to fight with the pigs, the only result is that the pigs love it & you get dirty." Be logical and convincing, don't come across as too emotional. Allow the reader to contrast your argument with his. If you stay on the high ground yours will be more convincing.

A few other points you might want to make. (in addition to those above)
Energy efficiency
Great form of exercise
Danger to pedestrians if on the sidewalk

Good luck
P.S. It pi**ed me off to (Air on the Brain, Deep breath)
I whole-heartedly agree with you Len.seth1
Jun 13, 2001 7:11 AM
Climberted, I also don't think you want to start a yelling contest with this in-bred, genetic defect. Your audience are the readers of the newspaper. Some other points to bring up:

1. get a copy of bicycle laws in your area

2. get statistics about motor-vehicle related deaths

3. you can get some info off the web from places like
www.tidepool.com
www.cars-suck.org
www.transalt.org
www.rut.org

If you want to take your polemic in a different direction you can talk about the automoblie in relation to suburban spawl, and all the catastrophies that are directly related to that (ie destruction of natural ecosystems, draining aquifers to support wastefull water requirements for these developments, developing new nuclear, hydro-electric and fossil-fuel power plant, etc.) And how GM destroyed the railroad system in the US.

Good luck, this "humanoid" is not the only one with an opinion or a voice!
A couple of thoughts:Spoke Wrench
Jun 13, 2001 7:26 AM
One of the nice things about living in the United States is that people have the right to express their opinions. I, for one, enjoy reading them even when I disagree with the morons.

Who has a right to use the road?
Our Constitution grants us, among other things, freedom of movement. In other words, the right to use the roads. Operating an automobile, on the other hand, is defined as a privilege. A case can be made that you have a stronger right to use the road than motorists do.

How are roads funded?
There is a monument near my home which indicates a particular road was originally built by Daniel Boone in 17something. It would be nearly 100 years until gasoline was invented and another half century before anyone thought to tax gasoline. Fact is, there were plenty of roads prior to gas tax and even today the major funding source for most streets and roads is sources other than gas tax.

Fair is fair
There are lots of users of public roads who are unable to keep up with traffic or who obstruct traffic in some ways. They include public transit busses, school busses, farm implements, horse drawn vehicles, tractors used for construction and maintenance, garbage trucks etc. There are lots of them. Most of these have a much greater impact on traffic flow than bicycle riders.

Bicycle riders deserve equal protection to these other minority road users. If the goal is to improve traffic flow issues, you would definitely have to ban school busses and garbage trucks along with bicycles. If you just want to pick on bike riders, then we come back to the rights vs. privilege issue.
Brilliantly stated!!!!Cima Coppi
Jun 13, 2001 7:49 AM
re: Man this really Pissed me offSpiderman
Jun 13, 2001 7:54 AM
well think of what would happen if we are cruising down a sidewalk and a person walking tripped and we ran over them. Our wheels could cut their heads off or crack a couple of ribs.
we are put in the road, rather than the sidewalk, because it is safer for pedestrians. Tell that fat@ss that there are other people out there other than drivers. I bet this guy voted for Bush.
As did plenty of cyclists (nm)E3
Jun 13, 2001 7:58 AM
.
I thought selfishness was a Gore thing :-)kenyee
Jun 13, 2001 2:40 PM
Kidding. (I'm Libertarian :-)

The ideal road would have bike lanes. The only place I've seen this is in Silicon Valley.

Anyways, there are guys like this on all three sides. Drivers who think they own the road and cut off everyone. Bikers who kick in car doors as they bike going the wrong direction. Pedestrians who ignore bikers/cars as they cross the street at a slow pace w/o looking at the traffic at all. It's the whole selfishness and "why do I have to share anything with anyone" mentality.
re: Man this really Pissed me offonrhodes
Jun 13, 2001 8:07 AM
Okay. Let me see here. I live in a small town of 8,000 people. We have no stop lights, let alone a sidewalk to use. So, does this mean that I cannot ride my bike in my town. God forbid I want to go for a walk or a run. Should I also not do that because I don't have a sidewalk to use? That could make walking to my friends house a bit tough. Perhaps it would be safer for me to cut through the woods every time I wanted to do this.
I love the point made up above about that fact that roads have existed for centuries (Rome invented the highway) before cars. Yet most people think that the paved surfaces in the world are made strictly for cars. Every one else can be damned for all they care. I honestly think as cyclists, runner, walkers, etc we have more of a right to use them. We are not polluting the environment, we have a minimal impact on nature..... i.e. How many Dogs,cats,squirrels,deers,moose,etc are killed every year by impacts with the above mentioned modes of transportation as opposed to the evil gas guzzling machines we call automobiles.
better to be pissed-off than pissed-on :)Breck
Jun 13, 2001 8:18 AM
i see your pissed-off button is perfectly functioning

