RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


July 2001 Bicycling Magazine(22 posts)

July 2001 Bicycling Magazinemoneyman
Jun 11, 2001 8:58 AM
Page 72 - That's me!

$$ (FWIW)
and I thought the mag had already reached rock bottom...digger
Jun 11, 2001 9:10 AM
nm
Are they using a new paper???JamesT.Kirk
Jun 11, 2001 9:35 AM
It isn't as scratchy when I wipe with it these days...
I can't understandDINOSAUR
Jun 11, 2001 10:01 AM
Rodale Press also publishes Runners World Magazine. Runners World is by far a better read and actually has articles written by writers rather then the format of Bicycling, which is pretty much useless unless you know absolutely nothing about cycling. I purchased the June addition of Bicycling hoping that it had improved, it hasn't.
Oh well, beating a dead horse.
Dino, I've Wondered the Same Thing (nm)Jon Billheimer
Jun 11, 2001 1:17 PM
cmon nowColnagoFE
Jun 11, 2001 2:06 PM
for the price bicycling is great crapper reading material. at least you can state at all the bikes and bike goodies even if you ignore the text.
editor maybe ?dotkaye
Jun 11, 2001 2:17 PM
RW is edited by Amby Burfoot who is an actual runner, won Boston in 1968 I think.. Of course that begs the question of why they allow him to remain as editor and publish actual useful running information.
RW has moved significantly away from the hardcore runner's publication it was in the 80's, but I still find things to read in it. Plus my wife likes to read it now as well, which is a good thing..
Never even attempted to read Bicycling I confess, by the time I got into biking I'd been reading this board for long enough..
editor maybe ?DINOSAUR
Jun 11, 2001 3:58 PM
This is going against the grain, and I might be putting my foot in my mouth, but for what it's worth, I think it's the editor. I was an old contributor of their cycling forum. They shut down their site for a long time, then it popped back up with a new format. Most of the old contibutors had bailed out to other forums such as this. The new forum was occuppied but what appeared to be high school kids with nothing else better to do with their time. Various flames, four letter words and mindless rants that served no purpose at all. I complained, asking if perhaps they could exclude the vulgarity. The vulgarity does not offend me that much, but stuff I wouldn't want my fourteen year old daughter reading, not that she doesn't hear the same words on T.V.
Other folks chimed in with the same request. The answer from Bill Strickland is that he thought it was cool to have abrasive content once and awhile, "reminded him of Cipollini". Previous suggestions were made, from multiple posters, regarding the format of the magazine. His answer was "if you don't like the magazine, don't subscribe to it". So I didn't renew my subscription and I do not post on their forum. I realize that they are trying to appeal to a vast audience, but with his remarks and attitude, it's no wonder the magazine is lacking.
Random thoughts on a rest day. Perhaps I'm misreading Mr Strickland, but things were different when Mr Rodale was alive and in control..
Perhaps...look271
Jun 11, 2001 4:04 PM
I use to spend alot of time on the Bicyling Mag board as well. After it came back up, after months of downtime, it was about as meaningful as the "new" mag, that is, meaningless. I have long since cancelled my subscription to them, and, from what I can tell, I won't be subscribing again any time soon. (I have a coworker who brings in his copies, full of meaningless drivel.)
my friend Bob Rodaleclub
Jun 11, 2001 4:46 PM
I was a senior staffer on Bicycling's editorial masthead during its glory years of 240-page issues and in-depth, cutting edge coverage. Bob Rodale was the company visionary, and a devoted cyclist, but he had nothing to do with the content of the magazine. Credit that to the dedicated staff of lifelong hardcore cyclists who lived and breathed bicycles and actually knew more, and rode more, than the average reader. Not a one of my staffmates remains there, Rodale fired us all over a period of several years because our expertise and enthusiasm was too expensive for them. Now their budget is much lower -- although the magazine, and Mountain Bike, are both currently in the red -- and I think the quality of the publication speaks to that. If not for all the car ads, both publications would have folded, or been sold, long ago. But even in the glory years, lots of the columns, like Riding Techniques, Repair Stand, etc. got recycled every two years, rewritten but with the same information. They figured the readership turned over about that often. Back then, however, many of the technical articles were written as much for the industry as for the beginning cyclist, in the spirit of incorporating some of Bike Tech which Rodale used to publish before it folded, with quantified data from the tarantula (frame flex) and jaws (brake performance), and others. We worked closely with the industry to develop standards for products and to help test their ideas before they went into production. I have no current insider knowledge on how things are done now, but I suspect none of this is still going on. You're right about the vulgarities and profanities, etc. Bob would never have stood for any of that garbage, and I suspect his widow, Ardeth, doesn't read the magazines or websites, or else the beancounters have her locked in a closet and have a free hand to try anything to appear hip and with it and hopefully pull in some subscription checks. Check out the other Rodale bike rag, Mountain Bike: It's even worse, with four letter words on the website from the editors, not just from the forum youngsters. I've also seen racial epithets, and right now, the term "Limey" appears in a column in reference to the British. Ironic since Bicycling's and Mountain Bike's former publisher, "Chuck" McCullagh, was a Londoner, and the person who gave Zap his bully pulpit to rant and rave about motorcycles and how superior the Mexicans are to the rest of the world. Zap once called Marco Pantani a "Dago" in print. When I was there, and Bob was alive, an editor would have been shown the door for writing, and I use the term loosely, like that.
To answer a question you didn't ask, advertising had absolutely no influence in what appeared in the mag back then, neither in the products selected for review, nor for the written opinions of those products. The publisher's rule was, say what's true, but you darned sure better be right. Many industry ad contracts were pulled for various periods of time over reviews that were less than flattering to the companies' products, but they always came back because advertising is a business decision. Campy, Trek (several times), Descente, etc. come to mind. I don't know the current editorial policy on that, but I suspect it has, ah, softened a tad.
The good ones keep disappearingmike mcmahon
Jun 11, 2001 5:14 PM
The "old" Bicycling, Winning, and Bicycle Guide (later and briefly Bicyclist). I'm sure others can tick off the names of cycling magazines designed for readers with a fourth-grade education or above that have fallen by the wayside over the past 20 years or so. I wonder what, if anything, that says about cyclists who really love the sport. Are we "allowing" these magazines to fold by not purchasing them? Is this just a niche sport that doesn't have a big enough audience to keep a quality magazine afloat? Club, you were in the business: what do you think? Anyone else?
The good ones keep disappearingLC
Jun 11, 2001 6:16 PM
So what is the good road bike magazine? Is it like complaining about your local phone company, knowing that your only choice is to use them or go without?
The good ones keep disappearingjschrotz
Jun 11, 2001 7:47 PM
Bring back Road Bike Action!!! It had a life span of maybe two years back @ '94-'95. I still go back and read some of those old articles to be reminded that someone can write intelligently about bikes and bike racing.
The good ones keep disappearinglook271
Jun 11, 2001 7:55 PM
There is only 1 US mag that I know of; Velonews. It is geared more to racing, however. There are decent articles on bike maintanence in it, though. Another choice would be Cycling +, a British mag. It has some good articles and photography, but it is, well, BRITISH. (My appologies to our fellow cyclists across the pond.....)
The good ones keep disappearingmike mcmahon
Jun 11, 2001 10:24 PM
I agree about VN and the British mags. VN is very much race-oriented. If you're looking for more of a "general interest" cycling magazine and can't stomach Bicycling, you probably will have to go British. This presents a couple of problems. First, is price. I'm not all that excited about paying $7.00 for a mag, even if it is well-written and thorough. Second, for those of us in the States, many of the articles are specifically oriented toward British cyclists: e.g., current state of cyling-related law in Britain, suggestions for cycling trips in Britain, etc.

