RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cannondale r800 vs TCR2(9 posts)

Cannondale r800 vs TCR2Brian W.
Jun 12, 2001 10:05 AM
I've tried both, and I can fit decently on either bike. Now the question is what are your opinions on these bikes? Do you prefer one over the other and why?

Here are some considerations:

The coda components aren't the greatest
cannondales may be more durable by design
TCR is a compact, so some may not like the shape. I like it.

I like to climb, so that's why i'm sticking with AL. I also don't have more than 1500 or so to spend.

Thanks!

BW
re: Cannondale r800 vs TCR2Hank
Jun 12, 2001 2:57 PM
since no one else is responding....

I like the Giant - like the way it looks. Check out GVH - he stocks some AL frames, including C'dales (that way you can avoid the Coda junk and get some decent hand built wheels).

http://www.gvhbikes.com/current.html

Also, Excel Sports carries the Gios AL frames and I think Supergo has a good price on the Bianchi EV2. And then there's the Team Fuji at Colorado Cyclist - that might be my top pick. Good luck.
TCR2!boy nigel
Jun 12, 2001 3:39 PM
Being a blissfully happy owner of a 2000 TCR2 (which I actually got this January), I only have great things about m'boy. When looking last year for a bike (I had less a bit less than you to spend), I considered the R800, actually. I read great things in the review section about them, but read even better things about the TCR2.

When I first saw the TCR2, I went nuts for the look of it; when I determined that it fit me perfectly (better than the C'dale by a decent bit), I knew I'd found my ride.

The components on the Giant are all decent-quality pieces, all from a well-known and uniform group (105). I've had no problems with mine yet over a half year of riding. The C'dale does come with Coda parts, which I've heard mainly iffy or bad reviews on. C'dale's way of keeping costs competitive. The Giants don't skimp on anything (though this year's rims aren't as good as last year's Mavic Open Pros). Smooth parts, great seat (the Prolink), super ride, dragster-like acceleration, and a surprisingly and pleasantly comfortable ride--even on a 100-miler (1/4 of which was on CRAPPY New York City-and-vicinity streets!).

Check out the reviews on this site if you haven't already. Mine's there. More food for thought, possibly.

Good luck with the bike search, and great riding,
Nigel
What are top and seat tube measurements on medium? Just curious.railer
Jun 12, 2001 5:10 PM
Thanks.
giant website...C-40
Jun 12, 2001 7:13 PM
http://www.giant-bicycle.com/us/keytechs/050.025.000.asp

All the info is here.
re: Cannondale r800 vs TCR2Crash
Jun 12, 2001 5:37 PM
I rode the Cannondale and the Giant and I thought the Giant was much harsher riding. I really liked the overall fit and responsiveness of the Cannondale (I ended up buying a R2000si). The R800 is really an 105 bike, with the exception of Coda brakes and hubs. I didn't think the Coda brakes were as nice as the 105's I tested, but I've heard good things about the wheelset. They are both nice bikes though, get the one that fits you the best and the one you enjoy riding more !
if you go with Giantcyclopathic
Jun 12, 2001 8:30 PM
make sure you get fork fixed. '01 had fork cracking due to wider spaced dropouts, they even put sales on hold.

I own '98 TCR-1 and love it. It is stiff /when I stand up and mash I can only feel my TTT bars flexing/, yet not harsh when seated due to carbon fork/seatpost. Pretty light '01 should be ~18lbs lighter then R800.

On other hand buying Cdale is buying into that religious thing Cdale owners eat/drink/dream Cdale
Thanks!Brian W.
Jun 13, 2001 8:32 PM
I'll go and test ride some more and make a decision. I appreciate all the help. For now, I'm leaning toward the TCR, but who knows.

BW
Thanks!reveal
Jun 13, 2001 9:17 PM
Not sure if you've made a decision yet, but I had the exact same choice you have. Mine was between the Giant TCR-2, C-dale R800, or last years Specialized Allez Comp (think that's what it was). I ended up going with the Giant and two months later I think I still made the best decision. The bike is stiff, light, sprints and climbs great, and is perfectly responsive. For me (only 135lbs) the bike is also very smooth and has zero flex. They're probably good bikes, but I'm very glad I didn't go with the C-dale or Specialized.