cheers
don't take the baitfreespirit
Jun 13, 2001 8:23 AM
The guy is an idiot. Don't take the bait and respond. Anyone who would agree with him, you are not going to convince otherwise. Many drivers already think we're a bunch of crazed radicals who want to ban all cars and obstruct traffic intentionally to demonstrate our frustration with pollution, resource consumption, and vehicular congestion. Don't get sucked in to a stupid argument.
Agreed, the guy is an idiot and will not ...seth1
Jun 13, 2001 10:21 AM
Change his mind about anything. Climberted's response should be directed towards the thoughtful, yet impressionable readers of that particular newspaper. People who need to hear more than one opinion.
Now, coming from a totally economic standpoint (which most thoughtful, yet impressionable readers could relate to) is the fact that a motor-vehicle-free roadway (in a commercial area at least) that is wide open to pedestrians and cyclists would put far more human bodies in front of store windows. Human bodies that move at 4-24 mph and whose focus is primarily directed towards store windows are far more easily converted into paying customers than motorists driving by at 40 mph whose attention (should) is not focused on store-front windows.

I think this is a wonderful opportunity to enlighten a population that has been brain-washed by media to think that we have to live happily under the terror of automobile-centric culture.
you forgotmuncher
Jun 13, 2001 8:47 AM
that we worked it out - as all cyclists are hung like horses anyway, that, in illuminating combination with the Lycra shorts, just annoys the drivers and makes them self-oppose their natural wave tendency....
the thing about horses is...gromit
Jun 13, 2001 9:17 AM
They weigh about a ton are wide and have feet shod with iron. They are also usually ridden in the SE by lawyers daughters. So it's best not to argue. Cyclists on the other hand are 1cm thick and bounce of cars so they are fair game.
Nice riding around Dorking, Box Hill used to be my fave on road or mtb. I miss the rides but not the traffic.
re: Man this really Pissed me offLazy
Jun 13, 2001 8:58 AM
I think you have gotten some good advice from all the others here. My only advice is to make your response eloquent and well written. The original submitter is obviously lacking anything more than a junior high school education (for you younger set, that's middle school ;-) ). Make sure you sound intelligent and well read. You'll have more credibility that way.

On a different note, do you have tickets to the US Open this weekend? I bet Tulsa is a circus this week.
re: Man this really Pissed me offclimberted
Jun 13, 2001 1:33 PM
my shop is close to the country club Souther Hills and it sux. traffic now is Henious nd hiddious. Everyone and their dog is here to see these guys play golf, huh.....To each his own. However I suppose if Lance came down here to race in a crit or something you might all pack up your bags to come and see it and you might not. As far as tickets go, man they are scalping them for $300 a pop in Tulsa now.
what pisses me off is...keith m
Jun 13, 2001 12:19 PM
people that feel a need to use profanity all the time in order to get a point across. The english language should suffice on it's own accord, don't you THINK?.
I agreefreespirit
Jun 13, 2001 1:02 PM
While I agree, it seems that you did it too (in the topic line). I don't get it.
re: Man this really Pissed me offclimberted
Jun 13, 2001 1:36 PM
Thanx for the advice everyone. I plan to write a reply to this person. It will be well spoken and well read. I am going to resist my urge to blast this person and take the opportunity to to show the public that cyclists are not road hogging butt heads, red neck are.
post a draft?freespirit
Jun 13, 2001 1:55 PM
why don't you post a draft for comment here? might get some helpful observations...
thanx I will in the next couple of days (NM)climberted
Jun 13, 2001 2:24 PM
cyclists were here first and........thbirks
Jun 13, 2001 3:12 PM
will be here when all the cars are rusting in peace.