What we need to do is hook club and some of the other old bike mag guys up with someone out there with enough money to fund a good magazine. Based on the number and (estimated) cost of the bikes he has posted on the Photo Gallery on this board, I'm thinking that BikeNut might be our man. $$$$$$$ :-)
A Yank Vote for Cycling PlusMeDotOrg
Jun 12, 2001 10:09 AM
The British are serious about their hobbies - and Cycling Plus reflects that attitude. Cycling Plus is written for the serious recreational ride (if that is not a contradiction in terms).

Bicycling has adopted a look somewhere between USA Today and MTV. It is a magazine for people who find it inconvenient to read words, sort of a bulleted PowerPoint presentation for the language handicapped.

If you're a serious cyclist, check out Cycling Plus. Yes, I wish there was an American equivalent, but I thoroughly enjoy the British one.
The New BicyclingLazy
Jun 12, 2001 10:47 AM
There's two possibilities.

1) The editorial staff all have ADD.

2) The editorial staff all think we have ADD.

Trivia: What was the date of the last issue of Bicycling magazine that contained an actual aritcle?
small marketDaveG
Jun 11, 2001 7:53 PM
Mike, to answer your question I suspect its just too small a market. I think Bicycling magazines (or any other bike mag) readership size is more a function of the sport's popularity than the quality of the mag. It seems to me that the demise of Bicycling Guide/Bicyclist and the awful downturn of Bicycling came as the sport downsized. Mountain Bikes sales had peaked and were declining fast, other sports captured the fad followers, etc. Heck, at my local bookstore, there are more mags about Paintball and skateboarding than about bikes. If Bicycling were to go belly up, would anyone rush in to fill that niche?
Thanks for the memoriesgrandemamou
Jun 11, 2001 7:25 PM
I learned alot from bicycling magazine. In the early 80's it was a great mag. I doubt seriously these guys actually ride or use the products they review. If they do they certainly do not have alot to say about them.

You should be proud of the work you did. Shame on the latest iteration of the mag. It's garbage. I'm not sure what they are trying to accomplish. If their market is the new rider they are sadly mistaken. A newbie can learn more from a months riding with a good club than they ever could reading bicycling magazine.

Vote with your dollars and drop your subscription. I did.
Read an old issue of Bicycling...Marlon
Jun 12, 2001 6:56 AM
Just went through my collection of old Bicycling mags (Pre-1996) and boy... what a big difference a few years makes. Jim Langley with his Tech columns and Geoff Drake as Editor - these guys were two writers whose love of cycling certainly showed through the mag. Even today, although the technological material described in those old issues isn't quite as cutting edge, I find I can still get a lot out of it.

Bring back the content!
let me be the first to say congrats! can i get an autograph?Haiku d'état
Jun 11, 2001 12:31 PM
I always knew we were in the presence of greatness! or, should i have alluded to the richness of your character, $moneyman$ ?

now, if they'd just sent you some swag for posting your pic!
More details pleasemike mcmahon
Jun 11, 2001 11:49 PM
I haven't seen the mag, so I don't know what's at page 72. Who are you and why are you in Bicycling?

Mike